Fall trends I will either make or avoid

The new fall fashions that hit stores in late August are often the harbinger of the cooler weather we’ve been waiting for. So of course the very first day it’s 60 degrees I buy myself a new pair of boots (my old one were falling apart at the seams, literally). But, as mother nature would have it, it was 80 the next day.

As I struggle to decide between packing away my summer togs, and keeping them around a little longer, I wonder how many of the new trends I already own, could easily make, or wouldn’t wear. One rainy afternoon, I decided to do some investigating. (Photos via Refinery 29)

Colored pants are one of the top new trends this fall. But, oh wait, they were also a trend last year. So rather than shelling out money on new pants, why not just dig out the maroon and purple pants I wore last year? Trend 1, check.

Next up are leather skirts. I’ve been rocking one for a few years now that I picked up in a thrift store for pennies. Nice to see that investment is paying off!

Ponchos. Well, I fail this one because I own a cropped cape, but I feel more like Batman wearing it than fashionable. So we’ll just add that to my “to donate” box, and I’ll probably steer clear of this trend, or else I might fool myself into thinking I’m more of a super hero than the Green Hornet, and we all Kato was the real hero there.

High slits are desirable this fall. Well, hand me some scissors so I can hack up my maxi skirts. Or I’ll just skip this trend because it feels more runway or warmer weather appropriate. Can you imagine me walking through snow, with a slit up the front of my skirt? Yeah, me neither.

Tuxedo chic. Why don’t we call it what it really is: fancy waitress. Now I have nothing against menswear as a look for women, I think it can look quite sleek. But these looks make me feel like I should ask what you’d like to drink and tell you the specials. That being said, I did inherit a tie after my father passed away that I will probably wear. Joe and I gave it to him to wear to our wedding, so it’s special to us. Back to fall fashions…

Long duster coats. Also know as “that thing that will get dragged through the snow and trapped in the door of my car on my way to work.” I do own a trench coat that is on the longer side, but again, because of the snow we get here in metro Detroit, I’m not going to wear a floor-length coat anywhere. That’s just asking for trouble.

Rich blue. I actually really like this color. I own a tee-shirt that’s very similar to this color. I think it looks cerulean, which is the best crayon in the entire box. At least it is for me.

Graphic stripes. Didn’t we just go through this trend with all those Prada dresses? I suppose the only way I want to look like I’m wearing baseball pants with garter belts on them is if I’m told it’s fashionable. Time to dig out my old softball uniform and a paint brush. It’s going to be a long night.

Mid calf skirts (weren’t these called midi skirts last year?). Is it just me, or does it seem like skirts on the runways are anything but flattering for the average woman? Sure, these stick-thin models look great in these skirts (even that gold one), but I have a feeling if I wore a skirt to my mid calf that I’d look like I had hiked up my maxi too high.

A few other trends to take note of: pattern mixing, polka dots and dyed furs. I’ve never met a pattern I didn’t like, especially polka dots, but I think I’ll be steering clear of the furs. The last time I brought faux fur into my home Loafy thought it was a new friends and proceeded to groom it for three days.

Are there any fall trends you can’t wait for, or are waiting to disappear?

13 thoughts on “Fall trends I will either make or avoid

  1. I too am a fan of the cobalt blue color that is hot right now. I am also loving plaid for fall and have a pair of skinny maroon cords {same as you – from last year} that I can’t wait to wear again.

  2. CERULEAN IS MY FAVORITE COLOR so I appreciate your reference to it SO much. People look at me like I’m crazy when they ask me for my favorite color and I say cerulean, and not teal or turquoise or blue green. (Or a normal color like pink, red, etc.)
    Also you’re hilarious.

  3. Let’s see…I already have colored pants, a leather skirt, some striped dresses, a cobalt blue dress, a duster, a tuxedo jacket, and a dress with a high slit. Ponchos are dumb, and I look like a fool in a mid-calf skirt. So that does it. Looks like I don’t need to buy anything!

  4. 🙂 i hope you’ll rock your daddy’s tie proudly in a great look doll. I like that waiter/tux look, is that bad? lol! just got a new bowtie (never had one before) so i’ll have to make a look with it

    i’m digging: stripes, leather skirts, high slits (on someone else XD), and blue hues. NOT feeling those ponchos at ALL, never have. ugly betty can keep em

  5. LOL – The “I suppose the only way I want to look like I’m wearing baseball pants with garter belts on them is if I’m told it’s fashionable. Time to dig out my old softball uniform and a paint brush. It’s going to be a long night.” had me literally LOLing… yeah… those pants, oh, not so much. I do like the coat next to it though – that would be a good upgrade for an older coat.

    Loved your take on the trends! 🙂

  6. I must say I had a duster in my early 20’s… (Oh man I am getting old) They were very in style and I loved mine! It was a crazy animal print. {everything I owned from ’98 to 2001 was animal print, then I met Scott another story for another day} All that said I think I am going to buy another duster this year. Now that we are in Chico I do not need to worry about snow. I am so excited thanks for the inspiration.

  7. Dang, I don’t have any of these clothes in my wardrobe. And, probably won’t anytime soon. Wait I do have a pencil midi and I must say I look good in it paired with a loose silk top and boots. What no tropical sun dresses for fall?

  8. I haaaaaaaaate midi skirts. Well, specifically a-line ones. A pencil skirt could be ok. But seriously, I have things altered all the time to be just below my knee, rather than hitting the bottom of my calf muscle. I am 5’6″ so I am definitely not petite, but this look just is NOT flattering on most — including me.

    Great post, your comments on the trends had me cracking up!

  9. I’m excited about the leather skirts because I’ve thrifted a couple in the past year! Now I’ll be right on trend! I love the deep blue color too. It reminds me of the 80’s for some reason and it’s such a pretty color.

Comments are closed.