Friend Friday: Self promotion

In this crazy world of blogging, we’re always self promoting. Through comments, features, links and other ways, we’re trying to get everyone to read our blog and learn about our brand. But sometimes people can go overboard.

This week’s FBFF topic touches on those subjects.

1. How do you promote your blog?
*comment on other blogs
*business cards
*twitter and facebook
*IFB
*through connections with local businesses
*links and features

Honestly, most of my promotion is very grassroots. I join different groups (IFB) and challenges (30×30) and have been featured on other blogs and in print. I’m also lucky enough to be on some other bloggers’ blogrolls, which is really, really flattering and an excellent traffic driver.

2. In your experience what has been the most effective form of self promotion?
Honestly, I think just leaving comments. My followers have grown very organically. I try to leave meaningful comments when reading other people’s blogs, and I think that sometimes people click them to see who wrote it (I do this a lot, and it’s how I find new blogs to read.)

3. Do you think there is a wrong way to promote yourself and your blog?
Maybe not a wrong way, but an annoying way. I think that “form” comments are really annoying. I don’t actually get any of these, but I do see them on other blogs. Someone writes “nice shoes” and their blog link, and posts it on so many blogs to promote themselves. I do know how hard it is to comment on each and every blog you read, on every post you want to. So I can (kind of) understand where this idea of “simple” or “form” comments comes from. (Not to say that it’s ok to do though).
I’m so behind on comments (sorry Rach!! I loved your red jacket!!), so I sometimes fall into the trap of “I love this ___ on you. It looks awesome” and I admit it. For me, a “lame” comment like that is meant more for the writer to know that I’m still reading. I usually only leave “lame” comments like that on the blogs I read everyday. Or I tell them on twitter how much I adored their post (like I just did with V).

4. When is comes to others pushing their product what annoys you?
I think when bloggers jump on every bandwagon that comes their way to promote their blog, it can get annoying. But, I can understand being a new blogger and trying to find things that work. We’ve all done it.

5. In Dressful’s post on this topic earlier in the week she said, “It’s impossible to respect someone who wants all the attention, but adds nothing worthwhile to the conversation.” Do you agree?
Yes. Wholeheartedly. I think that we all have something to add to the conversation, but some people are still working on developing their voice.  V said it best, “blogging is a conversation, and a conversation is a verbal exchange between at least two parties. If I’m the only one talking, or you’re the only one talking, it’s not a conversation—it’s a soliloquy. And that, my lovelies, only works in theatre. ”

By the way, check out Grit and Glamour’s post, because she says what everyone else is thinking, and as usual, better than anyone else. (Is there anything this woman can’t do?!).

Suze

17 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Self promotion

  1. Your choice of picture to go with this made me smile. Those bunnies used too be (still are?) huge around here. I love getting and giving genuine comments, but I know exactly what you meant about being so far behind on commenting on the blogs you read all the time.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Friend Friday: Self promotion | Miss Vinyl Ahoy -- Topsy.com

  3. Yes, I totally understand on being behind on comments. However, if that blogger knows you’re a regular and if you’ve left great comments on their blogs before, they would totally understand. I read a lot of blogs everyday (like yours! 🙂 ) and I sometimes don’t comment because I don’t want to leave the same generic comment or you are really pressed for time. Totally understandable.

    I think a lot of the newbie bloggers make up the spammer population so posts like these for FBFF should open their eyes a lot more!

  4. Ha! It is too funny you mention this because it has been on my mind all week. A question I’ve been dying to know the answer to: Do you e-mail sponsors or do they come to you?

    Thanks!

  5. OMG…you are sooooooooooooooooo sweet! I’m beyond flattered. Thank you, Suze. And I agree that meaningful comments are one of the best ways to promote you AND your blog. Actually, quite a lot of a person’s personality is revealed in their comments. People seem to discount this opportunity by taking shortcuts.

    Oh, and there’s a whole lot I can’t do! Like math! And making coffee! And singing!

    ♥ V
    http://www.gritandglamour.com
    twitter: @gritandglamour

  6. You know, I’ve read enough of the Friend Fridays responses now that I’m wondering if next week it ought to address “the art of commenting.”

  7. Nothing makes me happier than a meaningful comment. I do always try to leave them. And I do try (and sometimes fail) to get back to everyone.
    But sometimes I feel a bit slighted by people who consistently leave me comments like, “nice look. FOLLOW ME!!!!!!!” and I go to their blogs and read their posts and leave thoughtful remarks and then get, “nice photos. FOLLOW ME!!!”

    At the end of the day it’s not about number of comments, number of followers, number of page views — it’s about the relationships.

  8. Pingback: Self-Promotion 101 : It’s Not About You | Independent Fashion Bloggers

  9. Hi, I have recently started blogging myself and only joined the IFB last week. Ifb has been really great helping me find other blogs and bloggers that are also learning and others that are established that help with tips like this post. Thanks a mil, I cant wait intil Im in a place where I can help others!
    ps if you have time I would love for you tocheck mine out and let me know what you think..

  10. Pingback: Ten thousand words swarm around my head (and friend friday!) | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Comments are closed.