Go red for women, friend friday and more!

IMG_3027
2.4.11 4 of 30
IMG_3036
Top: Old Navy
Dress: Banana Republic
Scarf: H&M
Tights: c/o We Love Colors, gold
Belt: Modcloth
Shoes: Urban Outfitters

Only one more day left! Since today was the day to wear red and I’d already worn my red tights, I decided to just go bold and rock out the gold tights with my red shirt. I feel like and art teacher in this outfit, demonstrating the primary colors. Ha.

If you want more information about Andie‘s Go Red for Women initiative and how to get involved, click here. Otherwise, continue reading for this week’s friend friday, which is all about involvement.

Katy says, “The launch this week of the 30 for 30 challenge, as well as the rise of EBEW and even the going red for women month, got me thinking how do we decide what content works for our blog and what doesn’t? Some bloggers commented that some of these ‘blogging events’ are full of people just interested in jumping on the bandwagon and trying to garner a little more fame out of it, while others are authentic. All interesting and valid points, which of course had me thinking what makes a blog unique and how do we are bloggers differentiate ourselves and our blogs from the thousands out there.

1. With all the blogging events out there how do you determine which ones to participate in and which ones to avoid?
If I like it, it sounds interesting to me and I want to do it, I do it. If it doesn’t sound like something I would normally do, I steer clear.

2. Be honest, have you ever jumped on the bandwagon of some blogging movement/event for the wrong reasons? How did that turn out?
Usually, I’ve been pretty good at having my own reasons for doing something. But, I understand why others could think it’s a big clique or that it’s a bandwagon movement. Doesn’t that same mentality  come out when an indie band suddenly becomes famous? We assume that, even though it’s a great idea, the participant is only doing it for exposure. I don’t think that is the case for MOST participants. I think some people are doing it to feel part of something, and there is nothing wrong with that. Everyone chooses to do something (or not do it) for their own reasons, and who are we to tell them they are wrong?

3. How do you give your own flair to a blog event while still maintaining the general mission and purpose?
My purpose and mission with this blog has been very simple from the start: do what I want and showcase what I’m wearing. It’s evolved into DIY fashion and showing how to dress professionally on a normal/small budget (we’re talking LESS than $100 spent PER MONTH). If something comes up like the 30×30 or EBEW, and I want to participate, I do.

I think the 30×30 is a brilliant idea and 800+ participants agree. It’s about showing how to work with what you have. Sure, some people have HUGE closets and some people own very little. But when you put certain restrictions on what you own (such as utilizing only 30 pieces) you begin to realize what you own and how to wear it in ways you didn’t think of before. If you want to read more about my thoughts on the 30×30, check out this post I wrote for the last one, after seeing some not-so-nice remarks on twitter.

4. When determining the best content for your blog what criteria do you keep in mind?
I see if I have the time, the ability, and the want to do it. I also don’t participate in things that I’d have to run out and buy something for. An example would be EBEW. If I didn’t own the item they were featuring, I wouldn’t do it, plain and simple. The items aren’t chosen to be crazy items most people won’t own, they’re picked because many people own them. But if I don’t I just don’t include myself in the mix. Pretty simple.

5. While everything will not suit your blog, how do you try to support your fellow bloggers who are participating in something worthwhile, but not your style?
Well, first of all, I’d never write a post talking badly about the project and projecting the idea of boycotting blogs that do it. Second, before I was ever involved in FBFF, I’d always go to Katy’s blog and V’s blog, read their answers and check out the others involved. You can support other bloggers by leaving comments, encouraging them to do their best and by just being NICE to them. You may not like everything everyone posts, but you don’t have to be rude about it. If you don’t like something, stop reading their blog. You don’t have to broadcast to the world that you’ve done so, but you don’t have to read about something you have no interest in.

I remember following Kendi on her very first 30×30 last spring, and I was very inspired by the idea and wanted to try it on my own, but knew if I did, it would be assumed I was copying her. Then, she opened up the summer edition to her followers, and I decided to participate. I had people like Jenni and Angeline right there, supporting me as I went through it. This time, neither of them are participating, but I am, and they’re both sending me encouraging tweets and leaving kind comments. So even though they’re not doing it, they’re still supporting me.

To learn more about FBFF or join the group, head over to ModlyChic.com. You can also visit the other blogs participating.

35 thoughts on “Go red for women, friend friday and more!

  1. I really liked your answers! “Be nice” is a nice message – simple and important 🙂
    Also, that scarf is perfect and I love how you’ve mixed it with the gingham top!

