Irony of ironies (#28)

12.16.2010 28 of 30
(I’m lazy. Only one pic today.)

Top, leggings: Forever 21
Necklace, belt: Modcloth
Dress (as a skirt): Vintage
Shoes: Nine West

So, the hilarious (and ironic) part of yesterday: as I’m watching this post go live, and all the craziness go down, I’m wearing a Modcloth necklace. Yeah, I know. I’m crazy. But, if you read the post, you know that it’s not Modcloth bashing; it’s pointing out relabeling, reselling and suppliers, using Modcloth and Forever 21 as examples. And, to be honest, Modcloth does have a cute store. The offer nice things that the indie girl in us all falls for. And there is nothing wrong with that.

BTW, I’m done responding to comments on the post from yesterday and earlier today. You guys can say whatever you want, but I’m done trying to defend myself against all the “OMG- you hate Modcloth! Bitch!” fangirls (and boys) that keep leaving me rude comments.

Anyway, I just wanted to clarify and thank everyone that chimed in, RTed, tweeted, commented, posted, etc, etc. You’re all amazing and I really appreciate the great reception of the post. (You know, minus those few that name-called and told me “the world doesn’t revolve around you!” It actually does, dammit. I am the sun. What? don’t act like you didn’t know.)

-Suze

PS: Outfit #30 will be posted this weekend, where I will reveal the winner! 🙂

20 thoughts on “Irony of ironies (#28)

  1. You are a vision darling! I hope that you’ve had a lovely day.
    ps: I am very, very proud of you for putting yourself out there with the other day’s post. That’s all I’ll say about that!

    ps: I have some serious hair envy right now. Oh, to be a ginger!

    • Hair dye does wonders 🙂 I am most often complimented for my hair, which I always think is odd, because I prefer my eyes! They’re a really interesting shade of bluish-green.

      And thank you for being proud! I’m actually surprised that only 10% of the comments were negative. I was prepared for more! But it seems like 90% of the people that left comments really understood what it was about, while the other 10% freaked out at the mention of Modcloth, had a panic attack, and couldn’t breathe while reading my post on their iPad in the middle of Starbucks. Then, they needed to pound their cafe latte (skim milk, no sugar) and tell me how “terrible” I am to do this to “poor old Modcloth.”

      Or at least that’s how I picture it 🙂

  2. Sorry if I came off as super bitchy. I assure you I am not a ‘Modcloth’ fan-girl and was not trying to be rude. I am just really blunt and that comes off as rudeness in posts I guess.

    • Understandable. Sometimes it’s hard to tell tone in writing.
      I do appreciate you giving us your opinion as someone who does shop at Modcloth. It’s always very insightful to get different opinions, and yours was different.
      I apologize if anything written angered you or hurt your feelings, because that wasn’t my intention.

      And I didn’t mean YOU specifically as a Modcloth fan-girl, I meant all the people who felt it was their duty to call me names, with the exception of telling me the world doesn’t revolve around me, you did nothing of the sort.

      There is nothing wrong with being blunt. Again, thanks for sticking around and sticking to your guns on the topic! 🙂

        • If you want things that are similar to Modcloth (not always the same, but very similar items and prices) check out http://shopruche.com/, http://www.spottedmoth.com and even http://www.shopplasticland.com/.

          My favorite brand from Modcloth is Tulle clothing, so I tend to frequent their website http://www.tulle4us.com. They have AMAZING sales where you can get dresses,skirts, tops or coats for as little as $5 and they’re great quality. They’re also pretty much the same price there as on Modcloth, I just prefer their customer service people and their sales. The sizing for Tulle clothing can be a little wonky sometimes- things tend to run a teeny bit small.

          If you’re looking for a place that sells the same shoe brands as Modcloth (at least the same brands they sell around $30-40), check out http://www.gojane.com. They have the same brands, sometimes even the same shoes as Modcloth, but a ton more shoes- they have an amazing selection, and have great customer service over there too.

          Another site that carries similar shoes and sometimes apparel is Urban Originals http://www.urbanog.com. I’ve only shopped there once though, because they had a very specific pair of shoes I wanted. No complaints- they have some nice stuff.

          Those are the ones I can think of right now, if I think of any more I’ll let you know! 🙂

  3. Well despite those terrible, no good Modcloth items (ha, joking), you look lovely! I love how the flower necklace mimicks the flowers in the dress, it all goes together just swimmingly!

    As an aside, I will never understand why people feel that they have a right to be so mean and rude just because you assert yourself. I think you handled yourself with such grace–you should be proud, you got a big company to listen to you, and thats no small feat! Congrats!

  4. Sigh, don’t mind those negative people that much… 🙂 There are so much more people who agree with what you did.

    This necklace is pretty. 🙂 It’s a great addition to this outfit. We don’t hate ModCloth… I think you made that clear a LOT of times. I just don’t know why some people keep on insisting that you’re bashing ModCloth. T.T

  5. Though I haven’t had a chance to post a comment to the earlier posts I have been reading and following and I do applaud you for calling that out. One thing I always try to remember is that whenever you try to do something good, the haters come out in numbers! At the end of the day, Modcloth did pay attention and the strength that we fashion bloggers possess in the world has once again been proven.

    Now with that said, I think the skirt is super cute! Keep doing your thing girl!

  6. Pingback: 2010 outfit review: December | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Comments are closed.