The cider mill and cemetery

126_6854
Emily and I went to Forest Lawn cemetery in Dexter, our old hometown, to visit her grandma today. We wondered around, looking for Judge Dexter’s headstone, finally finding it on the other end of the cemetery.
126_6859
126_6861
Emily bought me this skirt from Goodwill a few weekends back. It’s a tad too long for my liking, but I don’t know if I really have the patience to hem it shorter. I almost don’t care.
126_6868
After our excursion in the cemetery, we went to the cider mill, in search of fresh cider. The line was out the door!
126_6876
126_6875
126_6874
126_6871

Although I went to middle school and high school in Dexter, I’d never taken a trip to the cider mill, although I can’t really explain why. I suppose it’s a normal thing for kids to do, but I never did it.

Top: Express
Skirt: Thrifted, by Emily
Shoes: Forever 21
Necklace: Anthro, via Kendi
Cardi: Trade with WWANW
Belt: Off an Express dress
Tights: Target

Photos by Emily!

21 thoughts on “The cider mill and cemetery

  1. I’ve never ventured into a cemetery for an outfit shoot, but it does add some interesting elements to the backdrop.
    Loving that first shot!

    I think the skirt would be adorable shortened, you should do it, you lazy bum!

    And mmmm fresh cider… I might have to go have a glass right now.

    • LOL- I know. I am lazy. But the hem is currently really nice. It’s sewn down and has a ribbon over it! I almost don’t want to ruin it!

      The cemetery was slightly creepy to take pictures in, but we were there at noon, so it’s wasn’t so bad!

  2. I’ve only taken outfit shots in a cemetery once. It was also at noon, which made it seem a lot less macabre than it might have.

    I love the unexpected pop of bright color in your outfit and the pattern mixing you’ve got going on here!

    • I really, really, wanted to take photos in the cemetery, because it’s kinda creepy and it’s almost Halloween. I don’t know if I’d do it again, LOL!

  3. These photos are great. You look lovely, but I think the skirt would be more versatile if it was hemmed. (I say that as I have a few skirts that I, too, and too lazy to fix up – so I don’t fault you at all!)
    I need to get some fresh cider. Did they have apple cider donuts. Those are the best!

  4. When I was in college we took annual canoe trips each fall with my sorority and we always stopped at this cider mill in Dexter. So delicious! Somewhere along the river route, someone had painted graffiti that said “Fat Chicks Rule” under a bridge. For some reason, that sticks out almost as much as the charming cider mill!
    And, I love the white and gray skirt with the pinkish accents.

  5. Love this skirt! The 50’s inspired tartan skirt is my jam! Just got a bunch from my gma. Love the mix with the striped cardi. Looks great on you!

    -Katie

  6. I like the length. I think it works.

    I’ve really liked all the photos shoots lately. But I think this cemetery set is my favorite!

  7. That first pic of you in the cemetery is the best. It looks like you’re slightly floating above the leaves. You have a really mysterious aire about yourself there. Cemeteries are always so peaceful!

  8. Wow, the place looks pretty… not spooky at all like how cemeteries should be. 😄

    I think the skirt looks okay even it’s long.

Comments are closed.