I’m back! (Finally!)

IMG_7441

Hey guys, remember me? Suze? I’m back! (Finally!) A big thanks to all my guest bloggers for the past week. Somehow they helped me get some must needed R&R, and also took care of my blog, even when I was trapped in an airport! (more on that later).

IMG_7477

I have some awesome photos to share with you guys, and some interesting stories (even been offered pot, coke and a necklace, in that order? No? Just me?), so I’ll be recapping my trip and posting outfit photos for the next few days, if that’s alright with you guys.

IMG_7512

We flew out Thursday, to Montego Bay, but were staying at a resort in Ocho Rios, about two hours away from the airport. So, my sister, her boyfriend, Joe, my mom, my brother’s mom and I piled into a bus with a few other people and headed out. Like a typical blogger, I had my camera out and managed to snag some awesome photos while the bus was moving!

IMG_7523
IMG_0301
IMG_7475
IMG_7502

It was interesting to see how the people lived and drove! Some houses we drove past were unfinished, just bricks and a roof, and we were told that’s normal. Apparently, Jamaicans don’t take out huge mortgages on their houses like we do here in the states. They build them to the point they can live in them (walls, ceiling, roof, etc.) and move in, continuing to build as they earn the money. I guess since they only have to deal with rain it’s way easier to do that there, because we have to deal with rain and snow here.

IMG_7488
IMG_7577

I’ve never been south of Florida before, so this was my first venture into such a warm climate. I came prepared with vats of SPF 100+ and a big floppy hat, but STILL got sunburned! Joe and I also found cats living on our resort that looked identical to our cats back home, and the wedding was beautiful! I’ll recap all those days over the next few, but first I wanted to share some photos of the landscape.

12 thoughts on “I’m back! (Finally!)

  1. Yay you’re back! While you were gone I realised I have never actually commented even though I read every post. And then I felt bad cos I love your blog.

    So hi, I’m Kerry from New Zealand and I’m glad to have you back! And that’s some great success with the bus photos 🙂

    • Haha! That’s really funny, because I know we chat on Twitter! I think I just equate twitter and comments in the same way, LOL!!

    • I was really concerned about that too, but I guess they don’t have bad ones? I have no clue. But those were some of th houses!

  2. It looks like you had so much fun! So beautiful! As for the houses that is normal in 3rd world countries. My parents are from Mexico and the house is an forever project if you are not rich. In Mexico most people pay with cash and my dad said their is some tax advantage to not having your house finished. Maybe it is similar in Jamaica?

  3. I’m so excited to read more about your trip to Jamaica. I lived in Jamaica for four years. I graduated from high school there. It’s been a while since I was back & I’m anxious to go & take my husband & boys to visit. It’s an amazing country – it definitely has it’s problems (doesn’t everywhere?), but it was a good place to live. I love seeing the pictures. I wasn’t offered the same set of things you were offered, but there were usually offers to braid my hair & marriage proposals! Good times.

  4. These photos are awesome! I always love seeing the difference in architecture – even if it is just homes – in other countries. Bummer about the sunburn though!

Comments are closed.