I love new-to-me dresses!

IMG_7251
IMG_7250 copy
IMG_7257

Wow. Go me. Two posts this week. That’s a new [low] record. I swear, soon I will get use to my new summer schedule (four 10-hour days), but until then, you have this fancy little outfit to look at.

My mom found this dress for me in a resale shop, and it’s really, really adorable in person. You can’t really tell in the first two photos, but the dress is covered in light pink swiss dots. I absolutely love it, and I feel a little like Jenni in this outfit. Maybe because she owns a few Lily dresses too? 🙂

My co-worker, Carrie, can vouch for me when I say that our workplace is pretty casual most of the time. Therefore, I have the option and ability to wear pretty much anything (I mean ANYTHING. Sweats, shorts, jeans, etc.).  But, even when working is such a casual place, I still follow certain rules. The first is to never wear strapless/tube tops without something underneath or over them. Mostly because it’s very revealing for an office environment and also because the last time I wore a tube top, this photo was taken (in 2007):
n30302917_32012307_7842

Note to self: when wearing a tube top in a photo with Justin Verlander, you will look topless. Whoops.

24 thoughts on “I love new-to-me dresses!

    • Thanks Neeka! I’m trying to play around with different silhouettes, and this was one of the ones I wanted to try 🙂

  1. The necklace is perfect with the dress…and it has been years since I’ve seen dotted swiss. Your mother made a good find.

  2. What an awesome find! I too feel unable to wear strapless tops/dresses without something under/over it to work even though my dress code is basically the same as yours (like when I show up on the weekend it’s usually in sweats, and my boss will sometimes show up in pj stuff). Fortunately I totally love the way that layering under things looks and how it can add to a look.

    Also, there’s a picture of me from college wearing a tube top (like one night!) and I look topless and very surprised. It’s kind of a hilarious picture, but it’s not a bad idea to avoid that sort of thing at work 🙂

  3. No, no! The purse strap kinda looks like it could be part of a shirt! Haha… I just can’t wear anything strapless or tube-topped because there’s no way for me to keep the girls UP. Even bras that are supposed to do the job while strapless just… don’t. I have no idea why I never thought of wearing a shirt under a strapless item though, duh Cel, so obvious. The dress is absolutely beautiful, and the shirt kinda kicks it down a notch too so you don’t look like you’re going to prom hah.

  4. Great idea with the blouse under, you look adorable! I’m a bit averse to tube tops myself so it’s always great to see new style ways! Don’t worry about the posting week, I had a lame one myself but eh, it’s over, oh well! Do you have the same job just diff hours for summer?

  5. THIS DRESS IS ADORABLE! And with that necklace? Oh my goodness… I want to steal! 🙂
    Yellow looks great on you and I’m loving the swishy bangs!

  6. I love love love this on you! adore! the colors are so fresh and light. Of course, I’m a southern girl (and Lilly fan) so I’m not surprised. 🙂

    I just love how you paired this necklace with it. 🙂

    I bet it would look cute with a pink cardigan over it too! Or if it’s really warm out, with some flat sandals and sans sweater.

  7. You look simply gorgeous in that dress my dear! And that necklace is to die for! Just found your blog, fun fun! Can’t wait to see more of your outfits! 🙂

  8. Suze – I love how seamlessly you paired the top and strapless dress. When I first looked at the pic I thought for sure it was all one piece. And the little pink dots really make the dress pop, even if you can’t see them from far away, they add great interest close-up. Love it – Katy

  9. Such a pretty dress! I love it. You look adorable and the top fits so well under the dress, and the yellow and the pink is just gorgeous.

  10. Aww… I loooooooooooooooooooooove this outfit! This is now my fave outfit of yours. You look very pretty and I like the combination of the yellow dress and the pink necklace! 🙂

    I envy people who can wear light yellow cause I don’t look good wearing yellow. ~_~

Comments are closed.