You are the dancing queen, young and sweet, only seventeen

11.29.2010 17/30
11.29.2010
11.29.2010
11.29.2010
11.29.2010

Jacket: Tucker for Target
Scarf: c/o Lara Miller
Dress: Vintage
Cardigan, boots, tights: Target
Necklace: Lia Sophia
Belt: Charlotte Russe
Leg warmers: Target or Forever 21

This is the first time I’ve worn this dress during the 30 for 30, and I believe it’s the final thing I hadn’t yet worn. Why didn’t it show up until now? It got buried under clean clothes in my closet, so I kinda forgot I was supposed to wear it. Whoops. (Why, yes, the skirt is embroidered.)Ā It was freezing when taking these photos, so you have to imagine what the outfit looks like without my coat.
Normally I wouldn’t pair this dress with a pink cardigan, but I find myself making some very daring color combinations during this 30 for 30 challenge, mostly because I HAVE to. Otherwise everything would be worn with a grey cardigan, and that’s not how I like to do things around here. Miss Vinyl Ahoy is the land of color and craziness (emphasis on the crazy…).

If you didn’t see it yesterday, check out my interview with Katy of Modly Chic. She’s the mastermind behind the Friend Friday, and is such an awesome person. My answers are slightly hilarious (demin panties, anyone?) and I even explain my overuse of the phrase McGyvered.

And, in case you missed this post late last night, I decided to let you guys choose what I should wear as my 30th outfit. You can either use the polyvore editor on the Miss Vinyl Ahoy facebook page, or you can leave a comment on this post. The winning outfit will be worn, photographed, posted AND the person who suggested it will get something cool from me!

– Suze

PS- I was really, really lazy this weekend (and yesterday), so I didn’t really respond to any comments. I’m sorry. I read them all, and I’m getting around to it. It’s just hard to motivate myself after a holiday weekend, and when my kitties are sleeping on me…

Title song: ABBA – Dancing Queen

27 thoughts on “You are the dancing queen, young and sweet, only seventeen

  1. Wow, I am really liking all these layers! Especially the boots and sock combo! You look awesome, Suze! I posted an outfit for you!

    Have a lovely day!

  2. Love this. I think the pink cardigan looks fantastic with that dress. And I definitely was like man i need knit socks like that… then scrolled down to see that they are legwarmers and yelled GENIUS! haha.

  3. Vintage dress with embroidery? Delightful. I love your daring color choices – you’re making me inspired to do the same myself…….. when this 30 for 30 business is complete considering I added next to no color in my mix. Watch out for color overload on my first day off the remix, ha ha. šŸ™‚

  4. You are looking nice and in focus today!
    I have to say the dark green and pale pink combo is a great one!
    It’s good that this challenge really gets you to try out new things and come to realizations that you might not have otherwise.

  5. i love all of the textures in this, in your detail shots – delicate and bold at the same time. that’s so neat – especially in the socks over the tights. love love!

  6. i just have to let you know that you have been rockin’ it lately. seriously, my neutral-colored socks have been rocked off. just thought you should know.

    šŸ™‚

    • LOL! Thanks! I’m working on some how-to posts about color and pattern mixing. Hopefully I can teach others the odd ways of my brain and closet!

  7. Why wouldn’t you wear that dress with that cardigan? That’s what you need to be asking yourself. I think the pink cardigan fools the eye into thinking there is pink in the embroidery. Seriously. I just spent like 3 minutes trying to decide if that really was pink or if the purple and white just looked like pink. It might not have been your normal pairing, but it they look smashing together.

    The Auspicious Life

  8. Pingback: My 30 for 30, wrapped. | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

  9. Pingback: 2010 outfit review: September, October & November | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Comments are closed.