7,000 mirrors are bested by a TARDIS

Last night Joe and I had to go pick up his car*, so while we were on the way there we had one of our typically strange conversations.

Me: It made me so mad I wanted to punch, like, a thousand mirrors. Without wearing gloves.

Joe: That doesn’t seem like a good idea.

Me: Ok, fine. I’ll wear gloves.

Joe: No, that’s not what I meant. I meant that breaking that many mirrors is 7,000 years of bad luck.

Me: No it’s not. If you break them all at once it’s only seven.

Joe: I don’t think it works like that. You can’t compunded the years of bad luck.

Me: Show me the rules. It only says seven years of bad luck; it doesn’t say those years begin now. So if I get to choose when they start, I pick 14 years ago.

Joe: What? It doesn’t work like that. You can’t just pick when you want your bad luck.

Me: Sure it does. That’s what I choose. If I have a TARDIS, I can totally make this work.

Joe: Time doesn’t work like that.

Me: You think it’s linear. It’s totally cylindrical. Er, circular. Time is circular.

Joe: Time is linear. You’re insane.

Me: Tell that to my bad luck that’s already over.

*we were either getting new tires or having it painted in a flaming unicorn motif. One of these is the truth, one is totally false. It’s like a pick-you-own-adventure game.

One thought on “7,000 mirrors are bested by a TARDIS

Comments are closed.