    • Thanks! I think sometimes we forget that there is a person on the other side of the blog, and being nice can really help them out. Everyone has a secret battle that they’re fighting and the least we can do is be kind!

  2. I didn’t get around to answering the #FBFF questions this week…but you pretty much summed up how I feel about this topic. Challenge or no challenge, as a reader I can distinguish if that person is still relating it back their blog and you always do. So props to Suze for being a challenge guru and still being yourself.

    • LOL! It’s all about me… Haha…
      No, seriously. I think you and I are on the same page- it would be weird if I weren’t already posting daily outfit pics, then suddenly started doing it. But, I do know that some people have done this because of the 30×30, because they wanted to start, so I don’t know. It really just depends on what you want to do with any given participation challenge.

  3. I like your answers and think in the same vein. If something interests me and I have the time to commit to it, I am happy to join in. But anything I participate in has to fit into the content I already create for my blog.

    Btw, I really enjoy how you mix prints and colors on a daily basis, not just for the 30 for 30, fantastic!

    • Thank you! 🙂

      And I totally agree! Do it because you want to and it fits in with your blog, not because you think you have to.

    • Oddly, I feel the same about you! Somehow I found you and freaked out at how freakin’ cute you are, starting blog stalking you and flickr stalking you and now have no idea how I didn’t know you.
      I did the same thing when I found Jenni last year! It was a moth to a flame, I swear!

  4. First I must say I LOVE that hat!! So awesome!!

    I agree with everything you said, especially when it comes to being nice to bloggers who are participating in something that you aren’t doing. Like you said, if you don’t like it, don’t read it!

    • Thank you!
      And I was reading your blog long before I really knew what the FBFF was. And you’re the reason I wanted to join in. I loved the idea of it, and your answers were always spot on, so I had to do it myself!! 🙂

  5. I am glad you decided on the gold tights. First, I think that really rock and second, I think it would have been too much red with the red gingham shirt. I do however love the red tights, but than I love all the colors of tights that you have worn. I don’t think there is anyone that doesn’t love colored tights or We Love Colors tights. Keep it up girl!!!

    • Oh, so very true. However, if I had worn the right tights, I probably wouldn’t have worn the gingham top. Just because I’m not THAT into red. Or maybe I would’ve and just gone ALL red and even thrown on a red skirt. Yeah. That’d be CRAZY!!! haha

  6. First of all, I love your belt. Love!

    I enjoyed reading your answers to this week’s questions. Especially regarding tailoring challenges to meet your own personal agenda, such as working with a very small budget as you mentioned. I really enjoy reading your blog because you have such unique personal style and are a wonderful writer. And I agree with everything you said, but especially with being nice to other bloggers. Just because you disagree doesn’t mean you have an excuse to be rude.

  7. It seems so simple, doesn’t it? If you like it, do it. If you don’t, don’t. Great attitude. A blog is fun, not a job.

    Also, I followed Kendi’s 1st remix and thought I should jump in. Then I watched you and the handful of other girls and thought, I could do that….but no way I am doing a blog. Ahh. Now here I am. Funny to see where this all takes you.

    The Auspicious Life

  8. Primary colors are always fun to rock, takes you back to your inner child. ha ha I actually have a pair of those We Love Color gold tights, but never know what to rock them with. Thanks for the inspiration!!

    ps. That hat is so cute why didn’t you model it in your pictures??

  9. I really like the hat. It seems like a lot of bloggers are saying the same thing in their answers, but that’s a good thing. I like that you said that sometimes people think others are doing it just for exposure, when they are not. It’s fun to be apart of something, and I love meeting new people through certain challenges.
    My Heart Blogged

  10. Looking pretty lady! I think your scarf and belt are fabulous. I really like your answers to this weeks Friend Friday questions.

  11. I had missed your November post on this. Have read it now and find it spot on. Your answer to #3 made me see the remix challenge in a different way, even after participating in it once. Selecting 30 items creates a sort of equality amongst bloggers and makes it about styling rather than the spending of money. Wonderful answers.

  12. Love your outfit, so much color!!! You put outfits together so well, I can’t lie that I’m a tad jealous. I completely agree with you that nice, genuine comments are the best kind!

  13. Those scarfs look familiar. LOL XD

    Oh the red belt this time! ^^ Now you gave me a tip to try wearing belt over scarf. I hope you took a pic with the hat too. ^^

Comments are closed.