Someone stole my blog post…

You may have noticed – I am not Suze. I’m sure our almost identical looks had you confused for a moment, but my blonde hair gave it away, didn’t it? Don’t fret, I haven’t kidnapped Suze. She’s off being fabulous at the Texas Style Conference and I’m here filling in. You might be wondering who “I” am. Maybe I should have started with that? Anyways, hi! I’m Liz from 26 and Counting. I’m a fellow style blogger, 30 for 30 veteran and, like Suze, a lover of color. Over in my little corner of the blog world, I focus on business casual wear with a kick. No, not a physical kick {I won’t hurt you, I promise}. More like a kick of color.

Today I’m here to share with you some tips and tricks for working with color in a traditional business casual office. These aren’t necessarily rules, more so just a few things I’ve learned along the way to help pull myself from the lull of wearing black day in and day out. Alright, are you ready? Let’s get started!

Suze Guest Post 4
– The Basics: Incorporating color might be a bit scary at first, so start off slow. Chances are if you working in an office setting you have basic pieces in neutrals like black, gray or brown. Start by adding one colorful piece and build from there. My go to pieces are solid tops that can work in both an office setting and on the weekend, but colored button up tops work wonders too.
Other Options: Add color with a scarf or pair of shoes. Get creative with your accessories.

Suze Guest Post 3
– Mixing Colors: Suze does wonders with mixing colors and patterns, but how do you know what colors to mix? Use in-store clothing displays, your favorite catalogs and other style bloggers for inspiration. And who says you have to stick to clothes for inspiration? Look at places like Ikea or Crate and Barrel to see what color combos they use for their displays. Or look outside your window.
Other Options: My favorite color combinations? Purple and yellow. Blue and red. Or try a monochromatic look with shades of the same color.

Suze Guest Post 2
-Adding Prints & Patterns: When it comes to prints and patterns, don’t be afraid of trying something new. Stripes are great place to start. Try adding floral prints or animal prints. Other Options: My favorite color combinations? Purple and yellow. Blue and red. Or try a monochromatic look with shades of pink or blue.
Other Options: If you’re feeling overwhelmed look for accessories with patterns or textures. One you get the hang of it, start building up to larger pieces.

Suze Guest Post 1
– Take Something Casual and Make it Appropriate for Work: I don’t know about you, but my most colorful pieces are those I wear on the weekends. Maybe I suffer from compartmentalizing my clothes but for the longest time I shied away from making casual pieces office appropriate. Have a bright tank top? Trying adding a blazer or cardigan. Have a breezy summer tunic? Try tucking it into pants or skirt to make a work ready blouse.
Other Options: If you have casual Fridays, use that as practice for mixing the two ends of your style spectrum. Or have a friend take a look at your closet. A fresh pair of eyes may put together a great outfit you overlooked.

Have any tips of your own? Leave in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Someone stole my blog post…

  1. I really love this post, I try and do the same thing with brightening up my work wardrobe but I love your pics, seems like you have it down to a fine art!

Comments are closed.