Twisty fishtail hairstyle

I’ve been experimenting with hairstyles lately, mostly because I’m trying to grow out my bangs and they’re not quite long enough to tuck behind my ears, yet too long to wear as “normal” bangs. Therefore, I’ve been trying to find alternatives to wearing my hair in a ponytail every. single. day. Because that’s what I was doing up until a few weeks ago. Now, thanks to some inspiration pinned on Pinterest and a bucket full of bobby pins, I’m giving my hairstyles an upgrade.

Today’s came from this tutorial.

IMG_0046 copy

I watched the video, realized she doesn’t have bangs, and altered it to fit my own hair. My twist is tighter and I used a bobby pin near the top of the twist, and two near the bottom to secure everything.

My only wish is that my braid was a tad thinner. After leaving for work and wearing it for most of the day I realized I would’ve liked a little more hair in-between the braid and my face, but that’s just personal preference.

IMG_0034

For those interested, my shirt is from Target, necklace was a gift from my sister, and my poor posture is from my father.

This is what I do when I’m playing with me camera:
making faces

And if you weren’t aware, I’m naturally blonde, went back to my roots (pun unintended) and I no longer wear contacts. You’re pretty much up to speed now.

8 thoughts on “Twisty fishtail hairstyle

  1. O. M. G. So much to say. First of all–glad to see you back Suze! Second, I never knew you were a natural blonde! It looks great on you (though I was a fan of the red too). Third, I love the new header and layout–looks great! And lastly, your hair is super cute! I’ve been meaning to watch a tutorial on fishtail braids. I’ve been envious of girls who knew how to do it and got to wear them since elementary school. I am inspired!

    • Lol! Thanks Robin! I loved my red hair too, but it was a hassle to upkeep. Now I haven’t dyed my hair in MONTHS and it feels great!
      I find fishtails really challenging, because it’s not the same braid we’re all used to. This little area was pretty easy though. Good luck and let me know how it turns out!

  2. I was like OMG she dyed her hair blonde! LOL I think it’s an awesome look for you and that braid is too cute!

    Glad to see you back 🙂

Comments are closed.