First of thirty (new camera!)

IMG_0155
IMG_0163
IMG_0173
IMG_0166
Top/necklace: H&M
Pants: Kenneth Cole Reaction
Shoes: Steve Madden
Earrings: Ann Taylor

These are the shoes I bought with Andrea after the Tim Gunn fashion show. They’re taking place of the hot pink cardigan. I am weak, I know. But they’re AMAZING!

Yeah, I admit it, this is a pretty weak first outfit. But I gotta start somewhere, and between work, staying with my dad, helping my mom and trying to spend time with my husband, something had to give and today it’s my outfit. Tomorrow will be better, I promise. Much more color.

Oh, and I got a new camera. Say hello to my new baby- the Canon Rebel! It’s an early xmas gift from my family (AKA- my ONLY xmas gift). We found a great deal for it, and because it’s so useful to me, I get it a month early. My mom’s going to wrap the boxes for me open that morning. πŸ™‚ I’m still trying to figure out how to use all the buttons and how to get it to focus on ME, not the trees behind me…

I’m also looking to get a remote that I can use that will focus before taking the photo. Lisa sent me a link to the one she uses. Any otherΒ recommendations?

Suze

PS- I post my photos the day after I wear the outfit, so I will always be a day or so behind πŸ™‚

40 thoughts on “First of thirty (new camera!)

  1. that’s a really pretty top πŸ™‚ and i love your hair color. i wanna be a redhead too! haha πŸ™‚
    here’s to the rest of your remix!

  2. Yay! What a fabulous early Christmas giftie πŸ˜€ Get great use out of it! (we can learn to use them together…I’ve had mine ages and STILL don’t know how to use all the functions).

  3. woohoo new camera! I will forgive you that its a canon! =) (I’m a Nikon girl…) Is this your first DSLR? My mom actually has a rebel which I use sometimes… don’t tell the Nikon people… so I might be able to help if you have any questions… though I have faith with a little fiddling around you’ll figure it all out in time! That’s basically what I did… aside from that pesky studio art (read: photography) minor.

  4. if you need help with your camera, email me and I can help you learn how to use it. In order to get the focus on you- you will need to choose your focus point. There is a little wheel at the top right with a little button next to it that shows you the focus points. Select a roundabout area of where you want to focus and select that. Also, get a wireless remote- that will help you a TON!

    • Oooh- thanks! I got it to focus on the tree or something, but when I stepped into the shot, it was still focused on the tree. 😦

  5. Ooh, I love that top! Also, your waist is gone! As in, it looks really tiny, not that you are bloated. I’m leaving now.

    You look great!!!

  6. 1. I loveeeeeeee the new shoes.
    2. I actually thought/think this is a really strong outfit. Yes, it’s a bit on the “quiet” side of Suze, but it is flattering, pretty and still very YOU. I love it.

  7. It’s not a weak outfit – it’s cute! A little more plain sure, but not weak. I wish I had known about this 30 day challenge earlier or I might have participated too – I probably wear the same 3o pieces over and over again anyway most of the time lol

  8. I don’t think this is weak at all! I think it looks great on you – it looks so effortless, I love that. And the shoes? Wanttttt. πŸ™‚

  9. That is not a weak outfit at all! I totally love the pants (besides the fact those are my favorite type of pants to wear!) πŸ™‚

  10. A good way to have it focus on a certain area with a timer is use a prop, use a toy where you are going to stand, manually focus on the toy, then adjust to your height, put the timer on, throw the toy out of view and strike a pose. It sounds complicated but a lot of people do that, like Rebecca from clothes horse. If you use auto focus it will focus right when you press the button, not when it takes the photo. And then you won’t have any remote pictures!

    And thanks for the congrats!!!

    Lauren
    Sparrow & Urchin

      • I found it’s better, I personally don’t like remotes, and you should first learn your camera before adding more gadgets πŸ™‚ If you have any questions feel free to ask, I’m around the corner in Royal Oak, haha!

        • I know! You’re so close πŸ™‚ Katelyn and I are trying to get all the Michigan bloggers together, so I’ll let you know when/if we actually plan something!

  11. Love the outfit! Yay on the new camera–I got my first DSLR for my bday and I still don’t know how to use it yet. I use the timer to take my own pics, but might try a remote someday…

  12. What a great shirt. And those shoes?! Love them!
    Congrats on the new camera – can’t wait to see how the pictures come out with the remote. My pictures stunk today with our rinky-dink point and shoot. My fella says if more people visit my blog and we make it stick we might be able to get a real camera one day. Ah a girl can dream!

    The Auspicious Life

  13. Wow new camera! ^^ And new shoes as well! I love the shoes… although I’m not sure how many times I’d probably stumble if I’d be wearing those. πŸ˜„

    This outfit looks simple but pretty. I love the necklace you wore! ❀

Comments are closed.