The faux tank dress

6-2-2011 3
6-2-2011
6-2-2011 2

Last year, I was obsessed with this dress:

 

It came with a red skirt, orange skirt, or, my favorite, the green skirt. But it (and the less expensive versions) all sold out before I could get my hands on one.

When I was sorting out my winter clothes last weekend (it was still 40 degrees last week!), I found a long-lost Forever 21 striped tank top I’ve had since college (and who says Forever 21 clothes don’t last?!). I knew I had the PERFECT green skirt to pair it with to make my own faux tank dress.

Now I’m kinda glad I didn’t spend my money on the dress. I’m sure I spent it on shoes, food or toilet paper. My guess is food.

And just to warn you all, my skin will remain this same glowing white color throughout summer. You may want to invest in some shades. ( I do not tan. At all. Partly by choice and partly because my pale Irish skin disagrees with the sun.)

22 thoughts on “The faux tank dress

  1. Good to know I’m not the only one who will be glowing white all summer. SPF 100+ is my favorite summer accessory.

    Great job re-creating the tank dress look with what you already have in your closet! 🙂 It’s always fun when that works out.

  2. THANK YOU! I own this skirt and have been struggling with what exactly to do with it, this is an excellent idea. Also, I’m totally in the pale girl group. To whomever invented sunscreen, you’re one of my favorite people ever.

  3. I like your faux-dress! I need to get back into the mentality of taking inspiration from the things that I like and turn away from thinking, oh I like that, Can I afford it? Suuuure, why not- and then later wishing that I had more money to put towards shoes, food, and toliet paper (actually, it’s a new camera, so fortunately, not an essential). Yesterday my boss made fun of me for being pale- I am right there with you on being pale year round.

  4. good job using what you already have and not buying more, definitely just as cute as the dress but with this you can swap it with other things! yay for protecting you skin! health is certainly more important than a tan!

  5. I love it! I too wanted this dress. Every time the manufacture said it was shipping, we would get an e-mail saying they sold out. I have one tip for you, add a sash or a belt to cover the elastic waistband. It will help pull it all together and look like one piece.

    • If I had a sash in the same color, I totally would wear it, but I don’t have one that’s green :\ Oh well!

      I don’t mind it looking like two pieces!

      • Thanks!! I need to thin out my bangs, and the only way to do that is by letting them all grow out. Oh well. It’ll be fun to see me without bangs for a bit!

  6. oh heellooo! this is the perfect summer outfit. comfortably, colorfully perfect. i miiight even like yours better than the original. more details…

  7. Yea! I think I remember that dress… I think you mentioned it before or something? Anyway, you made a good decision not purchasing it. ^^ I prefer that one you wore, plus, you can always change the skirt. 🙂

    I wish I have your skin! ^^ I don’t like my naturally tan skin. I wish I’m pale too. How I wish there’s an effective whitening method I could use and afford. XD

    • I know! Like I told Neeka below, I don’t have a sash in this Kelly green color, so I couldn’t wear it this time. Maybe I will find some fabric to make a sash 🙂

  8. I don’t tan either! It used to just be because my german/irish skin would just burn-I HATED it! But about a year ago I embraced my paleness and I love being pale!

  9. i always love green on you with that red hair! and don’t you worry I don’t tan much either. mostly burn. That darn Irish blood!

  10. Cute! I love the faux-dress. I also love that dress (from Spool I assume). I just wish I had the perfect skirt to make my own faux dress. By the way, I am glad I will not be the only one displaying pale legs all summer. I do not tan either. I guess I could be tan if I took the time to apply self-tanner but that is way too much work (in my opinion).

  11. Love this! I have a striped tank top that I bought at H&M years ago when they first opened one here. It is probably my most used piece of clothing – I wear it with things, under things, etc.

    This green skirt is awesome! This outfit reminds me of a more feminine version of that stripe shirt/green pants get up that you pinned a while back too! 🙂

  12. Oh, this is so pretty! And it’s awesome that you recreated the look of that dress while still getting to use both pieces separately! Good stuff.

  13. This is a great summer outfit. And who says you nee the dress when you can recreate the look yourself! No worries about the lack of tan. I am a freckle girl myself. I keep thinking all the freckles will join together to make one, great, REALLY DARK tan, but it just doesn’t happen. Oh well!

Comments are closed.