DIY rope necklace

We’ve all seen this necklace from Anthropologie:

I even made fun of it back in May!

But, finally, I wrote a DIY for it.

You will need:
124_5849
– decorative rope (I got mine at Joanns)
– pins
– needle and thread (match the thread to your rope)
– jewelry clasps (or snaps, if you’re lazy like me)
– scissors

I cut my rope to be about 2-3 feet. It depends how many coils and twists you want. I wanted plenty!

I measured about 6 inches down the end, to be the start of the first coil. Then, I just twisted, turned and wrapped everything together, pinning as I went until I was left with this (leaving another 6 inches on the other side):
124_5851

It took me a few times to get it to look like something I wanted to wear. Then, I flipped it over, and stitched the areas together where the rope touches, hiding the stitches on the back side of the necklace.

It took about 10 minutes to get everything to hold together.

Because I am lazy, do not own enough jewelry parts, and have no idea how to attach the correct clasp to the rope, I sewed off the ends, and attached snaps. Yes, snaps. You can be lazy like me, or you can do it the correct way and attach clasps.
124_5864

The snaps work for me, no one will see them anyway.

124_5865

Tada! Finished rope necklace. I didn’t add any gold beading like the Anthropologie necklace had, because I rather like the twisted rope look.

If you want to add a little gold, you can try a pin, brooch or a few shiny beads.

ā™„ Suze

PS- the Anthropologie version was about $30. My version cost $4. šŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “DIY rope necklace

    • Thanks! I also made a belt that I’m currently wearing šŸ™‚
      I’m working on the DIY post for that one…

      Can you tell I’m on a DIY kick??

    • I have the PERFECT outfit all picked out. But I have 9 more days of my 30 to get through… unless I change clothes to go on dates with Joe, then I have even LESS DAYS!!!

      Hmmmm….

  1. Fabulous DIY. I love the sound of Anthro’s butt being kicked. For no reason other than I love so much of their stuff and they go and mark it up to astronomical prices (for what it is).

    • Exactly!
      They have some really cute stuff, but most of us can’t afford a $30-40 rope necklace… šŸ™‚

      I have a few more Anthro DIYs in the works!

  2. Wow, this is easy. šŸ™‚ Very pretty too.

    I think if you have beads, you can add them as well in place of the tiny brooch. ^^

  3. i love Anthro, i really really do. but rarely purchase anything from them for just this reasaon. so…IN YOUR FACE ANTHROPOLOGIE!
    Suze, you’re amazing. i can’t tell you how many times i see something and say, ‘hey, i could make that for 1/4 of the price on this tag,’ as i put it back on the shelf. but i never do. kudos to you for actually showing it can be done! cheers!

    • Ha- I have a huge folder of inspiration photos. Just wait until I can snag some back-to-school pieces. I’ve got a few DIYs that have to do with sweaters and turtlenecks (but I have to be able to GET one first!!).

      I think I’m turning into a “don’t buy, DIY” girl.. haha!

  4. This looks so cool, awesome DIY! And a great reminder that huge price tags aren’t all that worthwhile. I like how you wore it with that blue button up, too šŸ™‚

  5. Great D.I.Y, I wanted one and now I can make it! Definitely inspired, could add on my old nautical earrings that I never got round to wearing… beautiful blog

    • Thank you! I ended up using decorative cording, because it’s soft, and it looks very nice!
      It was really easy. Let me know if you make one, I’d love to see photos!

    • Thanks Maya! If your rope/cope is thicker, you could make a belt (I made one of those too, LOL).

      We need to collaborate on a DIY, I think. Maybe send each other some supplies and see what we make! šŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Ten thousand words swarm around my head (and friend friday!) | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Comments are closed.