Bonjour mes amis!

4761402569_fb496bfee1_o
4761404307_4636bd78b5_o
4761399805_7d7d657fcf_o
Shabby Apple Dress
124_5603
Dress: Shabby Apple, won from Andrea
Shoes: Bordello, Sinister Soles
Necklace and earrings: Forever 21
Hat: Vintage
Gloves: Forever 21

I’ve been to Europe once in my life, as a 16-year-old on a school trip of sorts. We had the opportunity to travel around France, with brief stops in Italy and Switzerland. I also spent a little time that summer in Germany (after all the other kids on my trip had left to go home), with a former exchange student’s family.

It was one of the best summers of my life, and I would do it again in a heartbeat. I haven’t had an opportunity (or the money) to go back on a similar trip since.

When Andrea had the Shabby Apple giveaway, I was immediately smitten with this dress. It reminded me of Paris, and of my amazing summer.

Imagine my surprise when I find out that I’m the lucky recipient! I couldn’t wait to style it, and I was taken with trying to emulate that amazing summer, through this dress.

I really wanted to convince Joe to take me to a bistro in Ann Arbor and take photos, but it’s been much too hot for that this weekend, so instead, I opted to take photos in our dining area, with the cats milling around.

I’m also a very big dork. I think I was 17 or 18, and all I wanted for Christmas was the complete works of William Shakespeare (I was an English major, after all). Cher totally came through, and found this beautiful leather-bound copy for me. It was one of the best gifts I ever received. And yes, it lives on my dining room table. A girl’s gotta read while she eats 🙂

♥ Suze

23 thoughts on “Bonjour mes amis!

  1. Cute! I esp love the photo with the cat washing his butt in the background hah. Not that you’re not noticeable, I’m just a cat person so my eye automatically goes there! 😉

  2. It’s the hat. That’s what made this outfit go from great to grand.
    Oh Suze, you are showing me another reason why I wish we were neighbors.

  3. Your new bangs go perfectly with the dress! And I love the classic look you’ve got going on with the hat and pearls as accessories.

  4. I love that dress, and the neat inside photos you’ve been taking lately. It’s a totally different (and really neat) vibe! You look so glam in this outfit.

    And btw, I have the same book. I love my William.

  5. Wow! I envy you a lot… ^^ I’ve always wanted to go to Europe and visit places like Prague, Paris, Rome, etc… 🙂 I wish I (and you as well) can have enough money to go there. LOL 😄

    I love your outfit. You look like a British princess. I think it’s because of the headpiece and the pearls as well. ^^ I love the dress too! It looks perfect on you. 🙂

    It’s nice to see both cats on your pictures today. 🙂 Please give them both a biiig hug from me. ^^

  6. You look absolutely fabulous! The outfit is nostalgic and sweet and full of perfection. Hope you get to take your hubby someday to a Parisian bistro and get all adorably dolled up like that. That would make a killer post.

  7. Love love love this look on you! I love the hat, the dress, the earrings, and your hair! So perfect!
    You look like you could star on an episode of Mad Men!

    • Thanks! I actually feel the exact same way. I love the outfit and can’t wait until it’s not 97 degrees so I can walk around town and not roast!!

  8. Pingback: 2010 outfit review: July & August | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Comments are closed.