The one with the maxi

IMG_4814 copy
IMG_4806 copy
IMG_4804 copy
IMG_4825
IMG_4826 copy
For whatever reason, I’m not the biggest fan of maxi skirts for me. I think they can look beautiful on others, but I’ve never found one I like on me. Except I think I kind of like this one. It’s not quite floor-length, so you can still see my feet, which I think is my usual problem with maxis. I like to be able to KNOW there are feet under there, otherwise it freaks me out.

I filled my Pinterest with maxi inspiration, and ended up wearing my own variation on a maxi outfit anyway. Although, I do love the long pink skirt and yellow tee shirt. Must get my hands on those…

Oh, and I did this weird knotty thing to my hair, so when I took it down last night, I had waves for about 10 minutes!

Maxi Skirt/Dress | Everybody, Everywear

47 thoughts on “The one with the maxi

  1. Your hair is amaze-balls! Oh my god, now I totally regret having a pixie. There is no way I could ever execute what you did, and it looks fantastic. Your outfit has really great proportions – love how you paired a cropped jacket with your maxi. Great job!

  2. I think this maxi outfit looks great Suze! Truth be told, I kinda bailed on #EBEW this month because I just can’t get over the whole floor length thing. But you being sneaky with this almost floor length – why didn’t I think of that?

    ps, miss you friend ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The dress is cute, especially paired with the jacket. I’m LOVING the hair and the wave action afterwards. Maybe you can try a putting in some holding spray or mousse, then twist up the hair for like a day or overnight even. That can help keep your waves longer! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I did it with four sections and just twisted it up and around, then pinned it at the bottom of my head.

      I’d love to see you try!

  4. Cuuuuuute! I love the hair! And the shoes too – I saw them at Target and didn’t get them… but I might have to go back now. Not that I’m not there pretty much every other day….. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I LOVE the weird knotty thing in your hair! you know…skirts that hit mid calf are making a comeback! oh, and i tried on those wedeges at target and put them back for some delicious archer farms food items instead. maybe ill pop on over to the .com and see if there are some left…

  6. Your hair is adorable!!! Also, I think this almost falls under those “midi” skirt lengths that are supposed to be “in” this spring. You rock the look well!

    p.s. I posted today an outfit copying your outfit that copied Linley. I linked to your posts.

  7. Ahhhhhh! I love your hair like this! SO CUTE! Ok, I need to grow me out some hair so I can play with mine too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love your take on the maxi… I personally probably SHOULD know where my clumsy feet are all day! This skirt looks perfect with your sandals.

  8. Love your hair, and that necklace is gorgeous!! I like that even though you’re not on board with the maxi trend, you found your own way to make it work. This is a surprising lack of color for you but it’s a nice change of pace.

  9. I think your hair looks BEYOND amazing and I jealous that I don’t have enough hair to do that.
    The way you styled your maxi is beyond fab, as well.

  10. I love the hair! it is just adorable… I must give it a try sometime!
    I’m not much of a maxi person either… and hey, we both paired ours with some faux leather from target, hehe.

  11. Great way to slightly bend the rules to make it work! I always feel like I can’t find a maxi that looks good either, I always think I look too wide. Maybe a midi length is in the cards for me!

    Love your hair too, I’d try it but all of my layers don’t like staying in buns. I always get little pieces sticking out, that or they’re too small to wrap correctly.

  12. Like the hairstyle I wonder if it could be done with natural hair, I must try it now!! I’m not a big fan of maxi skirts, but I’m pretty short so I may look crazy or fall. Love the pieces you paired it with especially the necklace and leather jacket.

    ps. It’s crazy how almost all the maxi outfit look similar to Refinery’s 6 ways to wear maxi articles..lol

    • My hairstyle is with my real hair? I don’t think I understand what you mean my “natural hair.” Do you mean curly hair? I twisted it when it was wet, so maybe that would help!

  13. You did it! You found a maxi and you look GREAT in it! I’m glad you pushed your comfort zone a little!
    (And I’d be remiss if I didn’t compliment you on that awesome hair!)

  14. I really like this length of skirt on you, you look so long and sleek and elegant. I tried doing a similar twirly knot thing in my hair… apparently my hair is TOO LONG heh.

  15. Your hair looks so cute like that – love it ๐Ÿ™‚ The skirt suits you – think it is totally about finding what works for you.

  16. I don’t really love maxi skirts, or dresses. I’m 5’4″ and I just look like a midget. Maybe it’s the feet thing. This post makes me wish I had some longer hair. Your hair looks awesome.

  17. Um dear, it looks like you style maxis all day every day. It’s so very “you”! I love how the necklace stands out and everything else is so chill ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. I LOVE the knotty hair! I want to try this. You look so cute. Your outfit is perfect. Lovin the leather jacket with the maxi and wedge sandals.

  19. I’m not a fan of maxi dresses/skirts too because people who wear those look as if they’re gliding/floating around. lol Yes it looks good for some but I still don’t like it that much.

    That skirt you wore is okay since it’s not too long and I love it cause it has thin stripes on it. I’m a big fan of stripes and polka dots! ^^

    Btw, I loooooove what you did with your hair. Please, please, please teach me how to do that! ^^

  20. I’m behind on my blog reading so I totally missed this post. But i have tosay I love your hair- such a cool updo! i don’t have enough hair to attempt it ,and my layers would not cooperate but it look sso gorgeous! And I love that necklace every time I see you wear it.

  21. Pingback: The one you probably saw yesterday… « Miss Vinyl Ahoy

  22. Pingback: How-to knot your hair: the five-minute hairstyle « Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Comments are closed.