Friend Friday: Fashion Week

For Friend Friday this week, the lovely ModlyChic sent us questions about fashion week, but with a twist. Instead of talking about individual shows, we’re talking big picture.

1. Do you pay attention to the shows during fashion week? Which designers collections are you looking forward to seeing?
Sadly, no. The only info I get about fashion week is whatever I see on blogs, twitter or news coverage. I’m a little too busy with my day job (which isn’t in fashion) to be able to enjoy the coverage. That being said, I’m really excited to see Zac Posen, Diane Von Furstenberg, Preen and all the Project Runway kids.

2. Where are you getting your Fashion Week news from?
Twitter, blogs, CNN, whatever is covering it that I can read.

3. Over the years the runway has become more than just models displaying the creations of a designer. They are now spectacles. Do you think that adds or detracts from the fashion?
I think it really depends. If it adds to the overage esthetic and feel of the show, it can add a whole new level of excitement. If it’s merely there as a tool of “oh look at us” then it’s too much.

4. Twice a year, as models begin to strut the catwalk we see articles about model size and body image. Do you think the super thin models are offering an unattainable goal to the public or are we immune to their looks?

I think body image and model size are something that needs to be a constant discussion, not just around fashion week. Everyone is different sizes, and for whatever reason, models are usually very tall and thin.
I feel like the general population of women isn’t represented in the modeling industry. But, I can also understand a designer’s preference for dressing skinny women who are essentially “hangers” for the clothing. Their lack of curves makes the outfit stand out. That’s not to say that a women WITH curves couldn’t do the same thing.
In fact, I think if more designers started attempting to make clothing for “regular sized” women, they may find the beauty in dressing those curves, or making something beautiful for someone shorter.

5. If you could sit front row at any show what would you want to see? And which celebrity would you want to be sitting next to?
I would love to sit front row at a Marchesa show. And I would love to sit next to Brad Goreski (Rachel Zoe’s awesome fashion director). I think he’d be an awesome person to be able to sit next to, because he has such a definitive style of his own, it would be inspiring.

(source)

Be sure to check out ModlyChic for everyone else’s responses!

11 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Fashion Week

  1. Great post. I agree with your comments wholeheartedly about size. All women should be represented in Fashion week and just plain in general, thin or curvy it shouldn’t matter. Also, if a designer singles out curvy women when considering design you single out a lot of the population.

    • Exactly! And, sometimes when a designer updates a look to a larger size, they pretty much just add fabric, not taking into account that sometimes someone who wears a size 12 doesn’t want to wear a mumu.

    • I’ll try to show you how that’s not true, necessarily, in my response – about leaving out some of the population. But first I’d like to say, so what? Clothes for skinny girls single some out, and some designers catering to curves and singling some out would just be more of the same, but for different people. Like there are tall stores, plus stores, and maybe even petite stores. No biggie at all.

      I do plan on designing clothing beyond sketches someday (so far I am in the beginnings and still have some things to learn, sewing-wise) and depending on how far I get with it, it would be evident my “curvy” clothes would actually be for everyone.

      Since I would emphasize big hips a lot, I would bring in the waist of bigger women and give the appearance of curves to the straight and thin, which a lot of them DO want. Some don’t, and they may or may not like other pieces I’d offer.

      Anyway, just sayin’.

  2. ~ * ♥ * ~

    You are so right about dressing curves Suze. Seriously, when clothes where designed for actual women’s bodies, and not just for clothes hangers {ie, models} there was a different style to be sure, but I am also sure that it is just as beautiful {if not more} and just as fun to design. Hello ~ why can’t couture see that??? >x< *is annoyed*

    I do not get FW either, with no tv ~ I am living it vicariously throught blogs. ^__^

    xox,
    bonita of Depict This!

    Posted about ~ Nail Art, Plum Blossoms & bonita answers
    ~ * ♥ * ~

  3. Oh yes, shorties are always ignored, haha. If I had to pay someone every time I need to shorten a hem or some straps, I’d be broke! And the petite offerings are usually sparse and still don’t seem to work out. Someone three inches taller than me is still considered petite, so I don’t know how I’m meant to wear anything off the rack.

    But fashion week. I have to confess, I’ve never followed it with any amount of dedication, and I don’t know why. I love fashion, I even live close to NYC; there is just this huge disconnect with me.

  4. I agree about real women’s sizes, totally! I appreciate the Dove Real Beauty campaign for that reason (minus the nudity).
    Your comment about Brad makes me giggle because Jane at Sea of Shoes actually did meet him in person and “oops!” didn’t recognize him. Poor thing! I would’ve been so embarassed, too. But, I know how mind-jogging it is to meet people in person that you’ve only seen on TV. I probably would’ve innocently asked him if he was in the industry, too. 🙂

Comments are closed.