Dear blog…

Some of you may have noticed my silence over here lately. I’ve had a few people check in to make sure things are OK, and I just want to (sort of) assure you they’re as OK as they can be.

Work has been busy, as is normal for a nonprofit in December. I’m also coming up on the one-year anniversary of when we lost my father (if you want some background, read my father’s day post).

It’s because of these reasons, and a few more, that I’ve taken an extended break of sorts from blogging. I’ve been contemplating taking a break, calling it quits, or just pushing through. For now, I’m content with taking a break. I need to reevaluate why I’m blogging and what I want to talk about. I’m no longer interested in taking photos of what I’m wearing all the time and posting them here. For one thing, I’m usually wearing jeans, t-shirts, sweatshirts, and sneakers. Not exactly what I think people are interested in seeing (if you are, let me know). For another, I am just disenchanted with the notion. I’m over that part of my life, and I don’t mind a bit.

You may still see some brief shots of my outfits, or see a post pop-up here or there, but it won’t be as often as it once was.

I have other ideas of what I’d like to talk about, from my growing nerd-y necklace collection, to some fun DIY projects. I also plan to continue to discuss my progress with not shopping (almost done with month two). For now, I’ll probably remain quiet as I make it through the holidays, the anniversary and subsequent weeks of events at work.

I am hopeful that once I make it through this difficult time, I will be better able to decide the fate and direction of this blog. I appreciate anyone who takes the time to read my posts, and I am thankful for the friends I’ve made along the way.

See you in the new year,

Suze

9 thoughts on “Dear blog…

  1. It’s nice to take a break to evaluate, take as long as you need, and I’m sure I’d want to read whatever you write, you have such a refreshing personality. Have a fabulous holiday, and I hope things go as well as possible with the anniversary, I know that’s really tough. I took a long hiatus with a post or two a month from July till now, and am just getting back into it.

  2. A break is good, as long as YOU are the one deciding to do so, and not others influencing you (you know what I mean:) I hear you as far as re-evaluating the blog too…it doesn’t JUST have to be about fashion, you are so much more than that:)
    Take your time…..your readers love you and will be here to read or see whatever you decide to post.

    Hugs & Merry Christmas wishes to you and yours!

  3. wow, suze. i cant believe its already been a year since you have lost your dad. i can only imagine its a tough season for you — you are in my thoughts.

    as far as the blog goes, you are missed, but of course, you know we will understand and respect any decision you make. but hopefully youre not a total stranger. 🙂

  4. Hi there! I missed reading your blog but it’s okay… I totally understand, yea, of course I do after abandoning my blog for I dunno until when. >..< And because you're creative and for me a fashionista, why not teach us how to spice up that comfy jeans? Heehee!

    I really love your blog and has been a fan since the beginning… although lately I'm more of a silent reader. I also look forward for your DIY's! ^^

    Be safe always! ^^ Whatever happens I'll always be your fan, I hope we'll keep in touch! ^^

  5. Suze, thank you for being so honest with us! It’s funny, this post echoes one that I just made myself (www.beautifully-invisible.com/2011/12/getting-personal-every-wall-is-a-door-blogging-problems.html). I am struggling with a lot of the same professional and blog-related issues, and my own personal ones as well, and had stopped blogging almost entirely for a time. I decided to do a small redesign and that has gotten me excited again, but I still am struggling with what direction i want to go in.

    One thing I learned is that I would rather just be quiet than force myself to post, and it seems my blog buddies will stick with me as I figure things out. That means a lot, but I understand where they are coming from, because I’ll stick it out while you get your footing again!

    I hope you get to spend the rest of the holidays with your loved ones and that 2012 will be a GREAT year for you! We’ll be waiting here 🙂

  6. Good to hear you are doing something good for yourself. Sometimes we are too infiltrated that we don’t think it’s ok to raise our hand and step back from all the things that occupy our thoughts and time. I’ve noticed that when our plates are full, there’s less room for anything else, most importantly, the stuff that really matters! Relax and take your mind off of the blog for awhile 🙂

    Kristina
    Something 2 Write About

  7. Suze, I’ve been feeling quite the same recently, and have found that posting/commenting when I can and have the energy is the only way I can continue and balance all the things going on in my life. I’ve taken a big break from blog reading and commenting the last couple of months, and I have to say it has helped. So take the time you need…blogging is supposed to be fun!

    Wishing you much joy and prosperity in 2012!

    xo

  8. You inspired me! I started a shopping ban yesterday! I gave you a shout out because I don’t know if I would’ve went through it without reading your post first. Here’s to a new start to a New Year! Good luck w/ your new adventures too

Comments are closed.