Friend Friday: Measuring up to others


(source)
Today we’re talking about measuring up to others, something that came out of discussions about blogger resolutions.

1. Have you ever looked at someone’s blog and thought yours will never measure up?
Yes, I think we all have. I think it’s very common to fall in love with a successful blog and wonder why yours doesn’t match up. It took me a good six months to realize that my blog is MY blog, no one elses, so what I post has to be somehow related to me.

2. Do you (did you) feel pressure to meet some kind of undefined standard for fashion bloggers?
No. I like to meet my own standard, not anyone elses. Although I do hope that people find value in what I write.

3. Many established fashion bloggers are also extraordinary DIYers, bakers, and crafty people. Do you think you need to combine all of these things to be successful at blogging?
No. I think you need to be able to be successful in what you want. Whatever that my be. For me, I enjoy DIYing and outfit posts, so those are the things I strive to be successful at. I am not a baker or a very good cook (although I attempt to fake it), so you’ll rarely see recipe posts here.

4. The most successful blogs are the ones that have their own personal voice – how are you developing your voice or how did you find yours?
I found my voice by blogging and by writing for a newspaper. I also write for myself. The posts I publish and the outfits I wear are for me, whether or not anyone else likes them or reads them. I do want people to like my posts, but they’re a huge reflection of who I am. If you like them, you like them, if you don’t, you don’t. It’s all a matter of personal opinion anyway.

5. Toot your own horn… what’s one thing you do that is unique to you and your blog? What gives your blog an edge?
I think my unique approach is that I’m not just an outfit blogger and I’m not just an inspiration blogger. I have DIYs, how-to, outfit posts, longer articles and so on. My blog is a style blog, but it’s very personal and very me. I think it screams “SUZE!” in every post, so you learn about me really, really quickly. Sometimes it’s hard to learn about the writer in few posts, but I’m attempting to be myself and transparent enough that it’s possible.
I also strive to continue to be me and hopefully grow through the blogging process.

20 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Measuring up to others

  1. Your personality definitely shines through in your posts! And you have to write for yourself because when you don’t, it shows!

  2. Although I am quite new to your blog I totally agree that your writing style refelcts your sweet personality! And because your blog isn’t a pure style blog I’ve started reading it!

    Love, Diana

    • Thank you! My blog doesn’t really fit anywhere- it’s not just style, but it’s not lifestyle. It’s a mix of everything!

  3. Oh my god. I love love this post! I can somehow relate to it, especially with the first question. Being a newbie at fashion blogging is full of pressure. From where I am right now (Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates), blogging is not very famous compared to other places. So, I feel the weight of establishing it and getting people to be aware that it exists. Basically, my foremost goal is to let the people see how beautiful this city is and most importantly, how beautiful the people are. Writing for myself and having fun while doing it comes second to that. Is that bad? Should I switch them up so I don’t have to feel pressured all the time?

    It’s just now that I’ve realized all these, or at least, ‘say’ them out loud. This post has helped me a lot with just doing that. Thank you so much! Friend Friday is really amazing and one of the best things about fashion blogging. πŸ™‚

    ❀Eura

  4. Suze–you failed to mention color as what makes you stand out. That is the first thing that comes to mind when I think of you.

  5. I love your philosophy. Blogs are for others to enjoy but if the blogger doesn’t love it first and find it personal then it will never “measure up”.

    πŸ™‚

  6. I totally agree with you on standards and you definitely have a wonderful voice, and are a fantastic, unique source of inspiration.

  7. I will reiterate that your personality does come out through your blog and also how you mix your patterns in your outfit posts. I think that you have to be you and be true to yourself and that’s an accomplishment.

  8. I love your answers, Suze. I haven’t ‘known’ you very long at all – and I’ve never met you – but I do feel you have a strong (and lovely) voice. Have you seen The King’s Speech yet? I love the way he says ‘I have a voice.’

    It took me forever to write and re-write my post for this – something I rarely do, I just usually toss out my day to day posts. I just couldn’t express myself clearly or succinctly. Then I come here and read these answers and they’re so straight forward and so true.

    I hope you’re well, hope all your family – including your husband – are happy and healthy. xx

  9. You have so many strong points, it’s hard to mention them without coming off as a brown-nose. But top of the list: EXCELLENT writing chops, and authentic voice. Your blog is relatable because you are so clearly and truly who you are on it. Each post is done impeccably, nothing seems rushed, and organically. It always feels natural the way you talk about things. You are top-notched on the DIY front, and the cook in me who HATES food posts in a fashion blog wants to write you thank-you notes for never publishing a recipe. Best off, is your down-to-earth, practical approach to style. You experiment and play around but very much dress for the real world. Oh, and I LOVE your hair. There would be no Vinyl Ahoy without that blaze of color you call a hairstyle.

Comments are closed.