Friend Friday: versatile pieces

I’m excited to be joining ModlyChic and the other lovely bloggers who answer these Friend Friday questions each week.

This week, we were asked about versatile pieces in our wardrobes. Many of us are participating in the 30 for 30 challenge (ModlyChic and myself included!), which is what prompted these questions.

1. What’s your most versatile piece of clothing? How do you wear it?
I feel like my most versatile piece is the vintage polka dot necktie blouse I bought last year. I actually included it in my 30, because it’s so easy to wear alone or pair with a dress, skirt, sweater – anything! It was actually in my first official outfit post waaaaay back last November.


2. What one piece should every woman own?

Something that makes you feel like a million bucks. For me, it’s a well-made and well fitting dress. For someone else it might be a pair of pants or a shirt. If it’s well made and looks good on you, that’s all that should matter.

3. What summer trends do you love because of their versatility?
I absolutely love all the ruched shoulder shirts I’ve picked up this summer. I work in an office that’s kept fairly chilly during the summer, so they are perfect to pair with a sleeveless dress and will transition well into the fall and winter.

4. What’s the most creative combination you’ve put together from your closet?
I would have to say the dress I made using some random fabric and a t-shirt. I put it together in about five minutes and was really pleased with the result.
I’m not the best seamstresses, but I made due! I wanted a dress very similar to this for a while, but could never find one. So I did it myself!
Lookit what I made!

5. If you had the guts you’d what items would you pair and then wear out in public?
I would love to be able to mix patterns like Jenni. I’ve done it a few times, but I always stayed on the safe side (floral and stripes, floral and dots, etc). Jenni always does a phenomenal job mixing patterns.

If you’d like to join us for Friend Friday, header over to ModlyChic’s blog and sign up!

♥ Suze

18 thoughts on “Friend Friday: versatile pieces

    • Thanks V! 🙂 I’m trying to ease myself into pattern mixing. I don’t think I’ll ever be totally comfortable, but that’s ok! 🙂

    • Thanks! LOL- I have so many patterns- I love patterns and textures, but I’m trying to get better at mixing them!

  1. Just dropped by as I saw you were new to the whole Friend Friday thing. I know its been said a dozen times already, but I love that shirt. Also, I have a little black just like the one pictured in one of your other posts! Yay for lil’ black cats!

  2. Your mixing patterns really well. I agree that a well fitted dress or jacket, etc. can make all the difference. Well constructed garments are so chic and can make you look chiseled.

  3. =) i love your answers! And thank you for the pattern mixing shout out… i do love to mix patterns and I want to do more of it more often. I was so terrified at first, but Elizabeth from Delightfully Tacky definitely gave me the courage to give it a shot.

Comments are closed.