Friend Friday: Blogger Jealousy

Hello everyone! It’s Friday, which means time for Friend Friday! The topic this week is blogger jealousy, which is something I think we’ve all gone through, at some point.

1. How do you define jealousy?
The worst it gets is that negative feeling when someone has something you want, or if they’re achieving something you want to achieve, but you haven’t made it there yet.
Or, on a more normal, common level, it’s that ping of envy you get when you see someone wearing something or doing something you wish you could do/own, but you can’t afford it (this is more of what I go through).

2. When do you find you experience a bit of blogger jealousy?
When I first started my blog, I found myself jealous of other bloggers who were getting free stuff. It’s been a year now, and I realize they get the free stuff because the blog is either their job, or they’re VERY well known (neither of which describes me! LOL).
I also find myself seeing something someone else owns or is wearing and thinking “oh, I’d love to own that!” even if I can’t afford it or it wouldn’t look good on my body type.
My husband and I are on a very strict budget, so it’s hard to fathom purchasing $100 shoes, even though I enjoy drooling over everyone else’s! 🙂

3. What types of blogs or which bloggers are you a little jealous of?
Oh, good lord. This is a can of worms. Whatever, I’m not ashamed! I’ll spill.

I am totally jealous of Andrea from Blonde Bedhead because her hair is just so fricken’ awesome, plus she has awesome clothes.
I’m also jealous of V from Grit and Glamour because she makes her outfits look so effortless.
And, Beverly, because I want to be that cool all the time. (someday, Suze, someday.)

I also try to not read blogs that are all about really expensive, designer fashions that I’ll never afford. Although, certain ones like Sea of Shoes or The Glamourai serve as more inspirational to me.

4. From the time we’re little, we are taught that jealousy is a bad thing, but it can also inspire us to be better. Have you changed the way you do things, the content of your blog, etc… as a result of what someone else is doing?
I think I’ve learned what I like about those other blogs (V’s sense of style, Andrea’s awesome hair and shoes and Beverly’s ability to look at an outfit and interpret it her own way) and I’ve been trying to figure out how I can translate that to my own blog.
I’ll never have curly hair, so I’ve found a cut I really enjoy (bettie bangs!) and that I think works well with my features. I’ll never own expensive shoes, or designer clothes, but I’ve learned that it doesn’t matter where you get your clothes, it’s how you wear them.
And Beverly’s taught me how to just be myself through my outfits. I am nothing if not myself.

5. What is the best way to overcome jealousy in the blogosphere and in life?
It’s been said time and time again. Be happy with yourself and what you have. I could spend days comparing myself and my closet to every other blogger that’s out there, but I’ll never be any other blogger. I am only myself, and, fortunately (for my husband),  I am the only me.

Whew! Those were some intense questions! If you’d like to get involved, head on over to ModlyChic and sign up!

♥ Suze

16 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Blogger Jealousy

  1. Aw, thank you sweetie! I’m so flattered that you appreciate my style. I have come to love your blog, too. You know why? Because like you said, you’re the only you (and I’m glad you didn’t listen to me…the bangs look superb on you); and you don’t take yourself too seriously. I think that’s why I count you and the ultracool Bev amongst my fave reads. I always laugh, and I appreciate that you don’t bullsh*t.

    ♥ V
    http://www.gritandglamour.com

    • I was concerned about the bangs when you said “NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!” But, I figured if I cut them slowly, it would be ok! 🙂
      You’re one of my favs too! 🙂

  2. A blogger after my own heart! I’m on a budget too and sometimes wish I could rock the ultra lush wardrobe! But then its kinda fun to get something super cool that you didn’t shell out a whole bunch of money on and get complimented! But you’re absolutely right – all you can be is yourself!

    Loved your answers!

    • Thanks! 🙂

      I tried to answer honestly without whining. It’s my own choice to be on a budget (well, kind of). I chose to work in a non-profit and be married to an awesome guy, so we have to get by with a little less!

  3. Are you kidding? I’m jealous of you and all your cool clothes and your sense of style; you’ve got it all! Rock on!

  4. Pangs of jealously are so completely normal – and anyone who says they don’t get jealous is LYING! It all about channeling that jealous energy in a constructive way.

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Friend Friday: Blogger Jealousy | Miss Vinyl Ahoy -- Topsy.com

  6. Love that you had the courage to name specific people and blogs in the third question. And it is so true, we just need to be ourselves in our posts. That’s what ultimately is going to keep driving your blog and hopefully readers.

    • LOL- I figured I might as well keep it real and be honest!
      These ladies really have helped me step up my game. And like Fashion Butter says, it’s totally normal!

  7. whoa, i had the same pic of the cute lil ones up originally. goes to show that i’m riding on ur brainwaves, chica! lol
    i love your blog because of your sincerity. thank you for being you! *big hug*

  8. hehehe
    I used that same picture for Friend Friday. Google Images: JEALOUSY!

    I also try not to read blogs that have really expensive clothes. It’s not that I cannot afford it…I just don’t want to spend that kind of money!

    Bloggers have helped me step outside the box and try something different or modify a style to fit my tastes!

    Chandra

Comments are closed.