DIY poof-ball earrings

My dearest EvaNadine dared me to DIY these earrings. So, I of course had to do it.
82298527-02

You will need:
124_5970
– Tulle (I used blue, pink and yellow)
– Thread
– Earring hooks
– Chain
– Needles
– Scissors
(I do not know why there is a spool of ribbon in the photo. Just ignore it, I didn’t use it.)

I went to Joann fabrics and bought 1/16 of blue and pink tulle, and had some yellow at home. The blue and yellow cost me about $0.09. It is also enough to make two pairs.

I started with the tulle, folding it in half and cutting. Then, repeating that twice more so I was left with a rectangle this size:
124_5971

Grab the smaller sides and smush them together, how ever you choose. Fold ’em, roll ’em, whatever. I continued to do that until I had a pretty good mix between my fingers.
124_5976

Take your needle and thread and sew the centers together. Attach the chain by sewing it into the center too (everything will poof out once you’re done. Tie the thread off and trim any outliers of tulle. Attach to the earring hooks.

Repeat with the other side, and try ’em on!
4900088642_08b272082b_o copy
124_5989

Yeah, so I didn’t cut the heart-ish shape into the tulle. That wasn’t what I liked about the others- I liked the poof of the earring. And, these cost less than $0.75 for the pair. Score!

ā™„ Suze

17 thoughts on “DIY poof-ball earrings

  1. well, shoooooooooooooooooooooot — someone peed her name in the snow all over my challenge!
    hehe
    i knew you would whip those up, i just didnt think you would do it so quickly! and yours are way better anyway. šŸ™‚

    • HAHAHA! I figured they be simple, so I just decided to make them last night šŸ™‚ Plus, I was also working on a necklace DIY, so these just went along with the other! šŸ™‚

  2. Wow! Now I get it why you didn’t buy the earrings. What you made is a lot prettier than the original one. ^^ I like how the soft colors blended together! šŸ˜€

  3. Wow, just found your blog via the blog crawlin’ trawl that I random go on and I love the very first post I have read!

    Those earrings are so cool. I adore DIY ~ so I am now going to go read more of your blog to see what else you’ve come up with. ^__^

    xox,
    b. of Depict This!

    P.S ~ I am so going to follow you. >w<

    • Thanks! I have lots of other DIY posts (I am attempting to do one a week!). And, I’m now checking out your blog! šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.