Look at me, I’m Sandra Dee…

126_6717
126_6711
126_6718
126_6714
Top, shoes: Forever 21
Skirt: Anthropologie
Scarf (in hair): Borrowed from mom
Belt: Somewhere online? Ruche? Lulus? Not sure.

Summer lovin’ had me a blast. Summer lovin’ happened so fast.

Oh, sorry. Thought I was in a Grease sing-a-long for a minute there.

Sometimes I hate my life. I hate certain things that happen, I hate that Joe’s car and job suck. I hate that we can’t afford to figure out why his back hurts so much and why it’s hard for him to walk sometimes. I hate that I don’t make enough money on my own to pay all our bills so he wouldn’t need to work such a crappy job and would be able to find one he loves.

I hate that I feel stuck.

Then, I remember that other people have it much worse than I do. Sure, we are slightly poor, but we have a roof over our heads and we’re able to pay our bills and afford luxuries, like cable. We may never be able to afford to have children, but we have each other.

I often have to remind myself that within every dark cloud is a silver lining. Sometimes you just have to search for it. And, just because life sucks now, doesn’t mean it can’t get better. At least we have jobs and have the ability to have a better life. Some people aren’t as lucky.

Suze

PS- I apologize for such a pity-party post, but this weekend hasn’t been what I wanted it to be, so I’m a little down-in-the-dumps.

30 thoughts on “Look at me, I’m Sandra Dee…

  1. Oh, sorry to hear that, I know how you feel! I actually feel exactly the same just now. Economic uncertainty sucks!

    on the plus side, that skirt is lovely!

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚
      I’m usually not so candid about my life, but I figured I needed to express my feelings, because it’s been a crappy few weeks 😦

  2. Okay well first, you look adorable. And now I have that song stuck in my head.

    Second, this is your blog so if you want to host a pity party, you go right ahead! Being broke kind of sucks. A lot. I feel your pain. That’s the reason I shop at the Salvation Army a lot of the time and avoid the Anthro blogs that make me jealous.

    I’m so sorry you had a rough weekend. I hope this week is much happier!

    • Well, today’s already been pretty bad, so who knows. I hope it gets better, but I need to just suck it up and deal with the NOW and go on from there.

      I too go thrifting because it’s cheap and I can’t always afford new stuff (or I go to f21!)

      I did get this skirt on sale (half off) with money my parents gave me for my b-day, so I wasn’t spending my money on it, if that helps πŸ™‚

  3. Awww Suze, sorry to hear that you had a rough few weeks. Sometimes life likes to trip you up, a lot and all in a row. But everything happens for a reason… cliche? Yes indeed but I’ve found it to always be true. Even if the reason is for you to look back at this time and be so grateful for what you’ll have in the future.

    Big hugs! This too shall pass…

    ~Nicole

  4. Big Big Hug Suze!

    Girl I know all too well to feel like “if it isn’t one thing, it’s something else!” These kind of days are only temporary and what helps you is your passion for fashion and your blog. This is your outlet, your own space in the world that is truly yours! πŸ™‚

    I definitely love the full skirt and you brought me back to my 4th grade play of Grease! Go Grease Lightning! LOL

  5. 1. *sqwueeeeeeeeeeeee* This is perfect. I love the super tall Mary Janes with the super demure skirt. Wonderful.

    2. *Pulls up a chair to the pity party.* GURL. Don’t I know it. My husband has been unemployed for 2 years. 2 years. Ugh. And we struggle. And we get cranky. And I feel so terrible and frustrated that I can’t help and he feels terrible and confused as to why he can’t get a job. But we have Dish network, and iPhones. And we had pizza for dinner, so it’s not all bad. And most of all, we have each other, and that’s worth the hard times. But I feel you. Thankful and frustrated all at once.

    • I think the shoes help the skirt not look as long as it really is πŸ™‚

      It’s not as bad as it could be for us, it just seems awful. But like I said, I need to keep reminding myself that we’re in a better situation than a lot of other people our age

  6. I’m sorry things are hard sometimes. I feel the same way quite often (today, in fact!), but it’s good to have that reminder that we’re all really quite lucky. Thanks for the lovely post.

    Also, I freaking LOVE this outfit! The skirt is incredible.

  7. oh girl! sorry to hear it! i know what you mean about feeling stuck. my job is so dead-end, its getting harder and harder for me to get up and walk in with a smile on my face! i hate not having any money, living paycheck to paycheck. here’s hoping things perk up, dear xoxo

  8. 😦 I’m so sorry to hear you’re having a rough time. Everyone gets to throw themselves a pity party now and then…no need to apologize!! On the bright side…your outfit is to die for! I love that skirt. Feel better πŸ™‚
    -Tess

  9. Even if your hardships aren’t as bad as others, it doesn’t make them any better for you. I hope things change soon, and at least you’ve got this mood enhancing outfit to wear, that puts a song in your heart.

  10. I am sorry things are hard at the moment. It is your blog and you should be bale to vent whenever you want. I love that fun skirt and those shoes!

  11. Keep your chin up, hon! I think it’s great you can see the silver lining, even though sometimes it might seem that the silver is looking a bit tarnished. Here’s to hoping things take a turn for the best–you deserve it!

  12. Gosh…I thought I was reading my life story for a bit. It does get better. My husband just got a new job that he loves after 3 years of searching. Now if only we could afford to get his back problem fixed too. I don’t mind the pity party post one bit. You keep on remembering the small things, and the big things will come.

    On a side note after your tweet about this outfit I listened to the Grease soundtrack on my car trip to the studio.

  13. LOVE LOVE LOVE your skirt!! i have been searching for a cute knee length skirt forever! it looks great on you!! xo

    http://www.ivoryinklings.com

    also loving your halloween series (i have a serious weakness for costumes and since i am no longer in college halloween is going to be extravagant!!)

  14. “…but we have each other.” Sweet. ❀

    Before anything else, I love the ensemble. It looks simple yet stunning. ^^

    I also complain a lot about my life but then at times I just get tired complaining and just think that there are other people out there who have worst problems yet they're still being happy. Nothing's perfect. Maybe we just have to work some more to achieve our goals and be contented of what we have as of the moment. πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.