DIY Halloween: Alice in Wonderland

(If you didn’t see it, here’s the backstory to this series)
Costume two was also another easy one, costing me zero dollars.

I used Disney’s Alice in Wonderland as my inspiration, wearing the ubiquitous Rodarte for Target dress, the same shoes and tights as the Morton Salt Girl costume.

126_6396
126_6399
126_6397

Alice in Wonderland is a great costume, because it’s very recognizable, without being over-the-top.

You will need:
Blue dress
White tights
Black shoes, preferably mary janes
Black headband or ribbon

Optional:
Stuffed cat or white rabbit (depending if you want Dinah or the White Rabbit)
Oversized mug/bottle
White apron

If you want to wear a white apron, but don’t have one, try using a white pillow case, pinned over a thick ribbon and tied around your waist (I would’ve demonstrated, but I don’t own any white sheets. Go figure.)

My look:
Dress: Rodarte for Target
Tights: Betsey Johnson
Flats: Charlotte Russe
Headband: Black ribbon
Stuffed cat: Gift in middle school, stand-in for Dinah

There is a lot of interpretation you can do with this look. If you prefer to dress as Alice from the Syfy mini series, trade the white tights for maroon/red/orange tights, the black mary janes for brown ankle boots and wear a long purple jacket over the dress.

alicesyfy

Next week, Ke$ha and Twiggy…

-Suze

15 thoughts on “DIY Halloween: Alice in Wonderland

  1. p.s. My comment about being okay to be nerdy was directed to the SciFi/SyFy channel, not you. I just realized that it sounds oddly passive aggressive. I just found it hilarious when they changed their spelling. 🙂

  2. New reader here…at the suggestion of Style Underdog. This DIY Halloween series looks like it will be wonderful. I like your Morton Salt Girl as well!

    • Hi Terri!
      I love Style Underdog! She’s awesome!
      I’m really excited for this series. I’m stretching it out over the next few weeks, with varying degrees of difficulty, DIY projects and costumes. These are two of the easiest. Lady Gaga is by far the hardest (but still really cheap!)

Comments are closed.