Answers to some questions you never asked.

110_4013
(loafy’s here for support)
I’ve touched on my mood in my last few posts (here and here) but I figure it’s something I need to talk about, since it’s making me feel very SOMETHING other than myself.

If you follow me on twitter, you may have read a few tweets touching on it, but it might not’ve been something anyone noticed.

About two weeks ago my father went to the doctor. He’d lost his voice about a week before, and thought it was due to bronchitis. Well, it wasn’t. The doctor found a lump, scheduled a biopsy and a week later Cher and I found out that our father has cancer.

It’s not too far along, and his treatment started this past week. He’s doing really well so far, even going to work nearly everyday. I told him he was nuts, but he likes to work so who am I to stop him? If he’s healthy enough to work after having chemo is that weird? I say no, since I know my dad and now how he is.

Along with that are the normal, everyday issues that everyone faces. I’m overworked, underpaid and just plain exhausted. It feels like everything is coming down on me all at once, and there isn’t anything I can do to get myself out of it, save for grabbing a shovel and attempting to dig my way out.

There have been good things happening though. I finally cleaned out my closet and have a HUGE stash of clothes to get rid of (blog shop, here I come!) in various sizes. Joe and I are doing well, and he’s even trying to find a better job.

But, for everything good, there is always something bad, and so the world keeps turning.  Sorry to dump everything on you, but I figured I’d rather talk about it, and get this weight off my chest. There is only so much talking Cher and I can do before we both get upset.

Happier posts to come later.

9 thoughts on “Answers to some questions you never asked.

  1. I knew about your father cause I read all your tweets but I don’t mention it either here or on Twitter because I know that it upsets you. I knew that you’d share it on your blog when you feel a little better.

    I have something about Dads cause you see, I’m a daddy’s girl all my life, sad though because he’s thousand miles away from us since I was 7. I know how you feel about it that’s why I don’t comment on your Twitter… 😦 I fear that it will only make you remember and of course feel sad about it.

    I’m praying for your Dad even though you weren’t aware of it. Let’s hope for the best. Maybe for now spend more time with him so he’ll feel better. 🙂

    About your job, hang in there just a little longer til you find a good job for you. I kinda feel the same way right now. I bet I’m even more underpaid than you. T.T You can search jobs online and if you see something that suits you well, then try to apply.

    What you did just now is good for you. Sometimes, sharing the things that saddens us put out a little of the weight we carry in our shoulders. In life, we always run through obstacles no matter what we do. Yea life is unfair most of the time but it just depends on how we’ll handle the pressure and get through it. If we’ll just think of all the sad things we experience, we won’t appreciate the good stuffs. You have a loving husband, a supportive sister, cute kitties which me & Cher wants to adopt (lol), great parents, and lots of friends like me (^^) so I think there are still loads of reasons for you to be happy.

    *big hug* to you and to the very cute Loafy over there. 😉

    • I figured you knew, especially since Cher and I mentioned it a bit on Facebook 🙂
      I’m hoping (and thinking) he’ll be OK. I saw him today for the first time since he started chemo and he looked ok. He didn’t look sick or anything, but it was weird because he’d shaved his head on beard off, so he was bald!

      Do you ever get to visit your dad? Does he visit you?

      Loafy licked my chin all morning. It was odd, but I think she was trying to make me feel better 🙂

      • I think your Dad did that so you don’t have to worry if his hair starts to fall out during his chemo sessions… He’s a strong person and he want you guys to remain strong to support him too. I think your Dad is a great person. 🙂

        I haven’t seen my Dad since then but we never lost contact with each other. He can’t go home yet because his citizenship isn’t fixed yet… we’re supposed to migrate there after.

        Aww… Loafy’s such a sweet cat. 🙂

  2. So sorry to hear about your dad, but I will keep you all in my prayers. Sounds like he’s a total trouper—I’m hoping his treatment will just obliterate that lump and he’ll be back to normal. Godspeed!

    I can’t imagine what you and Cher must be feeling, but your honesty, sincerity, and positive attitude are commendable.

  3. Its good to hear that he is doing so well with the treatment. Your family is definitely in my thoughts! I never know what to say in times like this, but I have faith that your father will be good as new very soon.

  4. That is really brave of you to share this publicly, and you, your father, and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. I feel you on the everyday pressures and worries–you certainly don’t have to go through it alone, and there will be better days to come. Until then, hang in there…you are strong, smart, and talented! Oh, and make sure you make time for YOU things…relax and recharge…you deserve it.

  5. I’m sorry to hear about your father, I was not aware. My ex-husband went through chemo and it was mentally exhausting to just fathom the thought, which sounds like the feeling you’re describing. Things like work wouldn’t seem so bad if not for the addition of the familial anxiety, I’m sure, but it’s present and you can’t help what effects you with such an emotional subject. Hang it there, things will work themselves out. At least that’s what I always tell myself to stay sane. I’m glad you got to share, I’ll certainly be keeping your family in my thoughts.

Comments are closed.