Ten thousand words swarm around my head (and friend friday!)

11.19.2010 10 of 30
11.19.2010 10 for 30
11.19.2010
11.19.2010
Top: H&M
Skirt: Gift
Necklace, shoes: Forever 21
Tights: Won from We Love Colors (rust)
Belt: Modcloth

You guys, this week has been amazing. I was featured twice (Smashion and Statements in Fashion) and my post about why the 30 for 30 is awesome was picked for IFB’s Links à la Mode. Plus, I think I’ve finally gotten the hang of this camera and what time of day to take photos.

It’s been awesome. (And yes, I realize my hair pretty much matched these tights. Whatever.)

Onto friend friday! Our topic this week is blogger copying.

1. What are the ‘unwritten rules’ about coping content that we bloggers should all abide by?
If you want to borrow someone else’s content or photos, ask first. Usually, other bloggers will let you quote them or use their photos with their permission and a link back to their blog.
There is a vast difference between being inspired by something someone else did, and copying it.
Give credit where it’s due (I will say this a lot in this post!)

2. They say imitation is the highest form of flattery. But when it a post imitation and when is it copying?
If you’re copying what someone else wrote and passing it off as your own- copying.
If you’re using an outfit or post as inspiration for your own and crediting it- inspiration.

3. Taking another blogger’s idea (perhaps for an outfit, or DIY tutorial) is pretty common in the blogging world. Do you think it is necessary to credit the original source?
Ha- I’ve actually done this! I pretty much recreated an outfit Kendi wore because I was NOT motivated to get dressed. I didn’t tell her until after I posted it, but I linked to her blog (and post) and said I wore it because she did. I didn’t try to act like I had thought it up on my own. I gave Kendi credit where it was due (as I would expect others to do as well).

Something I’ve run into is sometimes the DIY posts I do are also done by other people (even though I may not know anyone else who has done one). But mine are entirely my photos, my effort and my results. I do them because I want to, and I document the process. So although there may be seventeen other DIY posts about a rope Anthro necklace, mine is all me.

4. How have you improved your blog by comparing it to other bloggers?
Have you made changes due to something you have seen others doing?
I don’t think I’ve made changes, but I also prefer to write content because I want to write it. If I write something based off a comment someone left me, I’ll say that’s why I’m writing the post. I like to give credit where it’s due (like I keep saying, LOL).

That being said, I feel like something the person who’s copying (be it a post, DIY or outfit) is probably doing it because they either like the wording, or they saw how popular the original was, so they’re trying to capture some of the success. It can probably be traced back to the topic last week of self promotion. Although copying/borrowing content isn’t really the best way to promote yourself, it’s a way to get your name out there on a popular topic.

5. Have you ever had one of your posts copied by another blogger or publication? How did you handle the situation?
I’m fairly positive it happened to me twice as a blogger. In the first instance I just left a comment on the post, asking them to please link back to my blog (which they did, no big deal). And the second time I actually didn’t say anything because it wasn’t word for word what I wrote, but it was pretty darn close. I asked Andrea and Katelyn their opinions, I didn’t talk about it on my blog until now.

I’m not going to get into details, because it’s been changed since then, so maybe it was just there as a placeholder. I don’t know. But it doesn’t matter anymore.

Head over to Modly Chic to see what the others are saying and join in the conversation.

-Suze

Song title: The Avette Brothers – Ten Thousand Words

22 thoughts on “Ten thousand words swarm around my head (and friend friday!)

  1. 1. Congrats on all of the features!

    2. I almost bought that extact belt yesterday at a local store here. Samll world!

    3. I have had stuff “borrowed” before – from one person in particular and it drove me batty. Sucks, but I guess such is (blogging) life.

    Have a good weekend, Suze!

    • Thanks!
      I love this belt- it’s my warrior belt. I feel like I can kick ass in it!! 🙂

      I sometimes wonder if people think you’ll ever find what they ‘borrowed.’ Or if they assume it’s theirs to take.

  2. Well, i’m not surprised to read that a fellow FF has similar views on blog copying. I’ve actually termed it blogger etiquette over on my posts. Copying is just not cool unless there’s a link back to the source. That really sums it all up in a nutshell!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Ten thousand words swarm around my head (and friend friday!) | Miss Vinyl Ahoy -- Topsy.com

    • LOL! I’m always one to help out 🙂

      BTW- for some reason I felt like I was channeling you with these tights, but I don’t think you own them!! But in my mind I kept thinking, “wow- I’m so Louise today!” LOL!

  4. oh swooning over those tights–the color is terrific.
    i have to admit i’m intensely curious about your copycat–it’s a compliment even if it’s highly annoying right? if people are copying me, i’m probably too dense/busy to notice!

  5. Congrats congrats and congrats!! So exciting!!

    I literally just bought a pair of tights in this exact same color and can’t wait to wear them. I love how you paired them with this floral shirt! And your hair looks gorgeous and super long – did you do it different today?

    I can’t believe someone would stoop so low to copy your words as their own. I guess that is a compliment to your awesomeness but credit should always be given where it’s due.

    xo

    • I seriously haven’t done anything different to my hair lately! I think it’s still a little damp when I’ve been taking these photos.

      Oh wait- I started using a smoothing creme (because my hair keep getting poofy and frizzy). Maybe that’s it? (I don’t flat iron or blow it dry. My hair is always stick-straight!!)

  6. those tights are FIERCE. i heart that they almost match your hair and that you’re wearing oxfords and the belt and the pearls and the pattern. okay, so i just think this is awesome.

  7. I really like you styled this outfit! I love you a bright pair of tights. I’m glad things with the copying word for word of what you wrote on your blog has been resolved. Aaaand it was great seeing you yesterday!

  8. Pingback: 2010 outfit review: September, October & November | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Comments are closed.