Sweet sixteen

11.28.2010 16 of 30
11/28/2010
IMG_1089
11/28/2010

Top: Kensie
Cardigan: J Crew
Pants: Old Navy
Shoes: Target
Necklace: Anthro via Kendi

You can tell I’m exhausted in photos when I barely smile. This is one of those occasions. I really like this outfit, because it’s just so easy, but I’m exhausted. I spent all day sorting, cleaning and folding.

If these last sixteen days have taught me anything, it’s that I need to sort through what I actually wear and get rid of the stuff I don’t. Owning tons of clothes isn’t necessary if you don’t wear it all. There is nothing wrong with owning lots of clothes, or owning few clothes. It really should just boil down to whether or not you wear it. And I will openly admit that I own things I don’t wear, or have only worn once or twice. Some things, like the dress I wore on Thanksgiving, I adore and can’t explain why I hardly ever wear. Other things just get forgotten, or no longer fit (note to self- that means to get rid of it!).

This is my second 30 for 30 challenge to participate in, and I feel like I’ve learned much more during this challenge than during the previous one. Probably because I was more willing to pay attention this time. Last time I was distracted by barbecues and baseball.

Have you made any revelations so far?

Suze

20 thoughts on “Sweet sixteen

  1. I love this! The flowy top, the bright cardigan, the SHOES which I remember lusting after at Target (they never had my size). Bonus for being an easy outfit for the Monday after Thanksgiving.

  2. Love the hair! I love doing that style when I want my hair up and out of my face, but don’t want to just wear a boring, messy pony or bun. I totally never wear like half my clothes, either because they’re just not my style anymore or don’t fit. I try to go through my clothes a couple of times a year and purge and donate, and I think I’ll be due for a purge after Christmas!

  3. I think this is my favorite of your remixed outfits so far! A perfect mix of bright colors and neutrals, prints and solids, and it looks super comfy!

    Things I’ve realized: there are superfluous pieces in my wardrobe and there are some basic pieces I’m totally missing. I need to start looking for much more functional pieces. Thankfully Christmas is very close!

  4. Love the bold colors, you pull them off so effortlessly! I am trying to break out of my rut and pair more bold colors, thanks for the inspiration!
    besos,lynn

  5. Suze, your hair! Your gorgeous milk-maided hair! I am a little jealous right now.

    Ahem… Blue is awesome on you, as is leopard print. I am so looking forward to the next 30 for 30 challenge so I can join you in these revelations! I have far too much clothing that I do not wear.

  6. First I must say you hair looks totally cute and the flats are fab!

    Even though I’m not participating this time around, I do feel you on owning clothes you don’t wear. I’ve purged my closet twice of things I just don’t wear and found some clothes I completely forgot about. It definitely made me feel like I had a new wardrobe!

    I’ve been following your 30 for 30 challenge and you’re doing an awesome job! 🙂

  7. My revelation, Zuesy-Q, is that this 30 for 30 is going much better for you and you really seem to enjoy it this time around. Last time at this point you wanted to quit. lol 🙂 xo

  8. Love that your toes match your sweater – too cute. I’m 100% with you on the not keeping what you don’t wear – WHY do we do that? I think I do it a lot because if I get rid of it, my closet will feel empty and I will feel like I have nothing to wear. What a LAME thing to think, especially when I am honestly blessed with so much still. I recently got rid of a ton of such items and gave them to a lady at work who never shops for herself – to see her wear these each day and get excited over them has completely helped change my way of thinking. Why let perfectly good pieces go to waste? I’m not wearing them but someone else could be!

    Anyway, blah-blah-blah, great post! 🙂

    • Ha- I didn’t even realize that… errr, I mean I did it on purpose! Yeah… LOL

      I need to update the shop my closet section. I have some really good stuff to put in there, but I’m being lazy and don’t want to take any photos, LOL

  9. Loving the cardi/dress combination.

    I am not taking part myself but following you and some others who are has been inspiring (for one I finally realized that not only can a dress be used as a skirt but as a blouse too. I don’t know why I was aware of the one but not of the other) .

    I completely agree with the wardrobe “size doesn’t matter” sentiment. If you have the space and spare change, why not splurge every once in a while as long as you actually wear them. I’ve got a medium sized selection but eventhough there is not that much to choose from, STILL there are forgotten garments hidden in the far corner. I definitely want to change that.

  10. I LOVE the leopard print mixed in with this. I wouldn’t have thought to do it but it’s fabulous!

    I hope you get some rest! Being exhausted is no fun…

  11. That my friend is an awesome necklace! I love all of the awesome colors you use. Your hair is awesome by the way, can we have a tutorial? Lets see one thing I’ve learned this challenge is what items I tend to go to if I don’t have any ideas on what to wear, it’s also made me realize that I don’t remix my clothes nearly enough!
    Wearing It On My Sleeves

    • Thanks, thanks, sure (just have to film it!- prob this weekend!), and I know exactly what you mean! I think we all have our go-to pieces (I know I do!!) and those always tend to get worn more often.

  12. I have realized I have more clothes than I need, more clothes than I actually wear.
    I also realized:
    30 items is actually a lot.
    Getting dressed is more fun during the remix.
    There are loads of inspiring bloggers out there!

  13. Pingback: 2010 outfit review: September, October & November | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Comments are closed.