July featured blogger: EvaNadine

My featured blogger for July is EvaNadine of Stumble into Style!!

4682012287_85759edb92
I really admire EvaNadine and love her blog because she’s real. She’s a real woman, living a real life and showing us what she wears while doing it. But, rather than have me blather on about her for paragraphs, I’ll let her introduce herself!

1. Describe your blog in three words:
Attempts at fashion

2. What/who are your style inspirations?
I find inspiration from many places, mainly from the other bloggers I read. I also look at my friends and coworkers, and people on the street. Sometimes I am inspired by architecture or food, or even other “non-style related” things. I don’t really read any fashion magazines, but when I do, I sometimes pick up ideas from what I see in there.

Mainly, my style is inspired by everything and everyone around me.

3. What are your three favorite things in your closet?
I have never been the kind of person to tell you my favorite anything — as soon as I’m done making the list, the list has already changed!

In the spirit of playing along, here are three of the items I like the most:

(1) My Orange and White Zebra-Striped Cardi (seen here, here, here and here)
4685475290_26c0413428
I bought this cardi on a whim, and I have absolutely loved having it in my closet. Originally, I had envisioned wearing it with mostly-neutral outfits as a pop of color, but instead, I have found such joy in pairing it with other bright colors. I actually have to put effort into not bringing this puppy out on a more regular basis.

(2) My Green Anne Taylor Loft Dress (seen here and here)
4595578292_172af3581f
True, grass/kelly green is my favorite color, so I was thrilled when I snagged this dress on sale. I love the details of the gathering around the waistline and shoulders. While it has only been featured on the blog twice, I have actually worn this dress several times. I forsee pairing it with some great colors this summer, and I look forward to making it work for fall and winter.

(3) My Gray Vest (seen here, here, here and here)
4557796509_be8fa657bf
This is one of those purchases I never would have considered if I hadn’t discovered this world of fashion blogging, but I am so glad I did! I love that this vest both adds a touch of class and “funks” up an outfit a bit. I also love that it nips me in at just the right part of my waist. It’s such a go-to piece for me.

4. What outfit or piece of clothing would you buy if money was no object?
If I were a good little fashion blogger, I would say something like “Clearly I would buy a pair of Louboutins!” right? I have never been the kind of gal to be turned on by a name brand — instead, I prefer to appreciate the actual look and feel of a particular piece. I have no problem buying a knock-off that will save me several hundred dollars. I have found myself fairly attracted to the L.A.M.B. shoe aesthetic, so maybe a pair of those? These days, I would consider a pair of Steve Madden or Naughty Monkey shoes to be a splurge.

5. What are your top five favorite stores to shop at?
Marshalls/Ross/TJ Maxx: Basics and pleasant surprises
Goodwill: shoes and more pleasant surprises
New York and Company: Skirts and Pants
Laila Rowe: accessories
“Online”: when I am searching for something very specific and also want to compare prices

6. Who is your style icon and why?
Is it crazy to say that I don’t have one?
I have always considered myself to be a rather eclectic person, so it follows that I have a fairly eclectic sense of style. I can find things I like and don’t like in just about any style from preppy to goth to punk to hip hop to glam and beyond… It’s hard to pick a style icon, since I don’t think I have ever seen one person envelope so many styles. I am inspired by those who can truly be chameleons.

7. What has been your favorite blog post to write?
Honestly, I have yet to write my favorite blog post, the one that I can point to and say “There, that’s the best one I’ve written!”
One of the very early posts I wrote really had little to do with style, but it was one of the most fun days I have had in a while:
http://stumbleintostyle.blogspot.com/2010/02/snow-style.html

This winter, we really got slammed with tons of snow. We had just moved into our new place (literally — we were carrying furniture as the snow was coming down on us and the beltway was at a standstill) and we ended up getting out of work for a week. We had nothing to do but unpack, and we started going a little stir-crazy.
I had ordered the fun knit dragon hat from an etsy seller as part of my Halloween costume (the hat came with matching gloves, all of which I wore with a cheap wedding dress — I was Bridezilla) and I was excited to have a chance to wear it as part of “normal wear.” My fiance and I walked to the grocery store a few blocks away, which was closed, and we proceeded to play bumper cars with shopping carts in the parking lot. The only store that WAS open was a beer store, which happened to sell both of our favorite beers (which are a little tougher to find).
All-in-all, it was a really fun day, and I think it is important to share that sort of personality on the blog. Sometimes I think I don’t do a great job of really nailing my true personality on the blog, so it is posts like this one that make me smile.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years?
Married. Probably with a kid or two.
Hopefully not working in the same place.
I’d love to lose some weight, and hopefully I will be fabulously stylish. 😉

9. Why did you decide to start a blog?
This is a question I have asked myself a few times. There are so many wonderful blogs out there, and I quickly grew to feel like a part of this blogging community. I’m not sure that I really bring a new perspective or that I have anything new to say, but I felt like if I was going to read all of these other people’s blogs and leave comments for them, it only seemed fair that I share the same of myself.

I suppose that’s why I actually started my blog.
But I have been pleasantly surprised at how much I have already changed over the few months of keeping my blog. I have been able to see which pieces look good on me and which don’t. I’ve been pleasantly surprised with some of the combinations I have put together, and just as disappointed when something I thought would look great just didn’t.
So, while I started the blog to share with others, the blog really is just as much a mirror for myself.

10. Anything else you’d like to share?
I welcome feedback from my readers. What did you think about an outfit I wore? What would you like to see more or less of on my blog? I love being able to feel like I actually know my readers, so please, don’t be shy!

5 thoughts on “July featured blogger: EvaNadine

  1. Yay! Congrats on being this month’s featured blogger. ^^ I super like the green dress she’s wearing in one of the pictures. ^^

  2. Thanks, Suze for having me as your featured blogger this month! It was such a surprise to be asked, and I’m extremely honored! ::blushes::

    • Oh, you’re very welcome! Cher and I were just talking about it, and she was really happy I picked you too! 🙂

Comments are closed.