Friend Friday: Fitness

This week’s Friend Friday is all about fitness and exercise.

I used to play sports back in school, and even took a hip-hop dance class. Now, my routine isn’t as structured…

1. When you hear the word Fitness what do you think?
I think of someone (male or female) who fit, a healthy weight and comfortable in their own skin.

2. Do you have a workout routine? What’s your favorite way to workout?
I walk A LOT. I play volleyball at least once a week, and attempt to do other activities through the week as well, like tennis, bowling or swimming. Usually I fail and just chase my cats around. They’re hard to catch sometimes!

3. To you, what is the purpose of exercise?
To maintain a healthy mind and body. I don’t think you have to be 100 pounds to be healthy or fit. I know plenty women (myself included!) who are NOT that skinny, but are fit.

4. Do you think it is possible to be feminine and still workout?
Yes, as long as it’s not overdone. I equate femininity with curves. I like being a girl and looking like a girl. I wouldn’t want a six-pack or gross zombie arms like Madonna has/had.

5. What do you think about the people who are workout obsessed?
There is a difference between someone who regularly goes to the gym to maintain and someone who over does it.  I don’t like body-builders, so if you look like that, you’ll gross me out. But muscle definition can be attractive, on a man. I also think we, as a society, are constantly trying to improve ourselves, and being gym obsessed is just part of that.

If you’d like to be part of Friend Friday, head over to ModlyChic and signup!

♥ Suze

9 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Fitness

  1. I agree with everything you said here… not because someone is stick thin means he/she’s healthy. I’m kinda thin (at least my arms were T.T) but I don’t consider myself fit enough because I lack exercise and I think I’m not physically strong as women my age (and height) should be. Even though I look thin, I have baby fats in my tummy as well… T.T I try to sit-ups on some days though for it to disappear. T.T

    And like you, I chase my cats too… XD and yea, they’re hard to catch when they feel like tiring you out. XD

    • Exactly! And just because someone carries a little extra weight doesn’t mean they’re unhealthy. There is a big ‘ol grey area when it comes to fitness, and I think our society (at least here in america) is way too obsessed with people being stick thin. I’m happy with how I look. If I lost weight, it probably wouldn’t be from any area I’d WANT to lose it from, LOL 🙂

      • Yea… I wish we could just let a certain part disappear… like my tummy fats. LoL XD But when I get more skinny, my whole body gets skinny, so in the end, my tummy’s still bigger than normal. T.T

        I think your size right now is okay. That’s how women should look like. I was never a fan of stick girls who look like they haven’t eaten for a decade. It’s also a fad here in Asia, not much in our country though but in neighboring countries like Japan, Korea, Taiwan, etc, you’re out if you’re not a stick. XD Most celebs there (even males) are skinny.

    • LOL- I play every wednesday 🙂
      Just this week I dove for a ball over the edge of the sand onto the grass and just rolled down… Everyone was freaked out, but I was fine! 🙂

  2. I definitely agree. There’s a line between wanting to be healthy and just being obsessed. I like to be healthy because of the lifestyle it allows me to have but I don’t want to live for going to the gym. I always played sports in high school and also love to dance so it’s always been a challenge to get as much exercise as I need now that I sit at a desk all day.

    http://wearingitonmysleeves.blogspot.com

  3. Do you play in a Volleyball league or just with a bunch of friends? My brother-in-law plays all the time and I’m always a little tempted to give it a try. I played in high school and loved it.
    And I totally agree with you – sometimes walking can be a great form of exercise.

    • I play on a rec league that meets every Wednesday. I’ve been playing with them for a little over a year, and it’s really fun! 🙂

      Walking is so easy- anyone can do it. You just need the motivation!

Comments are closed.