So many shapes!

IMG_9998
IMG_0006

I have been in such a funk lately. I know all of us feel this way at one point or another, so my feelings of stress and being overwhelmed are nothing new to many of us. But because of my professional job and some things I’m working on outside of this blog, I’m beginning to change my priorities.

In the past, I would make sure I was dressed in something other than a t-shirt, jeans and a sweatshirt, because who wants to see me dressed in that every day? No one (not even ME).  But now, I find myself relishing extra sleep in the morning, and lamenting getting dressed in anything but jeans and a t-shirt. Because that’s not very excited, and I often feel (and look) like I just woke up, I’m been slacking on taking photos.

I’m not going to apologize for not taking photos as often. I highly doubt it would really be exciting for any of you to see me in jeans and a t-shirt every single day.  But, I’m also not going to promise that I’m going to go back to my previous schedule. As much fun as I have blogging, this isn’t my job. Frankly, this blog is an outlet for me from my day job. This is just something I do that is frivolous and fun, and offers me the opportunity to share my personal style, regardless of how kooky and unfashionable it may be to others (we’ve all seen the cartoon food dress, right?). Everyone has a different outlet, and mine is the slightly absurd hobby of posting photos of myself online.

I am not giving up on this blog, or stopping my posts. But, as you may have noticed, I’m not posting as much as I used to. And honestly, I’m OK with it, so I hope you are too.
IMG_0004

The bracelet is tough to see, but it’s a pentagram shape, which is why I bought it. It’s annoying to wear while typing!

Tank: Target
Skirt: Anthropologie
Jacket: Thrifted
Shoes: Modcloth (years before this went down)
Bracelet: Asos
Necklace: LOFT
Purse: Borrowed from my mom (she has fabulous taste!)

PS- if you feel so inclined, Speedy Girl is offering a contest on their Facebook page. Vote for your favorite look (doesn’t have to be mine!) and whoever votes for the winning look has an opportunity to win a $50 to the shop.  (You are required to “like” the page to cast your vote).

18 thoughts on “So many shapes!

  1. I understand your point. 🙂 Blogging is therapeutic at times… it feels good to write something when you feel stressed at work or just a little tired of your daily life. It feels good to release the tension you feel and also manage to share something to everybody else. I honestly love your blog cause unlike other fashion blogs who tell me to buy this, buy that, this is fashionable, this is in, etc, your blog simply tells me to play with what I have and just learn to match things. I kinda suck at mixing and matching my stuffs especially when it comes to colorful pieces that’s why I’m always stuck to 1 color at a time.

    But even if blogging is good, it takes too much time which you can probably use for other stuffs (extra sleep, or maybe extra playtime with Loafy & Ruckus, lol). I’ve been there. I even stopped blogging again and I just realized now that I haven’t updated my blog for how many weeks already? >.< I understand if you won't be updating as much as you used to. I'm sure it will benefit you. We'll miss you of course, but as long as you're doing okay, then that's what matters the most.

    By the way, I love the necklace you're wearing. ^^ And yea, I agree with your mom having fab taste, I'm digging the bag! 😉

  2. Good on you for not apologising – you don’t owe the internet anything!

    The thing with priorities is that no-one else in the entire world can define what yours should be. So if, at least for right now, they are sleeping and downtime then nothing should get in the way of that!

    I agree with rich, you are such an accessible and realistic blogger which really helps so many of your readers I’m sure. But that won’t change with a reduction in posts, so I look forward to hearing from you whenever you drop in 🙂

  3. I think we all find ourselves in those ruts now and again. I always try to tell myself throwing on a pair of jeans doesn’t have to be a bad thing… add your stormy sea and you’ll still get compliments all day….

    Love this look and the bangle!

  4. Whew! I totally get where you’re coming from, Suze! I took several weeks off in July and was in no hurry to rush back. Then, when I did start posting, I decided to take it down to 2-4 posts per week instead of near daily. I mean, c’mon. Nobody needed to see that much of me!
    Good luck with balancing everything going on in your life. I’ll keep checking back for the occasional crazy mixed print and cartoon-food dress.

  5. I think we can all (who blog) totally relate and understand. No prob Bob. 😉 I love your cool bracelet–and I am wearing a bangle today that is really hindering my typing as well. Dammit anyway!

  6. Beautiful outfit! I can relate on the desire to dress down sometimes. I feel a lot of pressure to be “pinup perfect” whenever I am out because I have a reputation. But sometimes I just want to wear jeans and *gasp* no red lipstick.

    Also, I went and read your Modcloth post. As a blogger who has been to “market” — the trade show where companies like Modcloth buy the clothes they carry on their site for the next season — I totally believe that some of the same items were bought for Modcloth and F21. Especially jewelry and accessories because they are so cheap to produce. I’ve found things at Nordstrom in the juniors department that were also sold at Target, for example. I think the fact Modcloth renames their items and doesn’t always list the brand names in the description is shady, personally. I’ve seen shoes on their site and have looked them up on the manufacturers’ sites and found them cheaper. Same thing happens with shoes sold on Anthropologie’s site — once a Seychelles shoes was $20 more.

    It’s crazy and I respect you for getting the word out, even if it was removed from Facebook, you did some good for those of us who are trying to stretch a dollar.

  7. Annoying to wear while typing is exactly why I avoid most bracelets. Too clunky for me to do anything while wearing ’em.

    Sometimes I think we all just need to take a break from blogging every once in a while, or at least devote less time to it. I’m kind of in such a phase myself right now, in a way. I hope your funk passes soon though, and that happy days shine on you 🙂

  8. I love the colors in your skirt and that little green jacket you wore with it. The bracelet is really cool too even if it’s hard to type with it on!

  9. Glad to see this skirt on the blog! Ohhh and that shrug too. And for the record, I like your blog regardless of the topic of your posts and the frequency of when you post.

  10. I love the skirt! I think it’s really easy to get sucked into this blog world and once it starts feeling like a second job it’s time to take a step back. Either way I’m sure you’re rockin’ your jeans and tee.

Comments are closed.