2010 outfit review: December

december 2010
12.1.2010 Eighteen(ish) birds / 12.3.2010 20 questions and 20 answers / 12.6.2010 You can’t be 21 forever / 12.10.2010 24! yay! And some snow / 12.17.2010 Irony of ironies / 12.19.2010 Number 30 / 12.21.2010 Until the morning sun, you’re mine, all mine / 12.22.2010 Star Wars cookies and Tulle dresses! / 12.23.2010 The great cat/goat caper

December has been the hardest month of the year. My father’s cancer returned. It moved to his brain, and treatment was stopped.

We celebrated his 67th birthday on December 13. We made it to Christmas and made it through New Years. We are taking it one day at a time, celebrating each day we have with him. I may not talk about it on my blog, and it may not show in my pictures, but it’s real. And I feel for every single person who has been there before me and every person who will be there after me. It’s that hardest thing to have to go through. I’ve never lost anyone in my family before and I feel like he’s too young to have to go through this.

Some of you have known what’s going on for a while, because we’ve talked about it before, and for those willing to listen, I am extremely grateful. Don’t worry, this won’t become a consistent subject on my blog. As much as it’s affecting my life, my blog is my escape and I certainly don’t want to bring anyone else down.

He’s still here, fighting to stay around as long as he can, and that’s all we can ask for as a family. I love my father with all my heart and appreciate everything he’s taught me. I am a daddy’s little girl.
me and dad

Happy New Year!

Suze

PS: I’ll get back to non-sappy posts ASAP, no worries. Apologies for the sad news.

43 thoughts on “2010 outfit review: December

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your father. I can’t even imagine how difficult this must be for you and your family. You are so amazing for staying so strong and positive.

  2. Honey, I’m so sorry. I went through this with my Mom 4 years ago. I wish you didn’t have this pain. I’ll be praying for your family

    • I’d rather have him here, even though he’s sick, than have something happen to him suddenly. At least I can spend as much time with him as I can right now!

  3. Sorry to hear the sad news Suze. It’s great you have such a close relationship with your dad. The picture of you and your dad is so sweet. Your family is in my prayers.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about this. Cherish the time you have together.
    And, as people probably tell you all the time, you look so much like your dad! 🙂

    • You know what’s funny? I’ve never been told I look like my father before. I look almost exactly like my mom did when she was my age, but it’s nice to know I look like him too. I’ll always be able to see him when I look in the mirror 🙂

  5. I’m very sorry to hear about your dad. I hope you never feel like you have to apologize for talking about it on your blog…no need at all! Wishing you more wonderful times together with your father!

  6. I hope you are able to spend as much time as possible in the life he has left. I love my father, too, and can’t imagine going through that. Thinking of you and your family!

  7. I’m so so sorry you have to go through with all of this. I wish the best to you and your family and am glad you’re making the most of your time. I know the feeling to lose a parent, so I know words don’t mean much- but my thoughts and prayers go out to you all.

  8. Pingback: Tweets that mention 2010 outfit review: December | Miss Vinyl Ahoy -- Topsy.com

  9. Oh Suze, I am so sorry… I knew you were going through a lot with your dad, but I didn’t realize that the cancer returned 😦 It’s good to take things one day at a time… unfortunately, I’ve lost too many family members to cancer, including an aunt who was not even 50 yet. We are planners in my family, and what we’ve learned is that you just have to go with the flow, one day at a time, and do what’s right for that day. I’m sending positive, strong thoughts and love your way to help you through this time. And keep taking those pictures – the one you posted above is great! 🙂

  10. Suze–I am so sorry to hear this. I lost my father to cancer in 2004 and I wanted to stop everything and spend every spare minute with him. I taught like a zombie that semester and somehow didn’t quite feel like myself for many months following. My best wishes for your entire family.

    • I’m finding myself beginning the zombie stage :/ It’s not fun and a year ago I never thought I’d be dealing with this, so it’s been very strange!

  11. Oh Suze, I’m so sorry, I can’t imagine how difficult this is for you and your family.
    I hope you get to spend all of this new year with your father.
    lots of love,
    lydia

  12. Now you’ve got me crying again. You and your dad have been on my mind the past few days and I came here to get your email address (via twitter).. I’ll send the rest on email. I admire your courage in talking about it on your blog. Please don’t feel you need to apologise or justify talking about something sad, real, and true: you never know who you will be helping by talking about this.

    You both look like such beautiful, sweet, sunny souls. You and your wonderful dad.

  13. I went through this with my mom in 2008 (she was diagnosed in late September and died December 23rd). It’s still really hard (particularly Christmas- my mom was Martha Stewart Jr.). Giving yourself the gift of spending as much time with him as you can will be the best thing you do for yourself. I know it was for me.

  14. Aww… I’m sorry. I feel really sorry cause like you, I’m a daddy’s girl too. 😦 I’m going to include him in my prayers. I think now, spending quality time with him is the best thing to do.

    You don’t have to say sorry for posting sad stories in your blog… first this is your blog so you can post anything you like and second, we’re your friends and friends support each other in difficult times.

  15. I’m sorry to hear that news, Suze. You and your Dad will be in my thoughts. Never be sorry for your posts. They are always something to look forward to.
    Take care and know there are lots of people out there on your side!

  16. I am so sorry to hear about your dad. I know from a similar experience how hard it can be to keep a happy face when things like that happen. Wishing you all the best and lots of time with your dad! x

  17. Happy Belated Birthday to your dad! So glad you decided to share about it, because, honey, you don’t have to go through this alone! You have been so strong for your family, and your dad has raised beautiful daughters and should be (and I’m sure is) so proud of you. Sending lots of hugs and good thoughts your way! xoxo

    • Thanks 🙂 I know I already shared it with you, Jenni, Lisa and Rach (among a few others I think), but it was time to finally talk about it. I needed to say it because I needed to admit it to myself, and this is my safe little haven, so admitting it here means it’s real.

  18. I think you look just like your dad. You both have a mischievous twinkle in your eyes. Love will get you through.

  19. I’m not sure what to say. I can’t pretend to understand what you ar he are going through. But my thoughts (and prayers) are with you. And I’m sorry. And I hope for the best for you both.

  20. Oh, Suze… I am so, so sorry to hear this. 😦 Cancer is a downright dirty, dirty thing. It touched my life years ago… my grandma was stricken with it, beat it and then it took her from us soon after. It’s not easy to deal with and not easy to understand and is still something I struggle with to this day. I wish there were easy words to give to help such a thing but of course there are none. My thoughts and prayers of peace are with you guys.

  21. Pingback: How I mixed patterns | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

  22. Suze,

    I am so sorry about your dad. My prayers and thoughts are with you, Cher, and the rest of your family. I can imagine what you guys are all going through.

    There is no need to apologize for voicing yourself on your blog. While this is your “escape”, feel free to talk about whatever you need to talk about

  23. I just read this post. Please spend every moment you can with your father. I lost my father in a motorcycle accident in 1992 and regret the times I took for granted. I’m thinking of you and your family. I’ll keep you in my prayers
    {big hug}

  24. I somehow missed this post so I wanted to come back and leave some love here for you. I’m continuing to keep you and your family in my thoughts and prayers and sending endless love your way, Suze!! And just know you’re never alone when times get tough!! xoxo

  25. I’m so sorry about your dad! Spend as much time as you can with him and make great memories. Document them with cameras to share with future generations.

    I’m definitely sending good vibes to your dad and your family.

Comments are closed.