V, this is for you.

1.27.2011
IMG_2698
Dress: Peppermint
Skirt: H&M
Tights: c/o We Love Colors, scarlet red
Shoes: Old Navy
Necklace: Modcloth

You guys remember when I wore this outfit during the last 30×30, right? At the time, I really wanted to wear red shoes with the red tights, but I didn’t because they weren’t included in my mix.

Well, V from Grit and Glamour requested (at the time) that I rewear the outfit and take a photo with red shoes on for her. Instead, I decided to make it new with this dress, and my new WLC tights. (The red ones in the other post are from Target and are not warm AT ALL!). You know, because that’s listening to V and doing what she asked… 🙂 (months later…)

So V, is this as awesome as you imagined?

And onto this week’s Friend Friday questions (why yes, this is going to be a really long post. Thanks for sticking around!).

1. What technology do you use in blogging? (computer, camera, video camera, tripod, etc…)
I have a six-year-old hand-me-down computer, a Canon Rebel camera (thanks dad), a $14 tripod from Target and a Canon remote for the camera.

2. What computer and online technology do you use? (blogging system, photo storage, photo editing tools, etc..)
I used a Dell computer, that once belonged to my mother, and now belongs to me. I use Photoshop or Picnik to edit my photos, Flickr to host my photos and WordPress for my blog.

3. What is your process for taking pictures?
I set up my tripod, set up the camera, plug in the remote, take a test shot (or two), adjust the light settings, then put the camera on multiple shots (usually eight shots with two seconds between each), then use my remote to focus the camera, and take photos.
This is how I take my test shots to adjust the light. I make faces.
IMG_2690
Yup. I am weird.

4. When it comes to backdrops for your photos what do you consider? Do you scout locations or shoot the same spot daily?
I usually use whatever area is around my apartment complex. I tend to use the same area because my blog isn’t about the setting; it’s about what I’m wearing. Plus, it’s just me taking the photos, and I’m not totally comfortable lugging all the items to random places.

5. If you could splurge and get one new piece of equipment what would you buy?
Either a robot to take my photos, or a new computer.
I’m leaning toward the robot 🙂

25 thoughts on “V, this is for you.

  1. I looove this post! You’re hilarious as always. I like how you include humor on your posts which I guess some fashion blogs doesn’t do. ^^

    I have a similar red shoes… except it has buckle in front. lol Me loves red shoes too. I love the dress and I think it could go well with or without the skirt. I think you added it because you’re too tall and the dress would look shorter. I think you can pull it off anyway. 😉

    I love this 10 challenge because it helps me learn ideas so I would try different colored tights next time. 😄 I only stick to black right now since it’s the safer choice. 😄

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention V, this is for you. | Miss Vinyl Ahoy -- Topsy.com

  3. Beee-utiful dress! I love the motif. Yep, I’d agree that V had a good idea, the red on red works very well.

    When you place your order in for a robot, can order one for me too? I’m enjoying reading everyone’s variation on this theme. I guess I never realized I could adjust the focus with a remote. That would definitely help.

  4. Totally cute dress! It’s soo you! I really need to get myself a remote. I think it would make life so much easier!

  5. Love love the double red, Suze! And are those birds on the dress? Oh, and another question– how are you storing your purses? I need help.

    • Yeah, they’re Phoenix! And I store my purses on big hooks on the wall. I have 4 hooks, and I hang the purses on the hooks!

  6. I LOVE the red tights/dress/shoes. So pretty.

    And I take my photos around my house too – maybe I should invest in a photojournalist to document my life? Then we could really get some shots of my outfit in action…

  7. Love the robot response, lol..I’ll let you borrow Chloe if you would like:)
    Here is that super cute dress!! I just got home…I have to unwind a few, then I’ll be on the ModCloth site…hunting down one for my purchase 🙂 I’ll be sure to let you know which one I decide on:) Yours is really super cute…I love it w/the we Love Colors red tights. I have those as well…aren’t they the BEST shade of real red ever?

    Hugs sweetie!!

  8. I love love all the red going on in this outfit. The skirt works so well with the dress, and that dress is totally fantastic! I might have to order some more WLC tights myself before the 30×30 starts up.

  9. I seriously was considering those exact tights from We Love Colors this week. Our twin-ness is really beginning to get scary! LOL – Katy

  10. shut up, i love that dressI would have never thought to do red tightds & shoes but the monotone makes your legs look so long, even with flats! I swear everytime I read your blog I feel complelled to buy tights, and I’m not even a dress person!

    hope your doing well.

  11. for a second I thought you mean me, because a lot of my friends call me V (for Victoria). Way to shatter my hopes! haha just kidding!!! I think this is such an adorable outfit and I love the colors on you so much. yey!!! Who would have thought red shoes and red tights would look so amazing too!??

  12. This is not-very-related, but thank you so much for putting up the technology FAQs! I was just surfing the pretty colors, but I’ve been wondering in the back of my mind if there is possibly a camera remote out there that I could use for stop animation of a face without involving anyone else in the tediousness.

    So, now I know! Thank you so much! Now I just need to get my hands on one of those!

Comments are closed.