October is domestic violence awareness month. Will you wear purple on October 19?

October is not only breast cancer awareness month, it’s also domestic violence awareness month.

Will you join me by wearing purple on October 19 to spread the word that abuse is not love?
I’ve already started wearing purple, and will display my ribbon proudly all month. Please wear purple to show your support.

IMG_9909

Domestic violence is a pattern of abusive behaviors — physical, sexual, psychological, and economic coercion — used by one intimate partner against another (adult or adolescent) to gain, maintain, or regain power and control in the relationship. Batterers use of a range of tactics to frighten, terrorize, manipulate, hurt, humiliate, blame, often injure, and sometimes kill a current or former intimate partner.

1 in 3 families is affected by domestic violence. 11% of people in the United States go hungry, but 33% of people aren’t safe in their own homes.

Please save this ribbon and put it on your blog post on October 19, along with the following paragraph to raise awareness:

October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month.
1 in 3 families are affected by domestic violence. Domestic violence is a pattern of abusive behaviors — physical, sexual, psychological, and economic coercion — used by one intimate partner against another (adult or adolescent) to gain, maintain, or regain power and control in the relationship. Batterers use of a range of tactics to frighten, terrorize, manipulate, hurt, humiliate, blame, often injure, and sometimes kill a current or former intimate partner.
If you are in danger, please call 911, your local hotline, or (in the U.S.) the National Domestic Violence Hotline: (800) 799-7233Β orΒ TTY (800) 787-3224.

17 thoughts on “October is domestic violence awareness month. Will you wear purple on October 19?

  1. What an excellent cause! A common misconception is that domestic abuse only impacts women, but it also has a huge impact on children that grow up in that household. Sadly I see the impact of this on my students way too often. I’ll definitely be wearing purple on the 19th. Thanks for bringing attention to this important issue.

    • Agreed! I work for a domestic violence and sexual assault organization, so I see that quite often. Sadly, the cause is often overlooked because October is breast cancer awareness month, so I am very thankful that you will participate.

  2. I’ll be sporting my purple. I don’t want to go into grace detail, but I have experienced the effects of this myself. It is wretched and doesn’t often get the attention it deserves.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I meet many survivors through my job, and I’ve found myself in tears quite often because of their stories. I’ve not been affected myself, but it’s an issue that too many people choose to ignore.

  3. What a great cause and a lovely way to spread awareness! I’m not in the US but I will definitely be sporting purple πŸ™‚

  4. I wrote about this a little in a couple posts ago about how this month people are putting purple lights on in their porches and such too!! It is cool that people are going to wear purple!!

  5. I’ll most certainly be wearing purple then. October 20th will mark the one year anniversary since I have left my own abuser.

    I should also point out that since leaving, my 3-year-old Autistic son has definitely shown improved strides in his development.

  6. Hi Suze,
    I would love to participate do you have something you’d like us to place on our blog to tell our readers about this great cause? If not, can I copy and paste some of your info?

    I would love to get my readers involved as well!

  7. Pingback: Did You Know… « Shades of Sarah

  8. i somehow managed to get rid of all of my purple. i’ll see what i can do, even if it comes down to painting a purple ribbon on my hands with purple eyeshadow or something

    thank you for participating in this, and for your work with those affected by it. we need more people like you in the world. thank you for being strong for us.

Comments are closed.