The one with the new dress

IMG_4954 copy
IMG_4949 copy
IMG_4921 copy
IMG_4975 copy
IMG_4990 copy

Today is my sister’s birthday, so I HAD to look totally festive in this pretty dress, right?
This dress is the direct result of a real-life Marshalls commercial. I went in, saw it and bought it for $40. Then, I went to a “fancy” store with my sister and mom later in the week, and found this same dress for sale, for full price.
Max-anista indeed. (TJ Maxx and Marshalls are owned by the same parent company, so I can call myself that, even though I didn’t get it at TJ Maxx, right?)

While taking photos, I wanted to do a cute leap, like so many other bloggers do, so I set it up and did the cutest leap I could…

and cut off my own head.
IMG_4978 copy

Go me.

IMG_4918 copy

High five guys, high five.

36 thoughts on “The one with the new dress

  1. SO CUTE! Are those poppies? I have a little addiction to that flower. I think my etsy favorites is probably 50% poppy stuff. Ha ha. 🙂

    Also, your hair and lip color look amazing together and with this dress. 🙂

  2. I love this dress! I have 2 Poppy dresses (and much more poppy stuff ha), and I fell in love with this one at Macy’s but could never afford the retail price. Great find!

  3. First, I wanted to greet Cher a happy, happy birthday! I trying to whip something right now. Hopefully it will look good. LOL 😄

    I love this dress! It looks perfect for you. You look chic and very very pretty! LOL on the leap shot! 😄

  4. Your leap form is impressive, and if you landed on your feet then you are lightyears better than I. Love the dress and kudos to the blossoming Max-anista you have become, dear Suze!

  5. Haha, you are better than me, when I try jumping photos, I just end up flashing the neighborhood.
    The new dress is so cute, and yes, same parent company 🙂

  6. You official can be an anikaburke.com photographer, we love cutting of heads!

    I loved the leap and would like to see more action shots like this in the future. Like maybe a little skipping down the path, frolicking in the grass…. Just an idea!

    This dress is truly amazing and for $40 was a steal. At this time in history it is hard to find a new dress under $75 that is good quality that your bum is not hanging out of. You look amazing like always. I give this outfit a 10!

  7. I missed you! Gosh, I missed you! You look so cute, and I love love love that jumping shot. Way to find such a great deal on that cute dress.

  8. You look so pretty in this. It matches your hair! What a score. I am so excited to be able to wear more summer and spring dresses!

  9. Lovely dress! The pop of red is so fun. Lucky you getting it so cheap! I’ve tried doing the leaping thing but I usually wind up with a facial expression that looks like I’m in deathly agony haha…

  10. Lovely dress, I too have cut my head off mid jump..lol So I think we need someone to do a mid-air posing video. ASAP! ha ha

    Have a great weekend! 😉

  11. I love your leap! What a great photo. Don’t worry about your head. It’s still there, right? Haha…

    Loving the dress and the whole look, plus I’m super jealous of all of your sunshine. It’s still overcast in Seattle, but it is getting a bit brighter out!

  12. you’re too funny Suze, love the jumping pic- I always fail at those too… Hehe. You look stunning- that dress looks like it was made for you!

  13. CUTE! I’m really not sure how I haven’t already commented on this… but I love it! Super fun and I LOVE those shoes. I think I spotted Kendi in them (in a diff color) a day or two ago. Time to head to Target… again. 🙂

  14. Catching up on all my blog reading and have to say I love this dress on you!!! Can’t wait for the weather to really warm up and make it possible to do dresses and sandals. I’m counting down the days. – Katy

Comments are closed.