Feathers, glitter and hair bows

IMG_7912
7-15-2011
IMG_7914 copy
Shop the outfit: Earrings, Dress (as a top), shoes

This hairstyle is probably the easiest and fastest one I’ve ever done. It takes about three minutes and all you need is a hairtie, bobby pins and a brush.

Click the jump for instructions (I didn’t want to bog everyone’s reader down with 4,000 how-to photos of my hair!)

Start with brushed hair. Mine was slightly damp (only a little underneath).
IMG_7922

Gather your hair where you want the bow to be. I chose a slightly high position on my head.
IMG_7924

Use the hairtie and put your hair up, the last time pull the hair about halfway through.
IMG_7925

Split the hair in half (this creates the side of the hair bow).
IMG_7926

Fold the hair you left hanging down over the split you just make, creating the center of the bow. Secure with bobby pins.
IMG_7927

If some of it is too short to folder over, wrap it under one of the sides of the bow.
IMG_7928

Once it’s all secured, you have your hair bow!
IMG_7929
(Ignore that I’m holding it. I had two bobby pins, and 5 minutes to take these photos.)

19 thoughts on “Feathers, glitter and hair bows

  1. Very fun! Trying to learn more basic updos this summer as I can’t tolerate my hair down much in this heat. Will try it veryyyy soon! πŸ˜€

  2. I love this ensemble cause you look chic! And my favorite is of course the hairstyle! Thanks for posting the instructions. I will try it right away when I get home. lol πŸ˜„

    Btw, I saw the pink highlight on the tips? I also did that during high school. lol πŸ˜„ I dyed my hairs’ tips (about 1 inch of it). πŸ˜„

  3. Ah, I’m so glad I read this! I was trying to do something similar, but on the top of the head, a couple of nights ago, following a You Tube tutorial, and it just didn’t work AT ALL. Your way looks so much easier – am definitely going to try this, it looks so cute on you!

    • I found some random tutorial on youtube as well, and it was just awful. I couldn’t do it! This was way, way easier!

  4. Love it! Now I just need some (A LOT) extra hair! πŸ™‚ By the way – loving the color on the ends – spicy, woman!

    The color of your top looks so good with the cream of the skirt. I alllllmost bought that skirt from Target but then veered away because I never seem to keep that color very clean. It always has an ink stain on it by the end of my first work day wearing it. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.