Friend Friday: Authenticity

Katy always comes up with very thought provoking questions for FBFF. This week is no different!

1. Most readers and fellow fashion bloggers value authenticity in the blogs they read. How would you describe blog/blogger authenticity?
I like reading a blog and feeling like I’m getting to know the writer. Their voice, the topics they talk about and the general feeling on their blog (and facebook, twitter, etc) should be true to themselves and the same on all platforms. (see #3)

2. When it comes to your blog how to you infuse it with that true/authentic feeling?
I write about my real life, in my own voice. I write as if I were the only one reading it, because if I were, I’d still want to read it (at least that’s how I think about it!)

3. Have you stopped following a blog in the last three months? What made you lose interest?
Yes, but I refuse to name-names. It’s a blog of nice outfits, but the blogger’s voice on the blog doesn’t match their twitter account AT ALL. They’re so nice on their blog, but rude and mean on their twitter. DISLIKE!

4. We can’t communicate effectively on our blogs, something we don’t live in real life… what are some ways you try to live an authentic life?
I write the same way I talk. I also don’t hold back (see last Monday’s post). I put myself out there, hoping not to fail. I do that here and I do that in real life. I also try to ignore the haters (both here and in real life as well). There will always be people who are jealous of you, don’t like you and hope you fail. Ignore them. Because when you do, you succeed in ways you may not have before.

5. Give a shout-out… Which bloggers do you think are truly genuine and why?
Everyone on my sidebar. Everyone in FBFF. If I read your blog, you’re genuine. Although, I supposed you don’t know if I read your blog because I’ve already failed on my resolutions…
Alright, fine, some specifics. These immediately come to mind:
What Would a Nerd Wear, Work With What You Got, Pixie in Pumps, Statements in Fashion, ModlyChic, Grit & Glamour, Kendi Everyday, The New Professional, Ordinarily Urbane, Archives, Coffee and a Cardigan, Blonde Bedhead
(Just go look at my blogroll. I don’t want to have to type everyone out!!)

Head over to Katy’s blog to check out other answers this weeks questions.

36 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Authenticity

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Friend Friday: Authenticity | Miss Vinyl Ahoy -- Topsy.com

  2. I couldn’t agree with your answer to #1 more! And from a reader perspective, I always feel like I’m getting a glimpse into your life. That’s what I like to see and just wanted to know that I think you’re great at it.

  3. What great answers. I’m only just beginning to find my voice through my blogging, and sometimes I worry that being myself holds me back from attracting followers and becoming “popular.” You’ve encouraged me to see value in being who I am. Not everyone is going to get me, and what I’m trying to say. But that’s okay.

    It goes without saying that your blog is the cat’s pajamas. Because you are completely true to yourself, and that’s what makes you unique.

  4. Seeing a blogger’s personality on their blog is SUPER important when it comes to being authentic online. And its funny how you pointed out the differences of bloggers on their blog and on twitter! I’ve seen a few of those myself and I’m just totally confused!

  5. Wonderful answers!! Thats terrible about that blogger that was mean on their twitter and completely opposite on their blog. Not cool! I just became a follower of your blog, its fantastic. I’m glad to meet you!

    xo

  6. Suze – I agree that you are one of the truly authentic bloggers. I love the list you compiled for question #5. A lot of my fav bloggers are named. And I totally hear you with the incompatibility of a blog and a twitter account. I’ve been turned off by that more than once. It’s such a disappointment. – Katy

    • Thanks Katy! 🙂 I wish I would’ve had time to add more to the list, because it’s certainly NOT a complete list, just a short list of those I had on my mind at the time.
      I wish people would be the same in both places :\

  7. I love love love this piece of advice: ” Ignore them. Because when you do, you succeed in ways you may not have before”. If I had a time machine, I would rewind to 1994 and remind my 14 year old self of this 🙂

    • Hi Jan! 🙂 I sometimes have to remind myself of that when I feel pressure from haters weighing down on me. And I too wish I could tell my 14-year-old self that!

  8. Hi Suze, I just learned about you through Statements in Fashion and I like your blog! I am going to feature you as the new friend I met today on my blog..so please stop by and say hello! I will add you to my blog roll as well!!

  9. I never thought about the whole twitter-blog connection. But you are right, now that I think about it. 140 characters is a great way to see how someone really thinks and acts. Now I’m going to have to examine all the tweets I read. And I’m going to be second guessing my own ramblings. (Ah, who am I kidding…I won’t second guess a thing!)

    The Auspicious Life

    • Ha- your tweets are always kind and fun! 🙂 There is nothing wrong with being mad and expressing yourself, but when it’s such a different voice, you know they’re masking something!

  10. This is such a great topic! I think authenticity is what really draws me in to blogs – getting to know people and foster relationships with them through our mutual love and appreciation for having fun with our style no matter how different or far away we live. This is such a big part of why I love reading your blog, Suze – I feel like I know you and truly care about you even though we’ve never met! And thank you so much mentioning me, that really means so much! xo

    • Maybe they don’t realize their using different voices? But c’mon, you KNOW how you write. If they’re linked, you should always sound the same…

  11. I’m nosy and apparently narcissistic because I’m dying to know who 3 is and worry it is me. Eep.

    I agree with people above that you’re authenticity shining through. That’s why yours is one of the few blogs I actually read instead of just looking at pictures.

  12. Love your answers Suze. You definitely write with such confidence. It’s great reading your articles because they don’t sound fake.

  13. Loved your responses to this. It really weirds me out when people are different (more real, I suppose?) on their twitter accounts. I feel like I was tricked into thinking they had a completely different persona.

    I am really glad to have stumbled onto your blog a few weeks ago. Not only are you genuine, but your outfits are like a rainbow color explosion of awesome.

Comments are closed.