Friend Friday: Size

This week we’re talking about size!

1. Should someone’s size stop them from fashion blogging or having a voice in the community?
No. Wouldn’t that be the same as telling someone of color they can’t have a blog? So what if someone is bigger/smaller than I am? I follow maybe two bloggers that are nearly the same size as me. Frankly, I’m sick of all the skinny girls getting the press… 🙂

2. In your opinion, can the term “curvy” and “plus-sized” be used interchangeably when it comes to fashion?
Technically, in the modeling world, I am plus-sized. But in normal-land, I am considered skinny. I’m probably not the best person to make decisions like this, because the label doesn’t affect me. But, you can be curvy and not be plus-sized. Just as how you can be plus-sized and not curvy. (so that would be a NO- because they’re not the same.)

3. Many people make the argument that catering to plus-sized women would promote being overweight as “okay”. What do you think? Should more designers be catering to plus size women?
I don’t think people being plus-sized is promoting overweight being “ok.” Isn’t that the same as saying size 00 models are promoting eating disorders? The average size for w woman in the US is a size 14. That is never represented. I wish designers would WANT to cater to these women. But I think it may be out of fear. It is very easy to design something to fit someone with 30-26-30 measurements, and have it look phenomenal. When you throw T&A and a little bit of bulge in there, a designer won’t know what to do with it.

4. Should the mainstream fashion industry be showcasing more plus size models?
Plus size for them or plus size for the rest of the world? I just wish the fashion industry would stop trying to pretend that these women don’t exist or have an opinion. I’m not plus-sized, or model thin (I’m a size 8) but I feel like runway shows don’t showcase how the clothes would fit on a REAL person. I am a quite curvy size 8- I have boobs, I have a BIG ass. Some skinny little jeans that look awesome on the runway look stupid on me.

5. For you personally, how do you view your size, the struggle with it through the years, your ideal size, etc…
I’ve been the same size, give or take 10 pounds, since I was 16. Up until then, I was short (about 5 feet tall) and weighed 90 pounds… with size 9 feet. I was a mess. Then, I just GREW. I’m thankful that I’ve always been the same size, because it means I’ve known my body for that long and I know what looks stupid and what looks ok. Sure, I’d love to lose a few pounds, but I don’t really care. I like how I look.

If you want to join in on the fun, check out Modly Chic and sign up!

♥ Suze

13 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Size

    • It’s an odd description, but it doesn’t bother me (because I have curves)… Eh. I dunno. I’d rather just be SUSAN instead of “that curvy chick.” LOL

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Friend Friday: Size | Miss Vinyl Ahoy -- Topsy.com

  2. I feel the same way…and you make a good point when you say “Plus size for them or plus size for the rest of the world?” The fashion industry has a very extreme view that does not correlate with reality.

    I think to say a woman is curvy is flattering—it is what distinguishes us from men: the curves. The hourglass. I love the idea of curves. Christina Hendricks…she’s curvy. And gorgeous. But curvy is not = to plus-sized and vice versa, as you also pointed out. They can coexist, but are not the same.

    ♥ V

    http://www.gritandglamour.com

  3. Hear hear on the comments about catering to real women. I find that designers who embrace “fatshion” often forget about all the ladies that fall into the middle of the spectrum between runway skinny and commercially plus-sized. I’d love to see runway designers making more strides to body acceptance – of all types – soon.

    On another note, I was also a wee tiny gal with size nine feet. People used to call me “tweety bird” – alas I never grew into them ;).

  4. You are right about the fashion industry being so out of touch with reality! According to runway fashion, I’m huge (i’m a borderline 14 with boobs and thighs). When I look at plus sized fashion that I see making their way to runway, I’m kinda small. So where do ladies like me fit in? They really need to get it together because at the end of the day, we consumers are the ones who put money in their pockets and keep their names in the headlines!

    • Exactly! And I don’t exactly fit into the mold either. It seems to be either super skinny girls, or very over-the top. Not everyone in the world is built like that, nor do we all want to be!

  5. LoL I agree with everything you said. Being skinny isn’t normal at all. What’s normal is that you have a proper weight depending on your height. I bet my life that those uber skinny, tall models are underweight. That’s unhealthy.

    I didn’t know when this stick-thin trend started but I really wish it would stop. It’s not good at all. It just forces other women to feel inferior about themselves and push them to extreme dieting to the point that they would become anorexic. I hope media will stop influencing people especially the young ones about the wrong idea of being healthy.

  6. I’m naturally thin, size 3 and curvy, with tiny bones. Some people may think I’m too thin, but I don’t diet–that’s just how I am, so there isn’t a lot I can do about it. Some people have big bones, but that doesn’t make them fat. I think whatever size you are naturally is the size you should be. If a bigger person has to starve themselves to be thin, it’s not going to look good. Like when Oprah lost a bunch of weight all those years ago. She looked freaky then, but now she looks great!

  7. couldn’t agree with you more, chica. negative feelings towards a size 20 is no better than negative feelings toward a size 0. when you wrote “T&A” it took me a minute to figure out what that was…lol. all i can say is AMEN, sistah!

  8. Sizes are such a tricky thing because they aren’t consistent across stores, designers, countries… nothing! I try to think less about the number and more about how I feel. My weight goes up and down depending on what’s happening in my life but as long as I’m healthy and feeling good the number ain’t that important.

    I love seeing women of different shapes and colors in the blogosphere because beauty really does come in every shape and size. And as the above comments echo, we’re all real people who just love feeling good in our own skin!

  9. I think the term curvy should never be exchanged for over weight.
    I consider myself curvy because I have an hour glass figure – and if I described myself as such, I wouldn’t want “over weight” to be the image that comes to mind.

    As far as models are concerned — let the designers choose who they want to showcase their designs, it’s their artwork and we should dictate how they display it.

    As far as bloggers, I wish I knew of a few more who were my size, because they are the people I look to for inspiration, and I get jealous of how good cropped pants look on the girls with the 10 mile long legs.

Comments are closed.