Standard

DIY necklace obsession

I saw a DIY over on Jen Loves Kev for a necklace I’ve been obsessed with for a while. It seemed really simple, just oven-baked clay beads, strategic stringing, and a proper mix and usage of color.

The creative part of me thought, “hey, I can do this!” So, I took a trip to Joann’s, bought some clay and got started. Check Jen’s blog for the DIY, but I’ll give you a heads up, it’s pretty simple!

I ended up using one block of white, one block of pearl, and one section of emerald (there are four sections per block). I used every single bit of my mix of clay in my necklace, so keep that in mind if you make one- it does take a bit of clay. I also grabbed some round, clear beads to use as spacers.

As you can see in the above photo, there are needles that beads can be baked on, insuring they’re not flattened when baked. I used the needles and some mini loaf pans for my beads.

Finished product:

I can’t wait to wear it! Thanks for the inspiration, Jen!

Ps- I also purchased some sealer gloss that you paint on the beads after they’re cooked and cooled, which gives them a glossy sheen. I don’t know if you need to do it, but I felt it would help protect the clay.

8 thoughts on “DIY necklace obsession

Comments are closed.