Ten things TxSCC taught me

This weekend taught me more than how to make my blog better, it reaffirmed my love of blogging and the knowledge that we bloggers are a special, beautiful and kind breed.

Coming to a strange state where I only know two people (and by “know” I mean we’ve met once before), and staying with bloggers I’ve never met was something I’ve never done before. I was a nervous wreck, although I think I hid it well. Of all the things that I learned at TxSCC, here are the top ten I’d like to share with you.

#1. Always wear heels. It’s an unwritten blogger rule! I swear I’m nearly the same height as Kendi (maybe 1 inch shorter) but when she wears heels and I wear flats, I look tiny. Not to mention when Bryan gets in there! (seriously- I’m 5’8″ in flats!!)
IMG_4322

#2. Everyone gets nervous speaking in front of a crowd, no matter what size. (Katy and Jennine)
IMG_4315

#3. Meeting new friends is one of the best parts! (me and Heather)
IMG_4279

#4. These Dallas ladies are some of the nicest people you will ever meet (and they both have killer fashion sense!) Erin and Elissa
IMG_4251

#5. Amy doesn’t take a bad photo (she says I’m wrong.)
IMG_4239

#6. Katy drinks her coffee while leaning over… only if the cup’s broken though 🙂
IMG_4219

#7. Kelsey and her husband (not pictured!) are two of the kindest people ever! They drove me to the airport this morning at FOUR AM! How awesome?!
IMG_4228

#8. Rach and Jen are hair twins and are even more gorgeous in person.
IMG_4323

#9. Kristina tells me my red hair is very noticeable! (Although someone told me it’s not as red in person… I think it was Kendi?)
IMG_4298

#10. You will learn a ton during the panels.
IMG_4296

I have tons more photos, outfit shots and candids to share with you guys throughout the week, but I wanted to let you know how much fun I had, and how I wish I could bring something like this to Michigan, or at least the Midwest. Anyone want to help me plan it?

43 thoughts on “Ten things TxSCC taught me

  1. So jealous! Wish I could have been there! It sounds like an absolutely fantastic time and if they hold it next year, I am so there!

  2. It was so freakin fun this weekend! I seriously had the best time. You were fabulous! It was so sad to leave everyone. I wish we all lived in a little blogging world together.

  3. I love your red hair! I had such a blast during my (brief) time at TxSCC. HB and I wished we could have stayed longer but alas…the real world wouldn’t have it!

    • I love my hair too! I just think it’s funny that it looks more red in photos than in real life! I’m glad you were able to come by for a little while!

  4. I love it! I wish I could have been there too! I swear I am going to the next one if I have to sell an organ for a plane ticket! haha…. and I would so help plan even though I don’t live in the midwest… though I don’t know how helpful that is!

  5. I would be over the moon excited and happy if something like this came to Michigan!

    LOVE this post! I am so excited to read the overviews at all the different blogs… and, of course, photos of everybody having fun together! 🙂

  6. OMG, it looks like you had so much fun! I loved all your guest post when you were gone but am also so happy to have you back. Can’t wait to see more!

      • I saw you in the purple bracelet on fb! You are really making me want to be a blogger… Blogger conventions seem like way more fun then fashion trade show! If only I was a little better with words or the English language! May be someday I will be more articulate. Until then I must stick with buying amazing clothes!

  7. Considering how much fun I had at TxSCC, I would soo come to one in the Midwest (esp if it was in Chicago or Michigan). I love your 10 things (it even includes me!) and I’m still in awe of how in real life everyone is just as sweet and awesome as they seem to be on their blogs.

  8. It was awesome meeting you! Those tips, like wearing heels… so right on. I didn’t wear any that last day and I felt like people kept looking over my head, haha

  9. It looks like you had such a fabulous time…I mean EVERYONE looks like they had a great time. Hard not to when you’re surrounded by great company. Thanks for sharing.

  10. love all these pictures!! oh man, it looks like such an amazing time! i’m so totally bummed i couldn’t come. i may photoshop my head in a couple of these to make me feel better! (:

  11. Such lovely photos! Wow you do look so little, way tinier than 5’8″. Those must have been some heels 🙂 Can’t wait to attend next year, at least my wikifashion tote bags were there, so I guess I can say I was. Looking forward to next year 🙂 Would love to see how the totes turned out if you have any pics of people holding them?

  12. It looks like you had a blast. I can’t wait to hear more about the weekend and see more pictures.

    I am totally in for something like this to happen in the Midwest and am all in for helping plan something. SERIOUSLY!

  13. I would love a Midwest meetup. I’m in Wisconsin, but I always enjoy visiting Chicago and Minneapolis. I know there are some bloggers in Indiana and Michigan, so either of those would be fine with me, too. I must say, though, Milwaukee is lovely in the spring! Haha.

  14. It was so great to meet you this weekend! I’ve been stalking your blog for about a month and I already kind of felt like I knew you. This past weekend was so awesome and inspiring and most of that was just because of all of the awesome bloggers I met. Your talent and unique style is what keeps me motivated. Thanks!!

    • Oh Cathy, thanks so much! 🙂 This is exactly what everyone wants to hear! You’re so sweet and this weekend was so much fun!

  15. Hi Suze,
    I enjoyed meeting you Sunday and seeing your face come off the pages of a blog into reality. You are so cute and I have you on the front of my blog today as I am writing about the keynote address!! Come check it out…you are in a discussion with Jeannine.
    I am glad you came to Texas and hope you will come back! If you are ever in San Antonio and need anything, give me a shout!

    • Pam, you are so sweet! It was wonderful to meet you in real life as well, and I am so excited that you won th sewing machine!
      And thanks for using my photo on your blog!! 🙂

  16. Kendi is right that your hair is less red in person. But still awesome! 🙂 And I totally agree that the conference renewed me and my love for style blogging! It was so great to meet you. 🙂

  17. Totally jealous of your amazing trip. All the posts that I am reading makes me wish I could have made it work. Alas. Next time – hopefully there is a next time. It looks like you had such a great trip and how amazing that you got to meet so many great bloggers in person! – Katy

  18. I LOVE this recap!! It was so fun to spend the weekend with you, Suze. Would it be inappropriate for me to bookmark this and look at it everytime I miss you? 😉

  19. Hey there my BFF!!!! miss you already 😦
    Great recap though… and P.S. I do really take bad photos – maybe you are just an amazing photographer?!?!!?!?

  20. Oh! Such a fantastic way to show the spirit of TxSCC! Eee… I feel good about wearing heels. I am 5.4″ and without heels I would be lost between you fabulous ladies! 🙂 Nice meeting you and you have gorgeous Red Hair!!!

    Tanvi
    from © tanvii.com

Comments are closed.