Happy Thanksgiving!! (Fourteen…)

11.25.10 14/30
11.25.10
IMG_0984
Dress: Anthropolgie via Buffalo Exchange
Cardigan: Target
Necklace: Charlotte Russe (fake Anthro!)
Belt, shoes: Forever 21
Tights: Won from We Love Colors (rust)

My mom was excited to use my camera, so she took this photo of me. Just me. Apparently no one else wanted to be in the photo, so I pretended I was holding a pie… It’s a normal thing we do in our house!
thanksgiving 2010

We also took some shots of the family and all the kids with our dad.
thanksgiving 2010
My brother, me, dad, Cher

thanksgiving 2010
The whole family! (I’m ducking down. I’m usually taller than a few of these people!)
Mom, Deb/Auntie (John’s mom), John, Ruth (John’s girlfriend), me, Joe, dad and Cher.

thanksgiving 2010
And, in case you saw my tweets, I made my dad a mincemeat pie (he requested it). I’ve never made one before (I don’t think we’ve ever had one). So I found a recipe and made it from scratch. He was SO excited about it. It tasted like fruit and a TON of brandy to me, but he says that’s how it’s supposed to taste. He’ll be eating the leftovers for at least a week.

What am I thankful for? My family for always being there, my friends for everything (whether they’re IRL or online), my cats letting me take hilarious photos of them, Joe for always listening to me whine and Michigan’s weather for not snowing yet.

And for everyone who reads anything I post. I’ve made so many friends the past year (and a half) and I’m always amazed by how many people I seem to meet through blogging, in real life or just online. I have some amazing friends I didn’t know about (or only blog-stalked!) a year ago.

And, just to leave you with a not-so-serious ending, here’s Loafy!
IMG_0903

Loafy is NOT thankful for goldfish crackers… πŸ™‚

-Suze

24 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!! (Fourteen…)

  1. fun day, and i love your outfit.

    I made mince pies last year (I LOVE them!!!), but I bought the mincemeat in a jar. I do want to make my own at some point, but I’m no sure i’ll have time this year. maybe afte christmas!

    • Man- I should’ve asked you about the mince pies! I found a recipe from Alton Brown (it was all fruit) and followed that. He loved it, but I’ve never had one before! I don’t think all the brandy was burned off…

  2. Love your outfit! Beautiful colours. Gorgeous dress and shoes especially πŸ™‚
    Over here we gorge ourselves on mince pies for months before Christmas but I have never had a pumpkin pie in my life. I think I’ll have to try my hand at making one of those from scratch some time.. find out what all the hype is about ;D

    • I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin pies, to be honest πŸ™‚ I just make them when I’m asked to (I have a HUGE mixers, so I often bake things).

      My dad loved his mince pie πŸ™‚

  3. Happy Thanksgiving Suze! ^^ I was kind of late but better late than never. XD

    I’m so thankful that in this big, big world, I get to meet a friend like you. You’ve been so kind not just to me but to everyone else that’s why I’m always here wishing you more blessings! ^^

    I’m so happy that your family’s doing well. πŸ™‚ Your Mom is sooo pretty! You look like her. ^^ Your Dad looks cool too! It’s good to see him smiling like that. πŸ™‚ Good thing your pie was a success! XD

    About your clothes, I’ve always liked this dress and it matches well with the leggings! ^^

    Lastly, happy thanksgiving Loafy! ^^ You’re sooo cute! Uh-oh, you don’t like milk and now you hate goldfish crackers too? I wonder what Loafy likes… she seemed a little picky. XD

  4. Okay that picture of the cat is PRICELESS! I would most definitely blow it up and hang it somewhere!

    I am SUPER impressed that you made a mincemeat pie from scratch. And from your description of it, now I’m curious about what’s actually IN it…

    • it had 2 granny smith apples, dried golden raisins, dried cherries, dried figs, random spices, brandy and some suet (although you COULD use veggie oil, if you want it to be vegetarian!!)

    • If you can afford them, they’re so worth it. I’ve had them since the summertime, and I wear them all the time. They’re super comfy!

  5. I just had to leave a comment and tell you that I am a new reader of your blog. And now slightly obsessed. (In a good way.) Your style and outfits are so inspiring. I’m also from Michigan, so I will be turning to your blog for some winter time inspiration.

    Keep up the great posts!

    • Thanks Brittany! I appreciate you leaving me the comment πŸ™‚ I’m always excited to “meet” my readers, and hopefully I’ll be able to inspire you this winter!

  6. Pingback: Sweet sixteen | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

  7. Pingback: 2010 outfit review: September, October & November | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Comments are closed.