FBFF – New Year & resolutions

1. What’s the one thing you vow to learn or do in 2011 to improve your blog?

For 2011, I want to continue writing thoughtful posts, like the Who’s screwing who? And Is the controversy surrounding Forever 21′s maternity inaccurate?. I feel like those posts were well written, thought-provoking and interesting. I really enjoy writing like that, since I used to write for a newspaper in college and haven’t really had a chance to do much since, this is my way to continue that trend. Maybe less Modcloth based posts though, since that seems to tick off a lot of people…

I’d also like to get back into the DIYs. For a while there I was posting a new one nearly every week.

2. What did you learn about blogging in 2010 that you plan to put into practice next year?
During the past year I’ve learned that connections are what makes the blogging world go round. I started 2010 with maybe 2-3 comments on a post (if any) and had a few bloggers I’d chat with and comment on regularly. Now those ladies are some of my favorite people! We’ve gone so far as to become friends on FB and I was even sent cookies by one of them! (Jenni, I’m talking about you!). I want to continue making friends with those people who take time out of their day to read my blog and comment on it. I want to make sure they know that I appreciate their support in this blogging universe.

3. Do you have any high-level goals for your blog in the coming year?
Monetization? More comments? More connections with other bloggers? A new template?
I’ve been working on a wardrobe rehash/how-to series of posts for a few months now. In 2011, I’d like to finally start posting those chapters and get that series of posts up. I’m also hoping to leave 25-50 comments per week on other blogs.
I also plan to continue working with the partners/sponsors I have right now, and hopefully expand that into working with other companies and designers. I only work with companies/brands/etc that I would spend my own money on (and in most cases, already have!), so I’d like to continue to promote the “little guy.”

4. If you could collaborate with one other blogger within your sphere of influence in 2011, who would you like to collaborate with, and what would you like to collaborate on?
I would love to collaborate with other bloggers on either post swaps or photo shoots. I love when I hang out with Andrea, because I can usually convince her to take my photos, which always turn out amazing. I’d love to collaborate with other bloggers doing clothing swaps (like Louise and I did) or inspiration swaps, etc, etc.

5. What do you plan to do to support other bloggers next year?
I’m going to continue to make my mark, hopefully work with some other bloggers and promote other bloggers. I probably do much more of it on twitter than on my actual blog, but I like to promote other bloggers or posts that I love. It’s a nice, easy way to show how much you care about them, even if they never see it!


If you have any suggestions on things you’d like me to do/not do in the coming year, please feel free to leave a comment below or send me an email. If you would like to collaborate or work together in some way, please comment below or send me an email.

Happy New Year! (Be back later with more recaps!)

10 thoughts on “FBFF – New Year & resolutions

  1. Definitely do more DIY’s I love seeing those kinda posts especially in the current economic climate and I loved the modcloth post which i see they are at it again- house of holland tights sold for $20 on asos and $36 on modcloth. They soo haven’t learnt their lesson xx

  2. Congrats and a very successful 2010 and wishing you just as much in the New Year! I agree with all your comments above. I think they are all great goals and I look forward to be apart of all of them!

    XOXO
    Yours Truly

    PS: Stop on by the Blog and enter in my Giveaway if you’d like! Start of your New Year with a little Glitz! What a Fabulous 2010 you had!
    Was so much fun see so many familiar faces in your Blogger Meet-up Shoot! WOW! Wish I lived closer!

    Wishing you much success in 2011!

    XOXO
    Yours Truly

    PS: Stop by my Blog and enter in my Giveaway if you’d like. Start off your New Year with a little Glitz and Glam! http://bit.ly/h1iUnC

  3. One of my resolutions is to quit comparing myself to other bloggers. This is the most challenging resolution I’m setting. I follow so many style blogs, all of which seem much more professional and well, stylish than mine. The authors have thousands of followers. They are confident and glamorous in their photos. They have sponsors. They write beautifully, and their advice is astute. Your blog is the perfect example! While working on my goals, I’m going to try not to compare myself to other bloggers. I will always be inspired by them, of course. But I’m new, and I have a lot to learn. I’ll reach my goals with time and hard work.

  4. This sounds like such great plans for 2011. I love the idea of doing more clothing swaps with bloggers, I like seeing how one person styles a piece compared to another blogger who may have a completely different style. Good luck in 2011 and have a wonderful new years tonight!

  5. I’d love to see ‘How to’ kind of posts.
    I’d also love to know how you keep all of your beautiful tights from runs..

    • “How to” posts as in something different than DIY posts? I can do that!
      The tights one is pretty simple- I just need to take photos! 🙂

  6. haha, i love it! I really wish I had gotten around to doing this post. I need to get back into the Friend Friday Posts!

    Hopefully sometime this year we will get to meet! Then we can take ridiculous photos full of so much color that people will need sunglasses to look at the posts. hehe.

    • OMG yes. We should start planning now that way it’s sure to happen! Maybe sometime this summer? I bet I can convince either Cher or Joe to do a road trip with me.

Comments are closed.