Traverse City, 5 hour car trips and a vintage train case

Basically, how I broke my “no-shopping” ban.

Let me explain. Yes, I bought something. But it wasn’t for me. That’s my excuse. Cher has been on the hunt for a vintage train case for a while, and all the ones we’ve been able to find are either too beat up, or way too expensive.

Thursday, I drove myself up to Traverse City. It’s about a 4.5/5 hour car trip from my apartment, and I was going for work, so I was alone. There was an event there Thursday night, so I got to drive up, find my hotel, then head over for the dinner. The best sight? Seeing this from my hotel window:
118_5377
That’s the bay! It look really awesome at night.

Anyway, I wore an interesting outfit to the dinner. I’m slightly under the weather, so I decided my scarf and purple dress matched. Just humor me and pretend them do too, ok? šŸ™‚
118_5374
Such horrible lighting.
Dress: Gift (Calvin Klein!)
Scarf: Thrifted
Jacket: Borrowed from Cher
Shoes: Charlotte Russe

Friday I woke up early to have breakfast with my boss, then head back home. While I was driving, I passed a rinky-dinky thrift shop and decided to stop in.

Thankfully, they didn’t have any vintage clothes, or I would’ve REALLY broken my no-shopping ban. I walked around the whole store, and saw this train case. With the exception of the chipped mirror, it’s perfect!
Photo0832
Photo0834
I called Cher and sent her photos, and she was SO excited.

The best part? It only set me back $4. šŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Traverse City, 5 hour car trips and a vintage train case

  1. LOVE the train case… we have one or two of those in the family that I can remember my mom bringing on vacation when i was younger. So adorable.

  2. I’m glad you’re back. šŸ™‚
    I like what you’re wearing. You should “borrow” that jacket for a few more post.
    My mom has a very similar travel case, I kid you not. She still uses it.

    • I don’t think Cher will get this jacket back for awhile… šŸ™‚
      And our mom has one just like it too! šŸ™‚

  3. The first thing I thought when I saw that picture is my mom has that in blue! To think of it, she has a whole set of vintage blue luggage. It was seriously a vacation staple.

    If you think it matches, then that’s all that matters! But if it means anything I think you look great! Hope you are feeling better!

Comments are closed.