Why didn’t you tell me my bun was crooked?!

12.7.2010 22 of 30
12.7.2010
12.7.2010
12.7.2010
12.7.2010
Top, cardigan: Target
Skirt: Thrifted
Tights: c/o We Love Colors
Shoes: Forever 21
Gloves: Old Navy
Coat: Vintage, thrifted

Oh, that’s right, my camera doesn’t talk. This is what happens when you take your own photos. I’m jealous of all the bloggers with husband/boyfriends/roommates who take their photos. I have to set up my tripod, use my remote and I can’t tell if my bun is even or not. Oh well. Ya’ll get to see my side bun today. It’s kinda 80s, right?!

I realized I posted an outfit with the coat yesterday, but not everyone knows the story behind the coat. Last winter, I headed to a thrift store near my home. I found this coat and a 60s curly wool coat with the original buttons AND mink collar. I bought them both for less than $20. They’re in excellent condition and are really, really warm.
And, just to let everyone know, I don’t purchase NEW fur. But if I find something vintage (like the other coat), with real fur, I’ll buy it. It may sound weird, but that fur collar is the only real fur I own, and that poor mink was gone in the 60s, long before I ever owned the coat.

So, yes, that’s how I justify it!

Suze

25 thoughts on “Why didn’t you tell me my bun was crooked?!

  1. You know what’s another great thing about using a tripod??? Using it in the winter! I just adore the time spent running back and forth to set up shots and check photos in this weather. 🙂 Your coat looks nice and warm though!

    Cute skirt! And are we going to get to see these 1950s duds you picked out for a coworker??

    Katelyn

    • No- I already gave them to her! LOL. I failed on that one…

      Thankfully, I have a remote (even though it’s CORDED!), so I don’t have to run back and forth anymore! 🙂

  2. i actually have the same rationale for real fur.
    i would never image buying something new off the rack today.
    but if the poor creature died before i was born, i think it is our responsibility to take care of the piece and get as much use out of it as possible.

    i wore a vintage fur wrap at my wedding reception and i just felt UBER glamorous!

  3. I’m a pretty strict vegetarian/animal rights wacko and still, I pretty much have the same view of fur as you do. While I don’t personally wear fur at all, I will buy vintage/thrifted leather occasionally. I love the shirt & gloves the most! Also, I’m really curious about those earrings yesterday 😉

  4. You look cute in a crooked bun. I feel you on the solo photography front. I like that skirt bunches. I also, almost got that shirt. I was waiting for it to go on sale, and when it do they didn’t have any smalls or extra smalls left. 😦
    No Guilt Fashion

  5. hehe after my self timer has snapped the first round I always click through the shots grumbling my own instructions “left a bit, chin down, don’t stand like a miner”. I wouldn’t want to get caught talking to myself like that but it makes all my errors easier to remember for round two 🙂

    I like the off centre bun – A little bit of whimsey is always good 🙂

  6. Again, I love the coat. The skirt and the top are pretty keen, too! I feel the same way you do about fur and leather–that mink is long gone!

  7. I always love your love for color! So cute. And I also feel you on the picture thing. Even with a remote it is not easy in 30 degree, windy weather!

  8. love your skirt and that great detailing on your shirt!!
    I set up my tripod, hit the timer, and run into the shot…maybe I should get a remote. Where is yours from?

  9. If I didn’t read the post title, I’d have thot the off-center bun was intentional — it looks cute & quirky! Love it. I also like how the ombre skirt color peeking out of the coat in the first photo looks kinda like a vintage photo.

    Hmm… wonder if I could get a remote for my camera. That’d really help!

  10. Yes, I justify vintage fur too – and I have the opposite problem – when I take my own photos, I check them right away and fix things like bad hair and puckering fabric, or if a pose looks really awkward, but when someone else takes my photo they never say anything!

  11. LoL Don’t worry… Side buns are much better… well at least for me. 😄 The spin pins you sent me before are really useful. ^^ I think it’s the most used accessory I have now. 😄 Thanks for sending those. ^^

    I like this coat. 🙂 I don’t any real fur items though cause I don’t support them. 😦 I understand your reasons though since this is a vintage coat already. I like this outfit cause it looks comfy yet still stylish. I like the skirt as well. ^^

  12. I like the belt in this and where you’ve positioned it. AND, there’s nothing wrong with a bun that’s off to one side…in fact, I like it!

  13. Don’t worry–even when my husband takes my photos he wouldn’t have caught something like a crooked bun. That’s why I still take my own photos most of the time 🙂

  14. The coat is awesome…but what really caught my eye was the blue skirt! Love the pop of color!

    And as for the bun? Girl you rock that bun however you want to! 🙂

Comments are closed.