Happy birthday dad.

12.11.2010
12.11.2010 25 of 30
12.11.2010
Top, necklace, belt, shoes: Forever 21
Skirt: H&M
Tights: Betsey Johnson
Coat: Vintage, thrifted

These were taken on Saturday night, when the family (minus my sick husband!) went out for my dad’s 67th birthday. (thanks Cher!)

We went to Outback, well, attempted to go to Outback. My mom made call-ahead reservations on Friday, for Saturday night. When we arrived, we were told they had no record of us making the reservations and we’d have to wait about 30 minutes if we wanted a table, otherwise they could seat us at a 6-person booth with a chair at the end. We declined. The staff wasn’t very accommodating, even when I explained that we were seven ADULTS and wouldn’t fit into a booth, and some people in our party are unable to slide into a booth and need chairs.

We left and went to Weber’s in Ann Arbor (the same place Joe and I were married), and it was amazing. Yes, it’s more expensive, but the food was delicious and the waiter, Chad, was much better than anyone we would’ve had at Outback (although I love their salad!).

All in all, it ended up as a good night, no thanks to Outback!

Cher gave my dad a remote controlled helicopter, and he was so excited!
12.11.2010

My father has been very strong, sometimes hiding how bad he really feels. He’s lived an amazing 67 years and I only hope we can have more. I don’t think he’ll ever truly understand what he’s taught me. I’m one of the only women I know who can tell the difference between different screwdrivers and wrenches. I fixed the showerhead in my bathroom by myself, because of what my dad taught me. I may not be able to drive a stick-shift, but I know how to change my own tire, in heels, if need be, because my dad thought it was necessary to teach me.

Happy birthday dad! I love you! 🙂

Suze

PS: This is what happens when you take a photos of a tree with a slow shutter speed, and move the camera really fast.
12.11.2010

18 thoughts on “Happy birthday dad.

  1. That is really sweet. My dad is a handiman too and is also in his 60s (a few years younger than yours. . my dad will be 64 soon only). I guess there is something about how those men were raised in that time period. hehe. Looks like you had a wonderful time with him to celebrate his big day!! That is great that you are so close to him and he taught you so many great things.

  2. That last picture is so super cool.

    I’m glad you guys ended up having a good time. I am sort over over big chains restaurants in general. They just dont measure up!

  3. very kind daddy post. luvin the last ribbon colorful pic. i own leopard tights also, but mine are rainbow leopard & i got them at forever 21 which i so am not.

  4. Dear sister,

    Dad taught me how to drive a stick shift:) I can show you if you really want to know! Thanks for posting the *nice* picture of me and dad instead of the wacky one. He really is one-of-a-kind.

    And Weber’s Inn is so much nicer than Outback Steakhouse. It has a history and a personality. Chain restaurants bore me!

    Love,
    your sister

    • I knew you wouldn’t want me to post the weird photo 🙂 That one is just for the family (it’s on flickr, but only you can see it!)

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Happy birthday dad. | Miss Vinyl Ahoy -- Topsy.com

  6. Awww, you two look so cute! It’s so great you dad has been a big part of your life, and that you whole family can get together to celebrate!

    (and yeah, aren’t those helicopters so much fun??)

  7. Aww… this is a very touching post. 🙂 Again, belated happy birthday to your Dad. 🙂 You’re lucky cause you get to spend lots of time with your Dad and even taught you boys stuffs. I wish him good health and more and more happy years to spend with everyone. ^^

    The Outback service do sucks. :/ Oh well, at least you went to a better place. I love the last photo… I think I’d like to try that with my cam. LoL

  8. Pingback: My 30 for 30, wrapped. | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Comments are closed.