Black and white and red all over

126_6480
Dress: Shabby Apple, won from Blonde Bedhead
Tights: Betsey Johnson
Flats: Target
Belt: Modcloth

I dressed like a newspaper. I only had on the black and white dress before adding the lipstick and belt. I feel like this belt is my go-to when I have no idea which one to wear, but know I need one.

And I just wanted to take a minute and thank everyone who responded to the formspring post. I really appreciate it. I know I’m not the only person to receive negative comments, nor will it be the last one I ever get.  I am often annoyed with the anonymity of the internet, because it gives anyone with a computer and a little internet knowledge the license to be rude, which isn’t right.

126_6485

Just know this: if you ever dislike what I’m wearing, think I need a reality check or want to tell me I need to fix my roots, please do so. Send me an email or leave me a comment. I’m not against constructive criticism, but remember that sometimes the way you word things can make a world of difference. And, if you’re going to be rude, at least have the guts to sign your name to it.

126_6487

I view this blog as a work in progress. If you look at my earliest posts, at the photos, they’re henious! I’m the first one to admit it. But, being the only person who works on this blog, I have to figure it out myself. My husband doesn’t like photography. He doesn’t take my photos. Sometimes I can convince my friends to take photos, but none of them are photographers either.

I appreciate you all sticking with me as I learn my way around a camera and how to dress fashionably (haha).

Love, Suze

PS- oh look, my roots. Zomg.

39 thoughts on “Black and white and red all over

  1. HAHA! Yep your roots are showing again because the first thing I noticed is your hair. I love the way you styled it today. ^^ When I was preparing for work a while ago, I saw my hair too and remembered that I have to dye it again. XD

    The dress looks pretty. I remembered your previous post where you wore this dress. Those pics you took there looks really great. I think you had the red lipstick there too. ^^

  2. That dress looks great on you.

    Taking your own photos is tough, but I think that you do a good job of it. Don’t let one anonymous meanie get you down.

    • Thanks!

      I’m working on it, but sometimes it’s can be frustrating to take my own photos (as I’m sure it is for others), because I have to go over and check things before taking more. It takes longer, and I’m a rush-rush person.

  3. The red lipstick suits you Suze! 🙂

    I know I have a hard time dealing with mean people and their snarky comments. We are all growing as you said and its very easy for people to be mean when they have the computer screen to protect them!

    • It’s like Jessica @ What I Wore said- you wouldn’t say this crap to someone’s face, so why are you bold enough to say in online? It’s because you’re “protected” so you can’t be figured out as the person who said it.

    • Ya know, to be honest, I’m not the biggest fan of white tights either, but for some reason the texture on these are really fun. Plus, I really can’t wait to layer them in the winter. I think they’d look awesome with bright blue underneath!

  4. I’m wanting to reference your blog in my Thursday post on Halloween costumes. I first want your permission and to be certain that I understand correctly that you will be doing a series of Halloween posts. I think it’s a great idea.

  5. I love all your halloween costumes…might just have to use one for inspiration.
    love how the red belt ads such a pop of color to that great dress.

  6. Doesn’t that person know redheadedness is hard to keep up!!! And you are right, I would rather someone tell me the truth about some things (in a nicer way) than give random generic remarks about my ‘cute’ dress blah blah blah…It can get boring, we are all adults we can handle constructive criticism…JESUS! Love this outfit btw…

    • LOL!! Exactly. It’s always nice to receive nice comments, but if someone really wants to tell me off, they should feel free, but at least sign your name to it. Don’t hide behind your computer. Just tell me.

      Oh, and hilariously, the photos I JUST took you can’t see my roots at all. Go figure!

  7. I think you look fabulous today!! I love the red touches here…and your hair is so cute!!!
    Hope you had a great day…..it was kinda dreary after work when I was taking my outfit pics, lol…I thought of you taking yours:)
    As far as the negative comments……take it with a grain of salt, and move on. You cant please everyone all of the time…this blog is YOURS:)

    • Thanks! I was having a bad-bang day and for some reason thought the braid was easier than pinning the hair back.

      Thankfully it didn’t rain until after I took the photos!

  8. Dear Suze,

    That third picture? You are a MODEL. FOR REALZ!

    Also I think B&W&R is a classic combo and is a “rarely-goes-wrong” choice that still looks super cute and trendy! I’m in the market for red shoes (1 inch or less) for this very reason. AKA- Mondays. When I don’t want to try but want to look this awesome!!! (Or close to it.)

    Love, Twin Kelly

  9. Or a penguin rolling down a hill! 🙂

    Also, I second all of the above. Who cares what ‘anonymous’ thinks.. we’re all REAL people who live REAL lives. You’re beautiful inside and out. (I guess I should have left that on the other post, but the sentiment still stands!)

    And I love the braid.

    xo

  10. I love black, white and red outfits (wearing one today, haha!), and that dress is super cute. I think if you got it shortened a little, it would really lengthen your legs. Just a friendly suggestion!

  11. I read that post and forgot to comment because I was in a rush so I’ll say it now. People are haters. I learned that after being “Slaves to Fashion: best dressed reader” people say stupid stuff because they are jealous that you have the self confidence to do something they never would, have a style blog. Everyone’s style is there own which is why its “personal style”. You dealt with it much more maturely than I ever would have. hehe.

    On to the more important stuff. I love this dress on you! I’m jealous that is cool enough for tights in Michigan while we are getting the reiminents of a tropical storm!

    oh well.

  12. Lovely dress! The combination of black and white and a pop of red is truly striking. You look great. 🙂

    Not take away anything from the dress, wearing heels would’ve upped this further? Just a thought.

  13. Pingback: 2010 outfit review: September, October & November | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Comments are closed.