For the argument of fashion

No outfit posts from the weekend. I was doing laundry and rearranging furniture so I didn’t think you’d want to see my sweat pants 🙂

But, my point today is to talk about something that kinda ticked me off the other day. I was surfing the web, reading comments, polls and other blogs and came across a comment similar to this:

“I don’t want to see people posting photos of themselves in head-to-toe Forever 21. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but it’s hard to be daring/inventive when that’s all you wear.”*

Well, it upset me because as a young professional I find it difficult to afford “real” fashions, as the commenter put it.  I buy what I like and what I can afford and make it work for me. And that’s what fashion should be. It shouldn’t be about what everyone else tells you to wear, it shouldn’t be about where you got it.

Isn’t the point of fashion to have your own style, your own voice, showing through your clothes?

I can certainly understand the writer’s frustration because it is different if you walk into a store, buy the outfit on the mannequins and wear it just like how you bought it, and never mix it up. But it’s completely different if you go to a store and buy a few things, mix them in with the clothes you already wear and keep them in good condition. I own quite a few things from Forever 21 (it’s cheap!) and other than having to re-sew buttons (which you’d have to do with most clothes anyway), I’ve never had a hem come undone or any other issues. But I also take very good care of my clothes. I try to dress in things I like, in things that look good on me. Who cares if I spent $20 on a skirt or $200? If it looks nice and I like it, why does it matter?

I think the comment also irritated me because I’m not from the fashion world, and I don’t live in an overly fashion-y place, like New York or LA. I guess I don’t really ‘get’ designers because I feel like they’re telling us how they’d dress us (let me explain, please). I see the world of fashion through my own eyes, as I feel everyone else does. Designers are just another set of eyes viewing fashion. We, as the public, tend to pay attention to their designs and what they’re doing, because they’re the expert on fashion. But, we, as consumers, pick and chose what we like and what works for us and wear it. If I don’t want to wear pony-hair boots, because they’re not my thing, why should it matter? If I want to wear the cute blue skirt that was sold in stores five years ago, why should it matter? I see fashion as a very personal thing, something that we should all be working out to make our very own.

The commenter obviously has her own style, and opinion. I’m certainly not trying to squash that, but I couldn’t help but find myself upset. Maybe it’s because I wear a lot of “cheap” clothes, although I go out of my way to not look cheap. I guess it’s just one of those things that we can’t control. I can’t stop someone from making fun of the places I like to shop at, just as how they can’t change my perception of designers.

I’ve found myself, through this blog, wearing stuff I own in different ways. There are pieces I own that I wouldn’t pair before, or wouldn’t wear a certain way, and since I started this, I find myself experimenting with what I wear more often. I also find it fun (and challenging) to take a cheap shirt and make it NOT look like it only cost $5. That’s fun for me. I don’t want to be a brand snob (my opinion, my words) and only wear name-brand stuff. I would rather fill my closet with vintage or random pieces that are more ME than anything designer, just because it’s a name brand. I got enough of that in high school with all the pressure to only wear Abercrombie clothes. I certainly don’t need it as an adult.

It really should come down to wear what you like, what looks good on you and what makes you happy.

*this isn’t the exact quote- I paraphrased and edited, because the person who said it wasn’t saying to be mean or to make anyone angry.

17 thoughts on “For the argument of fashion

  1. A real fashion expert can wear whatever and still look good in it… a real fashion expert knows how to carry his/herself no matter how cheap or how expensive he/she wears. It’s never the clothes that carry a person… it’s the other way around. ^^

  2. im with you lady!
    real fashion is high end, low end, vintage, thrifted, handmade, borrowed, stolen, and everything in between. wear a belt as a necklace, a skirt as a dress, or a shoe as a hat for all i care. if you like it, rock it!

      • i remember back in the day when i could borrow clothes from friends — it exponentially increased the size of my wardrobe! i seriously need to slim down so i can work my friends closets again!
        and stealing… well, i think i initially meant stealing a look from someone else, but heck, if you conscience is ok with stealing their actual clothes, im not gonna get in your way. 😉

  3. Hear hear! Style is personal, and completely unrelated to how much you paid for an item or where you got it. I personally love seeing people on blogs posting pics of how they mix, match, and style clothes I can actually afford. AND clothes that are old…who has the time/money to replace a wardrobe each year?

