I quit. And, EBEW polka dots.

3.8.11
IMG_4191
Top: Tucker for Target
Hat: Marshalls
Jeans: Thrifted, Goodwill
Shoes: Forever 21
Watch: c/o Tikkr (via Texas Meetup)

I’m feeling very overwhelmed by this 30 for 30. My original idea behind participating was to ease my way into dressing for a new job, but that was thrown out of whack when I discovered the dress code was very different. I wanted to take a page from Erin’s book and finalize my remaning outfits in one, long, glorious post, but that didn’t happen.

Part of the reason behind that is because I lost about five outfits by not photographing them, and I really didn’t want to put them on just to take photos. Yes, I got lazy. The second is because I’m just sick of the pieces I picked. They don’t really go well with my new job and I can’t wear the same damn jeans to work everyday. So I quit. Love me or hate me, I’m done.

That is why today, EBEW polka dot day, I am not in my 30×30 pieces. I’m in regular, found in the closet pieces. And I’m totally fine with it.

I had so much fun during my last two 30×30 challeges, but I wish I would’ve sat this one out because I’m now feeling the burn out.

Plus (and let’s be honest here), I didn’t want to restrict myself to only 30×30 pieces for this weekend. That would just be silly.

My name is Suze, and I am a 30×30 dropout.
Polka Dots | Everybody, Everywear

41 thoughts on “I quit. And, EBEW polka dots.

  1. I didn’t make it through this round of the 30 for 30 either, for both reasons similar to yours too. It’s ok! I’m lovin’ the polka dots and can’t wait to see what you come up with when you’re reunited with the rest of your closet.

  2. Hahahah!! You’ve made it far longer than I ever could! Plus you’ve done this before which is already a huge feat! You look gorgeous, I love the hat and really this whole outfit. You look fabulous. Have fun in Texas!

  3. You’re the best drop out ever! Life gets in the way sometimes, no biggie.
    I love this top; everytime I see you wear it I kick myself several times for not picking it up at Target. Polka dots rock.

  4. I had to quit the last one and didn’t participate in this one because it was creating too much stress than fun for me, so I totally understand. I’m hoping to participate in the next one though!! I love those TIKKR watches, I’m so sad I can’t come to TX Style Council this weekend! It’s only a 3 hour drive away and I’ll be in Virginia 😦

  5. If you couldn’t drop out of a blog challenge, that’d be pretty harsh! I’m totally sympathetic as I have never even managed to join the 30×30, let alone get far enough along to drop out. Plus, polka dots.

  6. ha! hi – my name is lisa and i’m a RECOVERING 30×30 dropout! you remember my failed fall edition – it happens! plus, now you can pack whatever for this weekend. I WILL SEE YOU ON FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!! xoxoxoxo πŸ˜€

  7. For some reason, everyone was having a really hard time with this 30×30. I think part of it might have been the changing weather. I was so frustrated that I DID pull an Erin and photo the last five all in the same day at the same time. I love my clothes but, geez, it was getting old. I was ready. to. shop. Your dots are gorgey and I’m so jealous of everyone that managed to get that top. It sold out faster than bread and milk before a tornado in my town!

    http://one-girl-vs-world.blogspot.com

  8. Haha, it’s okay, you’ve had a few good 30×30 runs and I still think that four months a year for 30×30 is just too many.

    I do love that top, it is so cute and fun, and I like the tiny bit of pattern mixing with the leopard.

  9. I always tell myself, I could wear only 30 pieces for a month, but then I get to wondering how many different pieces I actually wear. I’m too much of a chicken to test myself though. At least you tried!

    And did you say this is the third time you’ve done it? Big props!

  10. I am all for remixing my clothes but having to be limited with only 30 pieces in my closet would be hard! I have like 20 long sleeves that I wear under everything and I know I wear all of them in a month. So that means I would have only 10 other options for real clothes. OMG, you blogers amaze me….

  11. I know, right? TxSCC is coming, and I don’t want to limit myself either! I was able to figure out a way to make polka dot day work, but I’m still trying to figure out a way to come up with a way to wrap things up.

  12. Aww hunnie……trust me….I FEEL your pain…I did a mega wrap up a couple days ago….it was really starting to get to me. I had NO time to keep up with the outfit posts…Im glad I did the challenge, I think everyone should do at least one, just to really appreciate your closet and remixing skills….but I dont think ill be in the next round…..Im having too much fun shopping!!
    BTW…love love your polkas toady and super cute hat….Ill be posting mine this evening:)

    Stop by and say Helloβ™₯
    Statements in Fashion Blogβ™₯

  13. Hey I am a 30 for 30 quitter too! Sometimes life and circumstances get in the way and that’s totally OKAY! Of course, if getting means you get to participate in EBEW than I’m all for it πŸ™‚

  14. That’s okay. πŸ™‚ You managed to finish a couple of 30×30 already. ^^ You’re so much better than those who didn’t even try at all (me ouch, lol).

    I still love you and your blog!! ^^ And your cats! ^^ Hi Loafy! πŸ˜€

    • I know! I did have a polka dotted top in my 30×30, but I just got SICK of trying to catch up, so I quit. Haha πŸ™‚

  15. What a great top! I loved everything in the Tucker for Target line!
    I admire you for even attempting the 30 for 30 challenge- I could never do it.

  16. Sorry you didn’t make it. But, I really like your polka dot shirt. Your needs changed a lot with your new job. I think the biggest reason I haven’t committed to the 30×30 is for a long long time I couldn’t afford to shop. It resulted in me living the 30×30 but for a few years. Now I’m in a better place financially, and I’m slowly building my closet with items I love.

  17. As long as are okay with dropping out then it doesn’t matter! I didn’t make it through the Winter 30for30 either. Between crazy weather here and then getting sick I was so far behind that it would’ve taken longer than expected to do the 30 outfits. Here’s to getting your closet back!!

  18. Man, I wish I had your guts to just quit. I’ve “powered” through and have caught a wicked case of burn out. {so much so I’ve considered ditching the blog… eeek.}
    Maybe I should have just been smart like you!

    Love that polka dot top, kinda kicking myself that I never put it in my closet when it was available. Orange polka dots? How is that NOT perfection!

    Hope you have a great trip despite your travel headaches!

    Leaving the House in THIS?!?!

  19. I had a heck of a time with the challenge as well, so I don’t blame you for quitting. And seriously, I want your shirt. How about me just stealing your clothes?

Comments are closed.