My shopping ban is OVER!

Today is a good day. First, it’s my anniversary with Joe. Holy crap guys, we’ve been married for three years and together for almost eight! That’s so crazy to me.

Second, do you remember when I started a shopping ban in November? Seems like it was just yesterday, right? Well, today marks the end of my six month shopping ban. I can hardly believe it. I’m almost ready to give it six MORE months. But I’m not going to do that. I learned a lot from not shopping and from not blogging my outfits these past six months. Although, I probably should’ve blogged outfits, because it would’ve been interesting to see what I wore for six months without buying anything new. But, alas, I did not.

Did I learn anything? Yes. I am much happier NOT blogging my outfits. I also don’t really enjoy shopping. I like finding inspiration, but find that I am much more comfortable in jeans and t-shirts (my uniform for the past six months!). There is a lot I can talk about that I learned because I stopped shopping or because I stopped outfit blogging, but it’s more in-depth than I want to get in this post. I’ll probably write about it in a few days/weeks, when I’ve really had time to digest/think about things, and can give a really good write-up about if I go online shopping crazy, or if I still hold off a bit.

And yes, I did celebrate the end of my shopping ban with a purchase.

Brand new running shoes! I’m a little crazy, but I signed up for a 5k in July. My friend Emily wanted to do it, so I bit the bullet and signed up. I don’t have to run it, I can walk, cart-wheel or crab-walk (according to the website), which makes me happy. I’m not really a runner, but I have started to take up activities that make me happy and running around Ann Arbor while getting doused in colored powder is one of those things. I can’t wait. My sister is also joining us, and I’m trying to convince her to wear a tutu during the run/walk because it will be funny. We’ll see!

16 thoughts on “My shopping ban is OVER!

  1. Ugh! I want to do a color run! But I live in Chicago and won’t be ready for June. Maybe I’ll do the one in GR in michigan.

  2. This post makes me so happy! Not beacuse you can shop again but because we are so much more than what we wear. I love clothes and I always have. If I buy something it is becasue I love it and want to wear it over and over again. Some times I feel that fashion bloggers that do daily outfit post don’t really get to love their clothing becasue they are alway having to wear something new.
    XO

    • Oh gah, yes. I’m beginning to realize how much of a drain blogging my outfits was having on ME. I was being myself, owning things I liked, but some of those outfits make me go “WTF” because I have no idea why I wore what I did. At least I can look back on that chapter of my life and laugh, but I’ve basically shut the book on that chapter!

    • I always joke that there are only three times in which I run: away from police, toward ice cream trucks, and away from dinosaurs. I suppose “through color in a 5k” needs to be added to that list! 🙂

    • Thanks! I FEEL happy. Probably happier than I’ve been since my dad passed. I think blogging/taking a break/EVERYTHING has really helped me put stuff into perspective. I’m not on the YOLO bandwagon, but I do have things I want to do, and I don’t feel like I have any reason to wait anymore (thus the reason I signed up for a 5k!!)

  3. congrats on the end of your ban + your newfound happiness in not blogging your outfits (though id still love to see one now + then — im selfish like that!)
    i also just heard of the color run and im totally trying to pull a gang together so i can coordinate our fabulous all-white outfits. i read that if you spray them with vinegar + iron them post-run, you can lock the colors in! totally planning on that. 😀

    • I saw that too! I am really excited. I’m bringing a camera (in a ziploc) so I can take some photos while getting covered!!

  4. Congratulations on your three years of marriage and completing your six month shopping ban. I’m not sure what would be hardest being married for three years or not shopping for six months. I haven’t manage to do either yet. Haha.

  5. OK… why does it seem like your shopping ban started five zillion years ago?! Maybe it’s because I am a bad friend and haven’t seen you in five zillion years. 🙂

    A friend of mine is trying to convince to sign up for this same run! I have to admit – if there is anything that will convince me to get out there and do it – it is the fact that you get colorized! So fun! I might just have to do it.

    I’m really happy you learned so much in doing this ban. I miss your posts but I’m really happy that you like where you are at now. 🙂

  6. Oops – that is me up there – signed in on my other twitter account instead of fashfrugality… though you probably already figured that out. 🙂

  7. Girl, I feel you on the not blogging outfits! I’m waiting anxiously for the in-depth post because I stopped my fashion blog for what I assume must be the same reasons. It’s odd, I used to spend a lot of time reading other fashion blogs and thinking up outfits…I can’t imagine dedicating that much time to it now! Like you said, I’m in jeans, tees, and flats. And when I DO get dressed up, it’s a “treat” type deal for a special occasion that makes it that much more special. Anyway, I’m rambling. Congrats on your anniversary and completing the shopping ban. I still look in on you and wish you as much happiness as I ever did 🙂

Comments are closed.