The bruises and contusions will remind me what you did when you wake

118_5261
118_5264
118_5263
Skirt: Thrifted
Cardi: Forever 21
Tee: Target
Necklace: Gift
Shoes: Guess via Buffalo Exchange

I finally wore this skirt. I love the print, it’s a very cameo-demask mix. And, I’m glad it didn’t rip. If you can notice in any of the photos above, I have BIG scraps and bruises on my legs. If you don’t follow me on twitter, or even if you do, I’d like to explain my clumsiness.

I was running out to my car to get some peonies my mom picked for me, when I literally fell down the stairs. What actually happened during those five seconds of craziness are probably the funniest thing that’s happened to me in a long time, not to mention the most embarrassing.

Basically, the outside stairs at my work are cement, with metal runners on each step (to STOP you from slipping and falling). There are about eight steps from the back door to the parking lot, and I had made it down one step when I missed the next, somersaulted through the air (my skirt was flying up around my head during all this), banged my arms on a step and then scraped my left leg on the way down. I came to land gracefully on my butt, with my skirt floating back down around my knees. At some point, my shoes had flown off. I sat for a minute, on the black pavement, not believing what had just happened. Then grabbed my shoes when I realized a male coworker had been pulling into the lot as I flipped my way down the stairs.

Embarrassed he had seen my duckie print undies, I flew barefoot into the building and ran into Sonia’s office. Sonia immediately took over, running to get the first aid kit, my supervisor and some wet paper towels so I could attempt to keep the blood off my skirt.

After a few “I can’t believe you did that” and “are you ok?” questions, Sonia took me to the clinic down the street to get checked out and so they could dress my wounds.

After about two hours, I was back at work, less bloody and very embarrassed. The thing that hurt the most from all of this? My pride.

I took some photos of my arms, because you can’t really see them in these photos, the back of my left arm was turning blue about three hours after I smacked it, and has been pretty sore since. My right forearm is also slightly swollen and blue. But the worst part is the HUGE scrap on my left ankle.

It was suggested that I fell because of my shoes, and I want to set the record straight that it WAS NOT my shoes. It was because I am clumsy and missed a step. My shoes had nothing to do with it. I love heels and will continue to wear them. I’ll just pay more attention to where I’m walking from now on.

18 thoughts on “The bruises and contusions will remind me what you did when you wake

  1. ouchie! thank ankle looks downright painful!
    glad to hear nothing was seriously injured other than your pride — we can never prevent that from getting bruised when we do silly things, can we?

    • I can deal with bruises and scraps, like anyone else. I’m more embarrassed than anything! Bruises will fade, but before they do, I HAVE to take a photo of the one on my arm. It’s HUGE!!

  2. Oh no, ouch! You’re luck you didn’t hit your head! Don’t worry about it, I totally slipped and fell right on my butt on the bus this morning – and my leg sort of twisted under me in a wierd angle and I ended up with a bruise on my foot and a scrapped knee. And the best part is no one on the bus helped me and one lady asked if I was ok lol. Thanks a lot, general public. Anyway, not as bad as what happened to you, but thought it would make you feel better that you’re not the only clumsy one – my pride was hurt more than anything too lol

    • I’m surprised no one helped you! Maybe I’m used to being clumsy and falling, or dropping things, but I always try to help people if they fall!
      At least you’re ok too! 🙂

  3. Panic! At the Disco!
    Anyways.
    That sounds like a super intense fall. I did something like that when I was running for my bus. My leg gave out and I did this weird roll out of it onto the cement.
    Your fall seems slightly more exciting, though.

    • LOL- I love Panic! Well, theire 2005 album anyway 🙂
      I think my fall was dramatic because I was at work, in a skirt and falling down stairs 🙂
      I’ve fallen so many times it shouldn’t matter anymore, but this time was a little scary. I’m lucky I didn’t crack my head open!

  4. Aww… 😦 I never thought that the fall is that bad. 😦 Yes it can be embarrassing but not to the point where you’ll be a laughing stock because what happened isn’t funny at all. I guess it isn’t the shoes fault as well. That always happen to me though I haven’t fell that high yet (and I’m usually wearing flat shoes/sandals). I usually miscalculate the last few steps.

    I hope the wounds & bruises will disappear soon. You’re still pretty though so no prob about that. 😉 Just be careful and always watch your steps when you’re ascending/descending from stairs (this advice will also apply to me T.T).

  5. Ouchie!

    I’m wincing looking at all the scrapes and bruises, and I’m also wincing at the embarrassment I know you felt. Sorry, hon.

    Again, thank goodness you didn’t go face-first. That must be why God blessed womankind with a nice, cushioned derriere. In case we stiletto over tea kettle.

    • LOL! I think I threw my arms over my face. I must’ve, to get the bruises I have. I’m SO happy it wasn’t my face. I have to drive to the other side of the state for work tomorrow, and I can only imagine how awkward it would be if I had a giant face bruise!

  6. ouch!
    I saw you featured on IFB and came to check you out! Love your blog! I noticed too that you are challenging yourself with a no spending ban! That’s awesome. I did that for the month of April and that was tough enough!

    Good Luck!

    • Hi Gracey!
      Thanks for following the link over! I’ve been doing well so far. I did use a giftcard, but I had it prior to my ban, so I figured that was OK.
      I might ask you (and Lydia, since she just did a ban recently!) for some encouragement if I run into trouble!

  7. How ridiculous it is that people would blame the shoes! That’s just so wrong. Clearly, the stairs are built wrong.

    • Yay! More redheaded bloggers 🙂 I loooove your inspirations on your blog. I am never any good at finding stuff like that 🙂 I might just stare at yours a little more…

Comments are closed.