  4. I agree. I think style should be personal and relateable to your lifestyle. It’s not relateable to my lifestyle to wear outrageous catwalk fashion trends in rural Tennessee. But I do take pieces of current trends and make them relateable to my style and my lifestyle (i.e. colored tights).

    And some of the most popular and stylish fashion bloggers out there shop at forever21, especially for their trendy pieces… because trendy pieces go out of style and who wants to spend $200 on something that they aren’t going to wear in a year.

    I have never been one to run out and join every fashion trend out there… because they just aren’t me… and that’s how it should be. Like I love the colored tights thing… but you will NEVER and I really emphasize NEVER catch me dead wearing that whole high water tapered pleated pants thing. I don’t LIKE it. And that really should be all that matters.

    Some people just get so worked up about labels and high fashion and trends and don’t stop to think that while maybe they like that sort of thing and it works for their lifestyle and their budget, that it doesn’t always work for everyone… but it shouldn’t make anyone less stylish to wear a cheaper version of a designer label. It takes way more creativity to create that same look on a budget than it does to go out and buy the real thing.

  5. I couldn’t agree with you more! It’s not about where the clothing came from, but you are wearing it.

    Do I feel any less stylish wearing something that Forever 21 ripped off a really overpriced designer than I would be if I were wearing the real $700 version? No.

    I take a good deal of pride in paying as little as I possibly can for things, which does mean shopping at UO and F21 and TJMaxx and thrift stores; and I’d like to think that I am both daring and inventive with my wardrobe.

  6. Pingback: Spring has SPRUNG! « Miss Vinyl Ahoy

  7. Hi,

    you discussed the issue very nicely!
    To “borrowed, found and stolen” – I have to add, that I already found a cardigan, a brooch and a hairpin lost on the street. Fashion means creativity. Invent the impossible.

    But I understand the initial comment, too. In my country, outfit posts are common where bloggers wear head-to-toe H&M. Really, its like they walk into the store every week and only post about H&M pieces and only wear the clothes as suggested in the catalogue. And at this point, it really annoys me. However, it is my own choice at which blogs I am looking and I am not writing critical comments, because people are happy the way they are. Full stop.

    Personally, I enjoy mixing and successfully making a $9 skirt look like a designer piece. Since I started blogging, friends keep asking me “Where do you have all the money from to buy so many (expensive) clothes?”. I am not. It may look like that occassionally and that’s part of the fun.

    Loving your article!

    *Lilly*

    • Thanks Lilly! And, I love your response. It’s nice to know that you don’t fall into that same category. 🙂 Yay for being creative!!

  8. Suze I enjoyed reading your post, as well as the readers’ responses. I will always be grateful that places like Forever 21 and H&M exist.

    Not everyone can afford expensive labels, and Forever 21 allows almost everyone to enjoy the pleasures of fashion, express themselves, and create something for them to take pleasure in when they wear certain clothes. That realm does NOT belong to the wealthy, and so it has ALWAYS bothered me when I hear snooty comments about how some people wouldn’t wear Forever 21, because it’s ultimately a condescending statement about those who cannot afford more.

    If someone wants to wear head-to-toe Forever 21, who cares? Those self-appointed fashion gurus wouldn’t have known the difference if the clothing wasn’t tagged. I think that the truly fashionable know that style is intensely personal, and there are no rules when it comes to creativity. The minute you set rules are when you put a limit to your vision.

    So, I just wanna say, bullshit to those snootfaces. They don’t know shit! And you just won me over as a follower 🙂

    • I totally agree. F21 debuted when I was in high school and it as affordale. I think their construction has gotten better over the years, and they’ve become my go-to place to get trendy clothes for less.
      I’m glad you liked the post and the discussion and welcome to my crazy life, LOL 🙂

  9. Pingback: Miss Vinyl Ahoy « Lola on the Floor

Comments are closed.