Friend Friday- dos and don’ts

1. What do you think are some of the top fashion don’ts?
I dislike: leggings as pants (they’re ok under a tunic or dress the goes BELOW your butt), shorts so short you can see the bottom of the pocket (cut OFF the pockets if you want teeny tiny shorts), ill-fitting strapless dress (shows you have no boobs) and Crocs anywhere other than the pool, gardening or the rare occasion that your feet are swollen. Even then, buy the cute ones, not the clog kind.

2. What previous fashion don’t do you now wear with pride?
Leggings, under a tunic or dress of course. I hate it when people wear leggings with cropped shirts- it just looks sloppy.  But, I got over my dislike of leggings in general and now own a few pairs, and let me tell you- they are WARM in the winter!

3. Do you think there is a universal fashion do?
I think something that a lot of people shy away from is socks with whatever shoes you’re wearing or knee-high or thigh-high socks. Many fashion bloggers rock the look, but I rarely see anyone outside of our world wearing them, and I think given the right cut and color, they can be a flattering trend for anyone.

4. What items lately, either recently in style or coming in now, do you think should never make it off the retail shelves?
Winkers pants.For about $200 you can send them YOUR pants, they’ll paint on some “cheeky” design, and send them back. Then, when you walk, your ass winks at the people behind you (who aren’t already laughing).

5. In your opinion, is there any blogger, fashion icon, celebrity who some how manages to pull off some fashion don’ts and still look good?
I think there are many celebs who wear whatever they want and look good, Lady Gaga (ok, maybe not GOOD, but she’s always herself) and Sarah Jessica Parker to name a few.

Maybe I’m just spoiled by being a part of the blogging world, but I (usually) feel like you can wear whatever you want if you have the confidence to rock the look. Confidence can make or break your outfit.

Be sure to check out ModlyChic for everyone else’s answers!

Suze


Find Miss Vinyl Ahoy on Bloglovin’TwitterFacebookRSS
Ask a question on Formspring
19 thoughts on “Friend Friday- dos and don’ts

    • HAHAHA!!

      I first saw them on TruTV’s “world’s dumbest inventions” and nearly DIED when they came on the screen. You want your butt to WINK at someone?!

  1. Winkers pants????! I’m almost died when I read that! I don’t want my butt to have all of that attention! Sorry! LOL

    I’m with you on the ill fitting strapless dresses. I think ill-fitting anything is just a fashion don’t all the way around!

    • Hehehe… They’re REAL. That’s what amazed me. They think people WANT them…

      I hate strapless dresses that don’t fit. That’s not to say someone with a flat chest can’t wear them- they just need it to fit properly.

  2. LOL, i totally agree especially with crock thing. my kids love them but I don’t think anyone older than 15 (?) should wear crocks in public.
    I am really wanting to try socks and sandals look. I have new brown leather sandals from DSW (you may have seen them in my “birthday purchases” post) and even bought tan colored socks. So we’ll see if I am brave enough. If I wear the look out I’ll do a post. It’s like you said confidence can make it or brake it!
    thanks for your post!
    xx
    maya

  3. I can’t believe those winker pants are real and someone paid 200 bucks for them. There are cheaper ways to look ridiculous. I agree with you on the strapless:boobless mix too. Not good to look at.

    • I don’t mind short-shorts at all, but pockets that stick out just look sloppy!!

      And you’re welcome 🙂 It was fun to have everyone chatting like that!!

  4. LOL! These winkers pants are ridiculous. Srsly! Where did you even find those and who in there right mind would pay $200 for that? I mean most people are trying to minimize their back side, not post a LOOK HERE sign there. Wow, just wow. – Katy

  5. I agree about all of your don’ts whole heartedly! I am dying to try knee socks, I see them all over the blogosphere and I’m really considering going for it.

  6. I dunno where those blinkers started or who invented them but I’m 101% certain that I won’t be caught wearing a pair. T.T

    I always see people wear leggings as pants over here… another big no-no. T.T And your example (Paris Hilton’s shiny leggings) is the worst I’ve ever seen. I haven’t seen those shorts yet. I’d probably laugh right then and there if I’d see one. XD

    I hate Crocs too. T.T

  7. Pingback: Friend Friday: Showcasing the Negative | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Comments are closed.